502,264 active members
7,153 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Fadal > AMC vector drive regem circuit
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    298

    AMC vector drive regem circuit

    So my spindle drive breaking doesn’t work. As it tries to brake it will brake then coast the brake Until it stops but this takes a while.

    The resistors at the top seem good measuring 13ohms for a dual resistor but I cannot put a new fuse in as it burns out immediately. Firstly the one of the transistors at the top of the drive was blown out so I replaced that. But it still does the same thing seems like as soon as the drive is powered on and the dc bus has power it’s being drained straight to the resistor. The transistors I replaced looked like what sent the dc bus to the resistor but I’m not sure. Does anybody have a schematic of the drive or at least the regem circuit? I read on a forum somewhere that it may be the other large transistors on the drive but I couldn’t find those locally to replace them at the time and they seemed ok. Anybody have any hints clues or things to look for? I don’t want to pay half of what I payed for the machine for a new drive.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    298

    Re: AMC vector drive regem circuit

    Does anybody know someone who repairs these drives? Or has on used for sale?

    Seems like nobody can help with them so far.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    402

    Re: AMC vector drive regem circuit

    If the braking circuit fails you can disconnect it and run an external braking unit connected directly to the DC bus. My 4020 has a mistsubishi drive and is configured like this from the factory. Theres some info about this in the spindle drive system manual (page 285). It says "In many cases the regen circuit can be disconnected and a Glentek brake unit (INV-0030) can be substituted for the regen circuit. (Please consult with Fadal before performing)."

    There are a few different types of these braking units. INV-0030 appears to use a single 13 ohm resistor, my machine looks to use the same circuit board, but with more transistors and components and mine is setup with 2 13 ohm resistors. Im not sure the fadal number of my board. Theres also a mitsubishi one with dual 24 ohm resistors.

    A brake unit made for any brand of 240v VFD could potentially work since they all run the same voltage and do the same thing. If you find a good replacement for a good price please post results. My brake unit blew a varistor a year or so ago and i fear it could be on the way out, and i cant seem to find a spair for a good price.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    298

    Re: AMC vector drive regem circuit

    Well I’ll look into that as an easy way out but I got a broken baldor drive inv-0041. And am working on it as a potential replacement.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    23

    Re: AMC vector drive regem circuit

    Quote Originally Posted by ianagos View Post
    So my spindle drive breaking doesn’t work. As it tries to brake it will brake then coast the brake Until it stops but this takes a while.

    The resistors at the top seem good measuring 13ohms for a dual resistor but I cannot put a new fuse in as it burns out immediately. Firstly the one of the transistors at the top of the drive was blown out so I replaced that. But it still does the same thing seems like as soon as the drive is powered on and the dc bus has power it’s being drained straight to the resistor. The transistors I replaced looked like what sent the dc bus to the resistor but I’m not sure. Does anybody have a schematic of the drive or at least the regem circuit? I read on a forum somewhere that it may be the other large transistors on the drive but I couldn’t find those locally to replace them at the time and they seemed ok. Anybody have any hints clues or things to look for? I don’t want to pay half of what I payed for the machine for a new drive.
    Mine is doing that exact thing right now. What fixed it for you?

Similar Threads

  1. Refurbished vector drive?
    By double a-ron in forum Haas Lathes
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 12-22-2015, 10:57 PM
  2. Replies: 22
    Last Post: 09-04-2015, 02:36 PM
  3. Vector Drive??????
    By murphdog in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 12-01-2012, 12:23 AM
  4. vector dual drive?
    By durbinmachine in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11-29-2010, 05:58 PM
  5. Haas Vector Drive 20/15 Need Help
    By tecko in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-23-2007, 03:17 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •