525,809 active members*
3,271 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    347

    5V power for UC300ETH

    Hello,

    I just received my UC300ETH and the 5LPT motherboard along with the UCCNC software. I am installing it to replace a demo version of Mach3 in a 2014 Novakon Torus mill that has a Windows7 motherboard feeding a Novakon breakout board via parallel port.

    The Novakon factory panel uses a 400 watt power supply to feed the Windows7 motherboard and the breakout board. This power supply has tons of extra leads and connectors, usually with both 5V and 12V available.

    My question is where to safely obtain the 5V to power the UC300ETH. Can I simply use one of the spare leads from the power supply and grab the 5V and GND from there?

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    509

    Re: 5V power for UC300ETH

    Quote Originally Posted by Titaniumboy View Post
    My question is where to safely obtain the 5V to power the UC300ETH. Can I simply use one of the spare leads from the power supply and grab the 5V and GND from there?
    Honestly I would use a seperate small 5v supply myself.
    You know the board is then kept isolated.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    935

    Re: 5V power for UC300ETH

    Ethernet is isolated if you will use the computer power supply then you will have no isolation anymore.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    347

    Re: 5V power for UC300ETH

    dazp1976 and olfCNC,

    Thanks for the replies. I was afraid you guys were going to say I needed a separate power supply.

    Does this fit the bill? Meanwell RS-15-5. 5V 3A from Amazon for $12.49?

    https://www.amazon.com/MEAN-WELL-RS-...ct_top?ie=UTF8

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    347

    Re: 5V power for UC300ETH

    I bought the little Meanwell power supply mentioned in my last post. I finally got the power supply and UCCNC UC300ETH board installed. I applied 240 VAC to the power supply input and left the 5VDC wires unconnected to the UC300ETH .board.

    I measured the power supply output at 5.1 VDC, which seems OK.

    I then decided to switch my multimeter to the Volts AC scale and I measured a whopping 10.3 Volts of AC. What the heck? Thank goodness I decided to check the AC and DC voltages before connecting the PS to the UC300ETH.

    I verified these results with a second multimeter. I should mention that both multimeters are very very inexpensive meters.

    Is it just a case of having bought a lemon power supply, or do all these power supplies do this? The Meanwell spec says 80mv of ripple...

Similar Threads

  1. Looking for some UC300eth recommendations
    By rowka in forum UCCNC Control Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-02-2020, 08:42 PM
  2. Z8350 with UC300ETH and UB1
    By vrasak in forum UCCNC Control Software
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-13-2019, 01:36 AM
  3. UC300ETH-UB1?
    By KurtRosenzweig in forum Chinese Machines
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-23-2018, 01:30 PM
  4. UC300ETH BOB
    By Nissen in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-15-2018, 02:25 PM
  5. UC300ETH not connecting
    By Andrew22 in forum UCCNC Control Software
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-20-2018, 11:40 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •