549,951 active members*
2,899 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Anilam 3000M

Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 20 of 39
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    33

    Unhappy Anilam 3000M

    i have just bought a Excel Mill (Bridge port Clone) with the Anilam 3000m cnc conversion fitted, and I have a vfd for the 3hp motor do i just need a 115v power supply to operate all
    the Anilam servos and screen. it has a massive transformer fitted to the rear of the machine that I am making an educated guess it takes the 400v three phase and sends 400v to the motor,
    and 115v to the Anilam. i will post some pictures of what i have bought if it helps or is it as clear as mud apologies in advance. if the is anyone with a simlar setup perahaps the could help.

    the goal is to run it all on single phase.
    Thank You in advance

    oops not sure how to add a picture ??

  2. #2
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    5242

    Re: Anilam 3000M

    Are you in Europe or North America? Makes a difference for the wiring.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    33

    Re: Anilam 3000M

    Europe 220v 50/60htz Uk to be more precise

  4. #4
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    5242

    Re: Anilam 3000M

    Since you have 220V single phase, you can wire directly from the line to the VFD, then the VFD directly to the motor. You will need to confirm that the motor is connected for 220V.

    If your transformer will accept a 220V input, then you can use that to supply the 110V to the drives and controller. The drive power must be transformer isolated from the line power.

    You are going to need to do some rewiring in the panel and remove the motor contactors.

    I would use the main disconnect and fuses that are installed. From there to the VFD and to the transformer. You will most likely need to install a couple of small relays to control the VFD.

    I'll try to explain better if I confused you.

    A picture of the existing transformer connections would be helpful.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    33

    Re: Anilam 3000M

    Hi Jim thanks for the response i will post all the pictures that i have so, you have the complete picture.
    the motor from star to delta or the other way i forget now, below is the plate and pics of the transformer and its a big boy.

    don't seam to be able to upload some pics i will try later

    Cheers

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    33

    Re: Anilam 3000M

    nope carnt upload ?

  7. #7
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    5242

    Re: Anilam 3000M

    Pics too big?

    You may have a bit of a problem here. The motor is not a dual voltage according to the tag. Going to need those transformer pics to get this sorted.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    33

    Re: Anilam 3000M

    thanks for your help i am trying to upload some pics of the transformer and the plate

    lets go. no just one pic
    no mater what I do I cant upload any more pics
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 20211213_195838.jpg   20211213_200132.jpg   20211213_200153.jpg   20211213_200159.jpg  

    20211213_200208.jpg   20211213_200218.jpg   20211213_200258.jpg  

  9. #9
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    5242

    Re: Anilam 3000M

    OK, that pic is enough to tell me that you have some problems here. That machine was configured for 415V only. Not convertible to 230V 3 phase.

    The controls will work fine with a 220/110 transformer, no problem there. But you are going to need to do something with the motor. A motor shop may be able to rewire the motor for 220V.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    33

    Re: Anilam 3000M

    What about this bad boy that i have brand new. bought it for another project.

    i have a 7.5kv Hungyang inverter will that not just convert it to 220 in 380 out ?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails clarke-pc-60-5-5hp-phase-converter-6012795.jpg  

  11. #11
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    5242

    Re: Anilam 3000M

    OK, that changes the game a bit. Yes, it looks like the Clarke Converter will work fine.

    Unless the HY VFD rated at 220 in 380 out, then no, it won't do that. Not saying they don't exist, but I have never seen one that will do that. But I think if you buy a properly rated 400V class VFD, then it will work fine with the Clarke Converter. On the other hand, just wire the machine to the Clarke Converter and make chips. The machine is all set up to run on 415V.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    33

    Re: Anilam 3000M

    do you mean wire the 5 pin plug from the machine directly to the clark .
    the clark only has a 4 pin plug on the mill it has an extra Neutral pic below fingers crossed
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails WhatsApp Image 2021-12-13 at 4.40.37 PM (1) (1).jpg  

  13. #13
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    5242

    Re: Anilam 3000M

    OK, now I'm confused, where does the extra neutral go? That makes no sense.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    33

    Re: Anilam 3000M

    Earth L1 L2 L3 N
    Earth L1 L2 L3

    does a vfd not convert single phase to 3 phase or is the output 3 phase but only 220v ? 3 phase not 380v

  15. #15
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    5242

    Re: Anilam 3000M

    I guess the real question is: Where does the neutral connect on the machine? Never seen a neutral used in a 3 phase system.

    Normally with a VFD voltage in = voltage out. I have seen some special cases where a VFD will take 120V single phase in and output 240V 3 phase, but the only ones I have seen are less than 1 HP I have never seen one that is 220V single phase in and 380V 3 phase out.

    All VFDs output 3 phase. Most VFDs will take single phase in and output 3 phase, but sometimes the VFD needs to be derated to do this. Some VFDs are rated at full load power with single phase input, normally these are 3 HP (2.2kW) and smaller. I think HY does make 5 HP units that are rated for single phase input at full power out.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    33

    Re: Anilam 3000M

    its all a mystery to me, what would you do to solve the problem my friend.

  17. #17
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    5242

    Re: Anilam 3000M

    I would look at the connection at the machine end of the power cable and see where or if the neutral is connected.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    33

    Re: Anilam 3000M

    i am trying to work out what power supply at 115v will run 3 servo motors i will put a picture of the plate below off one of the motors

  19. #19
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    5242

    Re: Anilam 3000M

    If you use your Clarke Converter, then the existing transformer will work fine. No wiring or transformer changes required.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    33

    Re: Anilam 3000M

    ok i will give it ago Thanks again.

Page 1 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. Anilam 3000M to Linuxcnc
    By Kylizer in forum Controller & Computer Solutions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-07-2021, 05:30 PM
  2. Anilam 3000M parts
    By springer- in forum Ebay Ads here
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-03-2017, 03:06 AM
  3. Anilam 3000M Network setup
    By rhetor in forum General CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-14-2010, 04:35 PM
  4. ANILAM 3000M UPGRADE
    By jpb6061 in forum General CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-16-2008, 11:25 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •