585,779 active members*
3,953 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

How to waterproof laser cut acrylic box

Hi. I am new to laser cutting. I want to make a toothed acrylic box that will hold water. Can this be done simply by putting the box together and applying some acetone so the seams weld shut or will the space between the teeth be in issue? Most DIYs I have seen for fish tanks use tape instead of teeth but I want the bottom of the box to sit about 2 inches above the bottom of the walls so it would be sturdier and easier to assemble with a toothed design. Thank you.

Re: How to waterproof laser cut acrylic box

I haven't attempted to make a waterproof acrylic box, but if I did, I think I would try cyanoacrylate glue (AKA "Superglue", which is a brand of cyanoacrylate.)

Remember, you have to be careful of anything put in a fish tank. Toxic chemicals will kill fish very easily. There is a special silicone that can be obtained at any aquarium store that will not harm the fish at all. I have used it on many occasions to build my own filter systems for marine fish. Most silicone type adhesives contain ammonia, which is bad, bad, bad for fish. Go to the aquarium store and get the correct adhesive for fish tanks, please.

Milt

Quote Originally Posted by mondo50m View Post
    Remember, you have to be careful of anything put in a fish tank. Toxic chemicals will kill fish very easily. There is a special silicone that can be obtained at any aquarium store that will not harm the fish at all. I have used it on many occasions to build my own filter systems for marine fish. Most silicone type adhesives contain ammonia, which is bad, bad, bad for fish. Go to the aquarium store and get the correct adhesive for fish tanks, please.

Milt
    If the box is to be used as an aquarium, good advice to check with an aquarium store to be sure whatever used doesn't harm the fish.