585,690 active members*
4,635 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

2.2kw of power on 110v spindle?

Good morning everyone, i recently purchased a cnc kit that includes a 2.2kw 110v vfd as well as a 2.2kw 110v spindle. Now, im not an expert, but the spindle manual states it can only take 8 amps. By my calculation thats only 880watts of power. Am I missing something here? How is the 2.2kw power rating arrived at? I know the output of the vfd is 3phase. Is it not as simple as saying 110v *8a = 880watts? Does each leg of the 3phase carry close to 8 amps? Any advice would be appreciated.

Re: 2.2kw of power on 110v spindle?

Quote Originally Posted by Odinsbeard View Post
    Good morning everyone, i recently purchased a cnc kit that includes a 2.2kw 110v vfd as well as a 2.2kw 110v spindle. Now, im not an expert, but the spindle manual states it can only take 8 amps. By my calculation thats only 880watts of power. Am I missing something here? How is the 2.2kw power rating arrived at? I know the output of the vfd is 3phase. Is it not as simple as saying 110v *8a = 880watts? Does each leg of the 3phase carry close to 8 amps? Any advice would be appreciated.
    No you are not missing anything that is correct and they are junk the max you can use on 120v NA supply is 1.5Kw
    Mactec54

Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    No you are not missing anything that is correct and they are junk the max you can use on 120v NA supply is 1.5Kw
    Better not tell the wife then... quick question how are you arriving at 1.5kw.

Hello.

I mostly agree with mactec54 except for one thing. The actual power would be somewhat lower than those 1.5KW due to the power factor.

Assuming a PF equal to 0.85, the equation to calculate that is

P = SQR(3) V I PF = 1.73 x 110 x 8 x 0.85 = 1,219 KW

To accomplish your given 2.2KW a current of about 14 amps would be required.