589,273 active members*
6,280 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Cincinnati CNC > Acramatic 2100 - how to use the serial port
Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    8

    Question Acramatic 2100 - how to use the serial port

    It looks like the achromatic 2100 controller allows programs to be brought into the controller via a serial RS-232 interface. From what I gather from the docs, whatever is on the other end of the serial line must cooperate in a 'file transfer dialog'. Does anybody know what that is?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    20

    Re: Acramatic 2100 - how to use the serial port

    You need to set up your serial port settings on you pc ( generally only one port on my laptop is a serial port (still looks like a usb ). The com port settings I use are 8 , 1 , none with 9600 baud rate . Make sure the machine is also set to 8 , 1 , none and 9600 .
    I also use a n dnc program to feed the info from lap top to machine . via a usb to serial port adaptor ( sounds more complicated than it actually is )
    For large programs , select programs , load program , select com port , Run without loading, select continuous , click load on machine then send from laptop. It will take maybe a minute to see the program load on machine - make sure the program is at the start on the machine .
    If you send the program before clicking load on the machine you may find you are missing the first part of your program .
    I will run through it tomorrow and re clarify , unless some one tells you more clearly before hand .

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1573

    Re: Acramatic 2100 - how to use the serial port

    Here is one possible way to Link between PC and CNC. This way it's possible to Link to any PC on the Network.
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/DTU-H100-RS...QAAOSwgv5ZP45-

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    2
    I had my IT department map the hard drive on my Cincinnati Arrow 1000 then create a short cut on my desktop. That way I can upload and backup as needed

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    8

    Re: Acramatic 2100 - how to use the serial port

    Quote Originally Posted by supraman View Post
    For large programs , select programs , load program , select com port , Run without loading, select continuous , click load on machine then send from laptop..
    thanks,

    I'm using putty , so I just select ALL in my text editor, switch putty window and SHIFT+INSERT

  6. #6

    Re: Acramatic 2100 - how to use the serial port

    I use RDWorks. I believe it's a free program. It came bundled with the laser I have & it communicates directly with the controller software on the laser through an ethernet hardwire. It might be worth a shot to check it out settings for serial port.

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    205

    Re: Acramatic 2100 - how to use the serial port

    why bother with serial? these machines are so easy to install a network card in.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    45

    Re: Acramatic 2100 - how to use the serial port

    Quote Originally Posted by coop31 View Post
    why bother with serial? these machines are so easy to install a network card in.
    This thread is a few months old but can you elaborate on setting up network card? My machine doesn't have the option turned on....
    Thanks!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    205
    Quote Originally Posted by trelos_zoi View Post
    This thread is a few months old but can you elaborate on setting up network card? My machine doesn't have the option turned on....
    Thanks!
    You don't need the option turned on. Install network card, share a folder on the a2100 computer, transfer your programs to this folder, then import into machine software.

    I have 4 arrows, and I do this with all of them. Only one has the network option.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    45

    Re: Acramatic 2100 - how to use the serial port

    Quote Originally Posted by coop31 View Post
    You don't need the option turned on. Install network card, share a folder on the a2100 computer, transfer your programs to this folder, then import into machine software.

    I have 4 arrows, and I do this with all of them. Only one has the network option.

    OK, thanks for replying, good info. Do you have any recommendations on network card?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    466

    Re: Acramatic 2100 - how to use the serial port

    Coop is correct that you can use a network card without the software option turned on, but it is integrated much more fully into the control if the option is enabled. He obviously was successful at installing them himself, but I have also been to shops that installed a network card thinking they could do this and ended up causing other issues with the machine. These components go back to before "Plug and Play" was a thing, and the cards must be manually set up properly or it can cause conflicts with the communication between the other components in the system.

    But I do agree with Coop that the network interface is a far better way to go than RS-232. I used to install the network option in every A2100 I sold, and actually still have a few of the cards left.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    45

    Smile Re: Acramatic 2100 - how to use the serial port

    Quote Originally Posted by maver1ck View Post
    Coop is correct that you can use a network card without the software option turned on, but it is integrated much more fully into the control if the option is enabled. He obviously was successful at installing them himself, but I have also been to shops that installed a network card thinking they could do this and ended up causing other issues with the machine. These components go back to before "Plug and Play" was a thing, and the cards must be manually set up properly or it can cause conflicts with the communication between the other components in the system.

    But I do agree with Coop that the network interface is a far better way to go than RS-232. I used to install the network option in every A2100 I sold, and actually still have a few of the cards left.

    Can you let me know if you are interesting in selling a network card? I'd be interested in knowing any particular steps required for install as well if your willing to share? Or I'd even be willing to pay for a bit of consulting on this so I don't mess it up. Keep in mind this is a low budget garage operation... ; )

    This is on a Tree 750 as well fyi. Not sure if there are any major differences in networking the controller on a Cincinnati vs. Tree.

    Appreciate the input so far. Thanks!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    466

    Re: Acramatic 2100 - how to use the serial port

    The Network option was sold as a control option by ESD which included both the software unlock and hardware to be installed, so I believe the hardware was the same for both Tree and Cincinnati. What I am not sure of is what Tree may have incorporated into their MAI for Networking which could affect your specific setup.

    I would consider selling you one, but it has been a while so would need to test them first to verify everything was pre-configured before I could sell it to you. I can't remember what the configuration was though so if I haven't configured them already, I'll have to dig deep into the archives to see if I can find the config again. If you are interested, send me a PM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    1

    Re: Acramatic 2100 - how to use the serial port

    Whether I use the serial port or wireless, is there an issue with the version of laptop software? Will Windows 10 work okay?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Posts
    8

    Re: Acramatic 2100 - how to use the serial port

    ive been having a bunch of issues using the serial port on my machine, i keep getting issues including alarm 43-1 an error occurred reading the next segment of program, the other one i keep getting is 48-70 an end of program was not executed, i have not yet been able to get past 50% of my program and the code looks absolutely fine

    the file i want to run is a test part and eventual will be over 10 times larger. would anyone be able to offer assistance, its a sabre 750 running the 2100 control.

    (happily pay someone to get me out of this situation, its incredible frustrating)
    thanks in advance

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    466

    Re: Acramatic 2100 - how to use the serial port

    Saying "the code looks absolutely fine" is meaningless when it comes to RS232 because RS232 has nothing to do with G code (other than it is used to transfer G code programs as what is essentially a text file). Some controls do require an M2 or M30 to recognize the end of a G-code program but that has never been required on the A2100 controls I set up.

    You need to start with your settings, handshake and cable. If any of these are incompatible you will have issues. Have you captured any of what is being sent before it fails? Seeing this can give directions to proceed based on what is (or is not) coming across.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2023
    Posts
    0

    Re: Acramatic 2100 - how to use the serial port

    Hi I have an arrow 750 A2100 control I am trying to get large programs to drip feed I am using dnc4u and have 9 pin to 9 pin null modem cable serial port settings are the same am I missing some setting perimeters
    All help much appreciated
    Thanks Mick

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Posts
    8

    Re: Acramatic 2100 - how to use the serial port

    Long time no speak. My machine was broken for some time. I've spent a fair while trying different things. So far compleaty uncussesfull.

    Would you share some knowledge on steps you would take on rectifying the problem.

    I've tried changing the buffer speeds. And com port setting for baud rate.

Similar Threads

  1. Acramatic 2100
    By natin in forum Cincinnati CNC
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-21-2019, 06:12 PM
  2. Acramatic 2100 Help
    By john333 in forum CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-09-2011, 03:09 AM
  3. Acramatic 850sx serial port modes (with pics)
    By upcraft in forum Cincinnati CNC
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-29-2011, 08:03 AM
  4. Need help acramatic 2100
    By logger in forum CNC Machining Centers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-19-2011, 11:41 PM
  5. acramatic 2100
    By greg b in forum Controller & Computer Solutions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-07-2008, 12:02 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •