548,478 active members*
2,483 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Avid CNC > Any benefit to a dedicated Y2++ limit input?
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    4

    Any benefit to a dedicated Y2++ limit input?

    The inputs on my MX4660 for my DIY control system currently uses a dedicated input for Y1--, but I have tied my Y2-- and Y2++ limit switches into a single input. I'm not having any problems with this configuration. The machine homes and the limit switches stop the machine like they should. I have a couple spare inputs that I'm not using. Is there any tangible benefit to putting Y2++ on its own input? I can't think of any, but I figure what the hay?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    13132

    Re: Any benefit to a dedicated Y2++ limit input?

    Quote Originally Posted by SKY-FLIX View Post
    The inputs on my MX4660 for my DIY control system currently uses a dedicated input for Y1--, but I have tied my Y2-- and Y2++ limit switches into a single input. I'm not having any problems with this configuration. The machine homes and the limit switches stop the machine like they should. I have a couple spare inputs that I'm not using. Is there any tangible benefit to putting Y2++ on its own input? I can't think of any, but I figure what the hay?
    There would be no benefit, if it is working correct why would you want to change it.
    Mactec54

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    583

    Re: Any benefit to a dedicated Y2++ limit input?

    If you home to the lower left then you definitely need Y-,X- and Z+. You could put them on the same line(in Mach). However if you have two Y steppers you need another input for the right Y-. Why cover Y+ & X+? In case you cut or jog that far. I don’t see the need for a Z- input.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    4

    Re: Any benefit to a dedicated Y2++ limit input?

    Thanks for the replies. I have X-- and X++ tied to an input, Y1-- on it's own input, with Y2-- and Y2++ tied together, and Z++ on its own. I initially had my Y2++ tied in with Y1--, and the machine still worked normally, but the default diagnostics screen in the Avid screen set always looked weird when the switches were triggered, so I moved the Y2 inputs together. Like I said, I'm not having any problems at all. The machine homes perfectly, and if for some reason I try to jog too far in the Y direction without homing first, the stop works correctly as well. I'll just leave everything alone.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    583

    Re: Any benefit to a dedicated Y2++ limit input?

    I assume that all limit switches can be tied to a single input, except for a slave axis where two can touch two simultaneously. There you need another input. Reason being is the machine just stops moving if any axis limit is tripped. The typical number of inputs is four by the way.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. Single input limit switchs?
    By jari1 in forum PlanetCNC
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-22-2018, 10:38 AM
  2. Mx3660 limit switch input voltagee
    By naspc in forum Leadshine
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 06-26-2016, 04:23 PM
  3. Limit input completely useless design? R21X0
    By chimpera in forum Rutex Products
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-09-2015, 08:24 PM
  4. lasercut 5.3 time limit over please input password
    By suprasport in forum LaserCut
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-23-2014, 06:15 PM
  5. Can your Z home/limit input also be used for a touch plate??
    By TheProCreator in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-15-2010, 08:47 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •