548,463 active members*
2,450 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 20 of 26
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    140

    6040 spindle control

    Hi all
    Has anyone successfully made their 6040 with a jp-3163b board and a nowforever vfd gotten it to turn on via the mach3 software. I have already tried the videos on you tube and none of them seem to work with my machine. I really dont care about setting the speed but turning it off and on would be great. Any advice would be appreciated!!

    Walt

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    13131

    Re: 6040 spindle control

    Quote Originally Posted by wdp67 View Post
    Hi all
    Has anyone successfully made their 6040 with a jp-3163b board and a nowforever vfd gotten it to turn on via the mach3 software. I have already tried the videos on you tube and none of them seem to work with my machine. I really dont care about setting the speed but turning it off and on would be great. Any advice would be appreciated!!

    Walt
    Does the Breakout Board have a relay that is all that is needed for On /Off of the VF Drive
    Mactec54

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    140

    Re: 6040 spindle control

    yes it has a relay, I know that I need to run a wire from the C and NO pins for the relay but do not know where to put the wires to the VFD

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    1154

    Re: 6040 spindle control

    Quote Originally Posted by wdp67 View Post
    yes it has a relay, I know that I need to run a wire from the C and NO pins for the relay but do not know where to put the wires to the VFD
    The VFD should have the terminals labeled COM (common) and FWD (forward). Sometimes they are called slightly differently, such as DCOM (digital common). Shorting those terminals will start the motor (if the VFD is configured accordingly - see the operation manual for details).

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    140

    Re: 6040 spindle control

    Thanks for that, I will give it a shot when I get home. I appreciate the help!!

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    13131

    Re: 6040 spindle control

    Quote Originally Posted by wdp67 View Post
    yes it has a relay, I know that I need to run a wire from the C and NO pins for the relay but do not know where to put the wires to the VFD
    Just connect the Relay output connection to X1 and Com this will turn it On / Off, you may need to set a Parameter for this to work, also Mach3 settings have to be correct as well
    Mactec54

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    140
    Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    Just connect the Relay output connection to X1 and Com this will turn it On / Off, you may need to set a Parameter for this to work, also Mach3 settings have to be correct as well
    Ok I got it to turn it on, but cannot get it to shut off. It slows down for A few seconds and goes right back to where it was. Any idea”s?

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    140

    Re: 6040 spindle control

    I am wrong, when I change the vfd to run off Mach3 it comes on and stays on but when you hit the button it just slows down and goes right back to whatever speed is on the vfd

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    140

    Re: 6040 spindle control

    Any ideas to try and get it?

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    13131

    Re: 6040 spindle control

    Quote Originally Posted by wdp67 View Post
    Any ideas to try and get it?
    If Mach3 is working and setup correct you enter M5 and the spindle will stop if it is correctly setup

    For Keypad to use stop then you need to set Parameter P0-030=1
    Mactec54

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    140

    Re: 6040 spindle control

    yes it will not stop with the M5 or the spindle toggle, just winds down for a few second and then back up to speed, like the relay is shutting off and then switching right back, that is what I am asking for help for I dont know what setting I need to fix.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    13131

    Re: 6040 spindle control

    Quote Originally Posted by wdp67 View Post
    yes it will not stop with the M5 or the spindle toggle, just winds down for a few second and then back up to speed, like the relay is shutting off and then switching right back, that is what I am asking for help for I dont know what setting I need to fix.
    Without seeing what you have for your Mach3 settings anyone would be just guessing

    Post your Mach3 settings Spindle Page, Spindle Ports and pins, Pulley setup, Spindle under motor tuning

    Post the code you where using also, it should never be able to turn back on without a signal to switch the relay back on

    What model VFD Drive do you have
    Mactec54

  13. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    140

    Re: 6040 spindle control

    NowForever E100 VFD

    Attachment 410276
    Attachment 410278

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    140

    Re: 6040 spindle control


  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    140

    Re: 6040 spindle control

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2019-01-18 16.13.49.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	66.7 KB 
ID:	410292

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    13131

    Re: 6040 spindle control

    Quote Originally Posted by wdp67 View Post
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2019-01-18 16.13.49.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	66.7 KB 
ID:	410292
    You have disable Relay outputs checked in spindle Setup, uncheck this and try it you may have other things also

    Ports and Pins Motor Outputs spindle at the bottom, what do you have there
    Mactec54

  17. #17
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    140

    Re: 6040 spindle control

    Ok so in motor outputs spindle
    It was enabled step pin was 14 dot was 15 platelets port and dot port both at one.
    I changed both step and for to 16 and now the spindle toggles off and o with the button on the screen but m3 or m5 in the MDI line do nothing

  18. #18
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    140

    Re: 6040 spindle control

    Nor does it shut off with hitting the emergency stop button

  19. #19
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    140

    Re: 6040 spindle control

    I can also hear the relay ticking every few seconds

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    13131

    Re: 6040 spindle control

    Quote Originally Posted by wdp67 View Post
    Nor does it shut off with hitting the emergency stop button
    If it is not wired into the circuit then the Estop won't shut it off

    In the Motor outputs Spindle you should only have the Step Pin 15 or 16 what ever you are using for your output pin number, Dir should be 0 Step Port 1 Dir Port 1
    Mactec54

Page 1 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. CNC 6040 spindel control
    By Lissau in forum Machinery Manuals / Brochures
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-30-2015, 07:10 AM
  2. CNC 6040 Control Box Cables
    By cclark8871 in forum Chinese Machines
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-09-2013, 10:53 PM
  3. CNC 6040 VFD spindle control
    By rthorntn in forum LinuxCNC (formerly EMC2)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-29-2011, 09:23 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •