524,117 active members*
2,201 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Spindles / VFD > Another spindle question
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1

    Angry Another spindle question

    Sorry if this has been posted, I've scanned the forums but still can't find an answer.

    For my shop project I want to do something out of aluminum. I have a workbee with a crappy spindle. I've been looking at Chinese VFD's and spindle kits, but my challenge is I can only provide 110V. My current spindle (single phase 48v) doesn't cut it, it's really more of a toy.

    So ideally, I'm looking for a 3 phase 110v 1.5kw spindle. This is where my confusion sets in.

    Scenario 1: I see advertised as a kit an VFD and a 1.5KW water cooled 110v spindle - sounds perfect, but screen shot shows the spindle at 220v, so I imagine they are selling 110v VFD with a 220V spindle.
    Scenario 2: I see 110V 1.5KW spindle advertised, but specs say 110v max 5amps - how do you get 1.5kw out of that? (SQR(3) * PF * W * V) does not give me 1.5KW

    I would really prefer an non-chinese VFD and 110V spindle but does this even exist? hours of google searching always leads me to chinese spindles.

    Thanks,

    Billy

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11213

    Re: Another spindle question

    Quote Originally Posted by billy_vandori View Post
    Sorry if this has been posted, I've scanned the forums but still can't find an answer.

    For my shop project I want to do something out of aluminum. I have a workbee with a crappy spindle. I've been looking at Chinese VFD's and spindle kits, but my challenge is I can only provide 110V. My current spindle (single phase 48v) doesn't cut it, it's really more of a toy.

    So ideally, I'm looking for a 3 phase 110v 1.5kw spindle. This is where my confusion sets in.

    Scenario 1: I see advertised as a kit an VFD and a 1.5KW water cooled 110v spindle - sounds perfect, but screen shot shows the spindle at 220v, so I imagine they are selling 110v VFD with a 220V spindle.
    Scenario 2: I see 110V 1.5KW spindle advertised, but specs say 110v max 5amps - how do you get 1.5kw out of that? (SQR(3) * PF * W * V) does not give me 1.5KW

    I would really prefer an non-chinese VFD and 110V spindle but does this even exist? hours of google searching always leads me to chinese spindles.

    Thanks,

    Billy
    What you want is a 120v NA supply to 220v spindle there are some VFD Drives the step up the voltage from the posted 110v input to 220v output but to run any of these you will need a minimum of a 20A supply a normal 15A is not going to do very well even with the 1.5Kw spindle unless you have a 20A supply this is the minimum more is better for single phase input

    You don't want a 110v 3ph spindle as they won't be much better than what you already have, they are Chinese junk for the newbie buyers
    Mactec54

  3. #3

    Re: Another spindle question

    Thanks for the answer, can you please tell me what NA stands for?

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: Another spindle question

    As far as I know these spindles can handle max 7 Amps. So as you stated max power is approx 800 Watt at 110V input. That is all you can get from this 1.5 kW vfd at 110V

    Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-T580 met Tapatalk

  5. #5

    Re: Another spindle question

    Thanks, I only want to mill aluminum and acrylic and maybe some wood. i'm obviously not a pro-shop just a hobbyn00b, so i don't care how long it takes to mill (for now).

    Do you think if I go with a water-cooled chinese spindle at 110VAC 7AMP with Chinesium VFD it could mill aluminum? Using a 3mm to 5mm 3 flute endmill

    Here's the spindle I'm looking at. (Note: i'd rather go with non-chinese, but i don't see anything in my budget at 110v for me)


    Here's the VFD i'm looking at:
    https://www.aliexpress.com/store/gro...3d073e5fTVdjp7

    And the spindle:
    https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3269...c00pgdlUt&mp=1

    Guys, thanks for your patience.

    Billy.







    Quote Originally Posted by hex173 View Post
    As far as I know these spindles can handle max 7 Amps. So as you stated max power is approx 800 Watt at 110V input. That is all you can get from this 1.5 kW vfd at 110V

    Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-T580 met Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11213

    Re: Another spindle question

    Quote Originally Posted by billy_vandori View Post
    Thanks for the answer, can you please tell me what NA stands for?
    North America
    Mactec54

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: Another spindle question

    I do not see any problem. I have a 800W spindle , water cooled, with a 1.5 kW vfd connected to 230Vac single phase, no problem. I am cutting the material you mentioned. So with the vfd set at 7 amps / 110 Vac it will be O.K. Some prefere a air cooled spindle less parts and no chance of a leakage.

    Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-T580 met Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11213

    Re: Another spindle question

    Quote Originally Posted by hex173 View Post
    I do not see any problem. I have a 800W spindle , water cooled, with a 1.5 kW vfd connected to 230Vac single phase, no problem. I am cutting the material you mentioned. So with the vfd set at 7 amps / 110 Vac it will be O.K. Some prefere a air cooled spindle less parts and no chance of a leakage.

    Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-T580 met Tapatalk
    You are using 230v there is a big difference when you drop to 120v unless you have done this you should not post that it is ok it come with a requirement that most 120v supplies can not provide
    Mactec54

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: Another spindle question

    I am using a 230V vfd and 230V 800W spindle, vfd set at 3.5 Amps. For 110V you need a 110V vfd and 110V / 800W spindle because the current is double 7 Amps. The coils of the spindle has to be wired for these currents. To get 1.5 kW your supply current is 14 Amps. So the only thing I am sure is that the spindle can handle aluminium.
    You cannot connect a 230V vfd / spindle to a 110Vac supply.

    Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-T580 met Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11213

    Re: Another spindle question

    Quote Originally Posted by hex173 View Post
    I am using a 230V vfd and 230V 800W spindle, vfd set at 3.5 Amps. For 110V you need a 110V vfd and 110V / 800W spindle because the current is double 7 Amps. The coils of the spindle has to be wired for these currents. To get 1.5 kW your supply current is 14 Amps. So the only thing I am sure is that the spindle can handle aluminium.
    You cannot connect a 230V vfd / spindle to a 110Vac supply.

    Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-T580 met Tapatalk
    Yes you can connect a 120v supply VFD Drive to a 220v spindle there are many VFD Drives made that do this, stick to what you know works for you your numbers are incorrect

    The supply for residential in NA is 120v/240v single phase supply
    Mactec54

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-19-2019, 11:03 AM
  2. Spindle question Control spindle speed via UCCNC
    By sierradays in forum UCCNC Control Software
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-25-2019, 12:08 PM
  3. 2.2kw spindle question
    By Alwaysintheknow in forum Spindles / VFD
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 11-08-2017, 12:29 PM
  4. Newb Question: Difference Between 40 Taper spindle and a 50 taper spindle
    By AndrewJP in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-18-2010, 12:00 AM
  5. spindle question
    By hall6ppc in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-15-2010, 01:54 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •