534,975 active members*
3,664 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Haas Machines > Haas Mills > Adding LED light to a 1992 VF0
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    10

    Adding LED light to a 1992 VF0

    Wanting to add an LED light to an old 1992 VF0 and I’m having a bit of trouble determining what I need exactly and whether or not I’m getting power to the current halogen light.

    I’m looking at adding an LED like this...



    From everything I’ve looked at I would think the 12v ip66 light is what I’d need. Unfortunately I can’t tell what kind of voltage I’m getting at the lamp because my voltmeter isn’t picking up anything. I’ve unplugged the lamp and checked the connector but it’s not coming up with anything. I’ve checked the voltmeter on something I know works so I know it’s not the voltmeter. Thought maybe it could be the switch as well, I de-soldered it and checked for continuity and it appears to work but I’m not sure if that is the only way, or best way, to check it.

    Does anyone have a good suggestion on what to check and how to check it? I know some of you are geniuses in this area and this is a walk in the park, but unfortunately, I’m not a whiz at understanding electrical connections beyond the very basic. So, any help in that area would be great. I can get pics of the machine or cabinet if needed.

    Thanks in advance!



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  2. #2

    Re: Adding LED light to a 1992 VF0

    All Haas VF's that I have worked with have 120vac lighting. Try checking with your meter on 200vac range or higher. Some Haas machines will have a switch for worklights on side of the pedestal.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    204

    Re: Adding LED light to a 1992 VF0

    Not sure where the light is mounted on your VF0 but, I have a Mighty comet and the light is mounted on the z axis. It moves up and down and the wire is run through the cable tray for the z axis. After all this time the wires have broken somewhere in the cable tray. Maybe that is why you have no voltage at your light

Similar Threads

  1. Adding a Z axis to my TM2 for light routing.
    By modelaratrod in forum CNC Router Parts
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-22-2015, 12:32 AM
  2. Adding an LED ring light to the router
    By D O N in forum Kronos Robotics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-31-2014, 04:36 AM
  3. Adding led light to X2 mini mill
    By thedemri in forum Maintenance DIY Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-13-2013, 03:46 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •