585,973 active members*
4,170 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Stepper Motors / Drives > My Step Motor doesn't work I need replacement Info

Question My Step Motor doesn't work I need replacement Info

Hi guys this is my very first post, I'm kinda new with CNC machines, I have a friend who bought a CNC machine 2 years ago and I helped him set it up a few months ago, He is using it to engrave small aluminum plates, He has no manuals or info about the CNC machine but I believe it is a 3020 CNC, recently the X axis stepper motor started to get stuck and it wouldn't move, yesterday I disassembled it, and there seems to be nothing wrong with it, I exchanged it for the Z axis stepper motor, and now now X axis works fine but Z axis gets stuck, so it's definitely the stepper motor but I can't find it anywhere and I don't know what motor can I use to replace the current ones, all info I have is a sticker in all 3 stepper motors that says "57yc-41x1201" I believe 41 is the size of the motor I don't know where can I find a similar motor to replace my faulty one. All help is greatly appreciated

Re: My Step Motor doesn't work I need replacement Info

It's rare for problems of this sort to be attributable to the stepper motors themselves. It's usually the fault of the drivers and associated electronics, which are known for their poor quality. But disassembling a stepper motor will kill it, so even if it wasn't bad before, it probably is now. It's probably a NEMA 23 frame motor, not a 41. Look for one with low induction, under 2.5mH. Be ready to replace the control box as well.
    Andrew Werby
    Website