548,591 active members*
2,750 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 20 of 33
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    121

    Alarms on my Leadwell MCV OP

    Hi guys

    So I finally got my Leadwell powered up after 2 and half years sitting around (I think this is the main cause??) and got some errors.
    On first power up I had an EMG Alarm (Red LED) also flashing on screen said "not ready".
    So I read on this forum try pushing and holding "rest and Delete" during power up. (I probably shouldn't have done that):drowning:

    So now the alarm messages are,
    Spindle trouble (Other red LED)
    100 P/S Alarm
    417 servo alarm X axis DGTL Param etc. Ill post pics.
    I was told ill need to load Parameters back into the machine?????

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	245950320_594555688403606_8678918079659419956_n.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	103.2 KB 
ID:	471364
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	245961768_1751183105088921_965082363607706288_n.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	123.5 KB 
ID:	471366
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	245928004_584980566279151_1645593015212955840_n.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	97.8 KB 
ID:	471368

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    708

    Re: Alarms on my Leadwell MCV OP

    you lost parameters because the baterries are dead,you need a back up now to load back in and also the diagnostic parameters.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    121

    Re: Alarms on my Leadwell MCV OP

    Yes, i have entered all the parameters manually because the comms port isnt working. So that part is done.
    Other issue i have i think is the limit switch on Z axis. I think its an over travel issue. I tries to override this with the red button on the side of control panel, MPG, Low X1 and +Z but no go.
    So question is, is the limit switch basically a button which gets pressed in on the Z travel slides? If it is a switch it feel solid and stuck inwards.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	246665425_373032641274305_7939726770856828789_n.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	224.8 KB 
ID:	471488

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    708

    Re: Alarms on my Leadwell MCV OP

    Yes,is just a switch with 2 wires with a 24v that is cut when switch is pressed,why you do not remove the screws and than just ope it an clean it,will work after this.If you remove the wires ,shhut down the machine as you might touch the 24v wire to the machine side and get a short and a fuse blown

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    52

    Re: Alarms on my Leadwell MCV OP

    "i think is the limit switch on Z axis."
    Is there a message when moving Z axis?
    Try "P+CAN" keys on power on. This will temporarily disable overtravel so you can re-zero.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    121

    Re: Alarms on my Leadwell MCV OP

    thanks mate ill try it out

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    121

    Re: Alarms on my Leadwell MCV OP

    not moving at all.
    The only message is "not ready" but when i press the red button on the side that message is gone.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    121

    Re: Alarms on my Leadwell MCV OP

    whats the "P" key? Power?

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    121

    Re: Alarms on my Leadwell MCV OP

    So I got the Z and X to move but only on screen which is strange, the actual machine axis did not move.
    I cleaned out the Z over travel switch and yes it was stuck, its ok now but sill got a Z over travel error on screen.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	243175269_307849630752003_7629655782899909561_n.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	48.8 KB 
ID:	471520

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	246512962_427545798803615_5615251060020123120_n.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	55.7 KB 
ID:	471522

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    121

    Re: Alarms on my Leadwell MCV OP

    Good news so far.
    I was able to move all axis's even "Home" all axis's which is great.
    I haven't been able to rotate the spindle or do a tool change, I'm not familiar with the Fanuc system but tool change should be like, M06, T# and spindle rotation, M03, S100 or so. Not sure how to punch it in???
    Now the issue I do have is all the functions of the axis movements has to be done with the red over-ride button on the side being pushed in the whole time for some reason??

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    121

    Re: Alarms on my Leadwell MCV OP

    Ok, i got the spindle rotation ok, but no tool change.
    The issue i see is the air line which i believe sucks the tool holder up is disconnected. but what i dont understand if its a suction line the compressed air will blow not suck??
    Please explain??

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    80

    Re: Alarms on my Leadwell MCV OP

    Looking at the pick it looks like you have an older 0A,B or C?
    M06 can be handled several ways;
    In the PLC, through a macro called by the M06 that issues M-codes in a sequence, a separate PLC, or a combination of these.
    It can also be programmed in a few ways as well. IE;
    T10;
    M06;
    or
    M06T10;

    The M06 will usually handle M05,M09 in the PLC (but not always). Some preparatory commands may be required as well such as G91G28/G91G30 Z0 to place the axis at the TC position.
    Possibly M19 to orient the spindle.


    Look at parameters 230 thru 242. If there is a 6 in any of these a macro was used for a portion of the M06.
    That macro would need to be recreated.

    If none were set to 6 then chances are the plc controlled it 100%.

  13. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    121

    Re: Alarms on my Leadwell MCV OP

    Thanks for the info. Sounds good. i punched in M06 T4 [input] EOB also M06 [input] T4 [input] EOB
    An issue i found was the air line to the spindle which i think is to do with the tool unclamp and clamp is disconnected. the line is just hanging there. ill take a picture.
    Im not sure where it goes??? it should go to a pneumatic relay block somewhere.
    This is turning into a little restoration project which is cool.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	242944311_282923853695497_4557392818049406979_n.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	106.6 KB 
ID:	471720

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    121

    Re: Alarms on my Leadwell MCV OP

    So looking further into the disconnected airline, it seems its just an air blast line.
    Main issue remaining now is, the red round button on the side always needs to be pressed to have any function of the the axis's and any command such as spindle rotation, the red button must be pressed and held during any operation. This doesn't seem right to me. All functions should be made without pressing this button on the side. I think this is an over-ride button?
    Could this be an issue with some of the parameters? (Since i had to re-enter the parameters a few days ago)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	249036693_593152688504145_1836125154896524449_n.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	176.1 KB 
ID:	471828

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    708

    Re: Alarms on my Leadwell MCV OP

    That seems to be the overtravel hard limits by pass that will bypass the axis limit switches if any of the axis is out of the working zone
    so i am guessing must be a axis limit switch that is pressed or is broken
    I suggest to open the covers for all axis and check all the end limit switches with a voltmeter.You should have a 24v DC flowing on it when is not pressed.
    Good luck!

  16. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    121

    Re: Alarms on my Leadwell MCV OP

    Aah thank you.
    I did open the Z and X over travel switches and they were both stuck inwards. I have recently cleaned them up and work nicely but i haven't checked voltage and haven't checked Y switch.
    I will check Y switch and check all voltages.

  17. #17
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    121

    Re: Alarms on my Leadwell MCV OP

    checked the limit switches and found the X switch has no 24V going to the switch.
    Checking the diagram in the book its labeled LS1-2 and definitely should have 24V. The diagram also shows MX-1, i found MX on the circuit board inside the computer cabinet. I'm guessing this is something to do with it??? Its hard to trace the cables back to the circuit board, i will have another look tomorrow.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	250644889_1015606855888467_427746312530189877_n.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	144.9 KB 
ID:	471938

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	249657896_588342462407067_5716081100324904836_n.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	46.9 KB 
ID:	471940

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	251472604_294532795853418_4681917930747413969_n.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	143.6 KB 
ID:	471942

  18. #18
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    121

    Re: Alarms on my Leadwell MCV OP

    Restored the 24 volts on the over travel switch so that great! Happy with that.
    Next issue, I cant do a tool change.
    I program in MDI M06 input. T4 input EOB, Start. The tool changer clicks but does nothing.

  19. #19
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    708

    Re: Alarms on my Leadwell MCV OP

    can you input T06 EOB insert and than M06 EOB insert.
    is the cycle strat button still lit?
    is the command execute and dissapear from screen?
    What you have on parameter 240 to 242?

  20. #20
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    121

    Re: Alarms on my Leadwell MCV OP

    The cycle start button is not lit at all.
    Do i press "Insert" or "Input"
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	original-used-leadwell-mcv-op.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	97.3 KB 
ID:	472122

    Doesn't look like i have anything for Parameter 240 to 242 according to the book i have, i got the parameters from this book. I will double check with the floppy disk where the original parameters were.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	253081020_284758250320041_462582356185307463_n.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	91.1 KB 
ID:	472124

Page 1 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. Leadwell MCV-0
    By dpaulson in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-07-2016, 07:39 PM
  2. help with Leadwell MCV-OP
    By prec-tech in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-13-2011, 06:34 AM
  3. MCV-OP Leadwell????
    By bdrmachine in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-16-2006, 02:35 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •