547,544 active members*
776 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Spindles / VFD > 220v VFD in a 110v machine?
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1

    220v VFD in a 110v machine?

    Bought a 6040-4 axis machine. Axis control is fine but no spindle power. I have a P.off error code on the display which I read somewhere could be a undervoltage (?) error. The unit is wired for 110v but the VFD unit says 220v on it. (model JSL-E-1S-0.7G). Inside the VFD unit there appears to be a relay with a AC110V label. Transformer coil is 110v.

  2. #2

    Re: 220v VFD in a 110v machine?

    The spindle is 800W. Water cooled.

  3. #3
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    5020

    Re: 220v VFD in a 110v machine?

    Looks like you need to supply the VFD with 220V. That could come from a 110/220 transformer or from 220V wall power.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Posts
    30

    Re: 220v VFD in a 110v machine?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jim Dawson View Post
    Looks like you need to supply the VFD with 220V. That could come from a 110/220 transformer or from 220V wall power.
    Take it from me... be careful about how you wire in the 220v if you use a transformer. I fried my VFD doing that wrong.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12819

    Re: 220v VFD in a 110v machine?

    Quote Originally Posted by HandyStoic View Post
    The spindle is 800W. Water cooled.
    If the spindle motor is 110v rated then you would be using your 120v NA supply for the whole machine

    So check the Spindle Voltage if it is 220v also, then you have a problem
    Mactec54

  6. #6

    Re: 220v VFD in a 110v machine?

    Thank you for the replies. The spindle is 110v so I am now convinced that I have a unit with the wrong VFD installed and need to swap the 220v unit out for a 110v. Something tells me I should just go buy one instead of going down the rabbit hole of wherever this unit came from. Returning the whole thing to the distributor seams crazy since it's just the VFD controller.

    I can get one here for $100 + shipping. https://www.omc-stepperonline.com/va...-speed-control
    It has the same form factor as the original 220v unit with the same size remote display.

    I think I will try my local electrical supply dealers first.

  7. #7

    Re: 220v VFD in a 110v machine?

    I just ordered this:
    110v with 1.5KW so I can upgrade my spindle to 1500w in the future.

    https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B08D954ZQ1?...hk_typ_imgToDp
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails VFD.jpg  

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12819

    Re: 220v VFD in a 110v machine?

    Quote Originally Posted by HandyStoic View Post
    I just ordered this:
    110v with 1.5KW so I can upgrade my spindle to 1500w in the future.

    https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B08D954ZQ1?...hk_typ_imgToDp
    Yes that is the Best VFD Drive to get for what you are doing

    Main Power input connections are R= Hot T=Neutral and Ground to the main Ground Terminal for your 120v NA supply
    Mactec54

  9. #9

    Re: 220v VFD in a 110v machine?

    The new VFD is up and running. Wow! Very quite.

    The old VFD had 2 terminals that I can't translate to the new VFD.

    They are: AVI from the controler circuit board
    X1 from the VFD power switch

    Can anyone match these pictures?

    Also, The program I followed set PD070 = 1 (Analog input = 0-5V)

    The VFDs have a +10v on terminals I expect to use. Is this setting related to these terminals. In other words, do I need to change that setting to use 10v?

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12819

    Re: 220v VFD in a 110v machine?

    Quote Originally Posted by HandyStoic View Post
    The new VFD is up and running. Wow! Very quite.

    The old VFD had 2 terminals that I can't translate to the new VFD.

    They are: AVI from the controler circuit board
    X1 from the VFD power switch

    Can anyone match these pictures?

    Also, The program I followed set PD070 = 1 (Analog input = 0-5V)

    The VFDs have a +10v on terminals I expect to use. Is this setting related to these terminals. In other words, do I need to change that setting to use 10v?
    So you got a different VFD drive than the one you ordered ???

    The +10v you should not be using unless your Breakout Board requires a 10v input supply.

    What is the make and model number, I most likely have the manual to look at what you have.

    You look to have it connected correct, ( except for the 10v ) you will just need the correct Parameters for this different VFD Drive
    Mactec54

  11. #11

    Re: 220v VFD in a 110v machine?

    Thanks for getting back to me!
    Sorry, I should have included a description of the pictures....

    The picture with the wired terminals is the OLD VFD (220v included with cnc purchase). I took the picture before removing the wires.
    The picture with no wiring is the new VFD. The AVI and X1 terminal on the old unit are not on the new unit. Where to connect??

    I did order the VFD indicated by above Amazon link. Strangely, there was no model sticker on the body of the unit or documents.

Similar Threads

  1. enclosure wiring questions 220v VFD + 110v DC power supply
    By thisispete in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-01-2019, 09:37 PM
  2. 110v VFD, 220v, 1 phase, 3 phases - I'm kind of lost
    By Biggs427 in forum Spindles / VFD
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-16-2017, 02:52 PM
  3. 220V spindle / VFD from 110V input?
    By nplayle in forum Spindles / VFD
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-12-2016, 04:43 AM
  4. new closed loop VFD with orient feature runs from 110v/220v
    By dwalsh62 in forum News Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-06-2014, 04:29 AM
  5. VFD 1.5kW setup question 110v vs 220v
    By cnunez in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-03-2014, 12:05 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •