501,820 active members
7,012 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    572

    16/3 @ 18 AMP per conductor - for VFC Cable ?

    Hi guys,
    Is the max AMP a spindle will draw distributed along the 3 wires? or per wire?
    I ask because I bough a 14/3 wire and it is huge (thick), however I see some folks using and selling a 16/3 VDF Cable which will be much thinner and manageable.

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    102

    Re: 16/3 @ 18 AMP per conductor - for VFC Cable ?

    All 3 wires will have 18 amps. However, 16/3 VFD cable exposed to air in open tray has max 18 amp capacity. Chances of running at 18 amps max is probably nill and you can restrict amps by setting 17 amps as max in VFD.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    572

    Re: 16/3 @ 18 AMP per conductor - for VFC Cable ?

    My question is, if my spindle draws 15 amps, it is going to pull 15 amp per each one of those 3 wires, not 5 amps each.

  4. #4
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    33772

    Re: 16/3 @ 18 AMP per conductor - for VFC Cable ?

    Yes, 15 each.

    [COLOR="silver"][SIZE=1]- - - Updated - - -[/SIZE][/COLOR]

    [QUOTE]however I see some folks using and selling a 16/3 VDF Cable which will be much thinner and manageable
    [/QUOTE]

    What size spindle is this?
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    102

    Re: 16/3 @ 18 AMP per conductor - for VFC Cable ?

    Yes. 15 amps each wire but thats when you have set program to max out ipm to point where spindle is ready to stall and trip out. You most likely never will do that. you have answered your own question. A 16/3 vfd cable is good for 18 amps. If your spindle is 15 amps max you can use 16/3 not 14/3. Just make sure it's for VFD to Spindle shielded cable.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    572

    Re: 16/3 @ 18 AMP per conductor - for VFC Cable ?

    [QUOTE=ger21;2299818]Yes, 15 each.

    [COLOR="silver"][SIZE=1]- - - Updated - - -[/SIZE][/COLOR]



    What size spindle is this?[/QUOTE]

    [QUOTE=nwrepair1;2299820]Yes. 15 amps each wire but thats when you have set program to max out ipm to point where spindle is ready to stall and trip out. You most likely never will do that. you have answered your own question. A 16/3 vfd cable is good for 18 amps. If your spindle is 15 amps max you can use 16/3 not 14/3. Just make sure it's for VFD to Spindle shielded cable.[/QUOTE]

    Ger thank you for clarifying. This is a 110V 2.2KW. so 20 Amps.
    (I looked into a "smaller spindle" but I like to be able to use a ER20 collet compatible cutter (1/2").


    With that said, I think I should be good with the 16 gauge at 18 amps. I did not know you could limit the amp draw in the VFD.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    469

    Re: 16/3 @ 18 AMP per conductor - for VFC Cable ?

    2.2kw at 110vac 3 phase is only 11.5 amps. 16 gauge is fine.

    a vfd delivering 2.2kw from 120vac single phase (with a dumb rectifier and capacitor input filter) will draw as high as 30 amps rms from your 120vac single phase supply. you will probably never actually run your spindle that hard so you may get by with a 20 amp breaker on a 12 gauge wire.

    also these spindles are rated by the input vars, not watts. you may only be drawing a peak of 1800 watts from the outlet which is on the order of 25 amps rms

  8. #8
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    33772

    Re: 16/3 @ 18 AMP per conductor - for VFC Cable ?

    [QUOTE]however I see some folks using and selling a 16/3 VDF Cable
    [/QUOTE]

    Most people are using 220V spindles, which are usually rated at 8-10 amps.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    572

    Re: 16/3 @ 18 AMP per conductor - for VFC Cable ?

    Thank you, that makes sense. The 14 gauge VFD cable I have is a monster... I will try the 16 gauge, I should be good.
    Does anyone know how to set the current limit on a HY VFD?

  10. #10
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    33772

    Re: 16/3 @ 18 AMP per conductor - for VFC Cable ?

    It should be PD142.

    If you don't have all the settings correct, you could instantly damage your spindle or VFD.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    572

    Re: 16/3 @ 18 AMP per conductor - for VFC Cable ?

    I will look into it. Thank you

Similar Threads

  1. 20awg 4 conductor shielded cable
    By Jkountz in forum Want To Buy...Need help!
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-10-2013, 11:13 PM
  2. Semi-Conductor outline in DXF/DWG??
    By Al_The_Man in forum Uncategorised CAD Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-06-2012, 09:09 PM
  3. 4 Conductor Connectors
    By Praymond1209 in forum Stepper Motors / Drives
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-18-2010, 06:21 AM
  4. Using 24 awg/ 6 conductor cable
    By luckeycnc in forum General Waterjet
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-05-2006, 02:07 PM
  5. six conductor shielded cable
    By stirlingnut in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-24-2006, 12:53 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •