548,477 active members*
2,412 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Auto Tool Changer > Auto tool change without adaptor
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    129

    Auto tool change without adaptor

    Hi all, I am designing an automated robot grinding, the grinding process will be using lots of shaft mounted grinding tools, ie 15pcs per workpiece.
    Therefore I would like to design the auto tool changer without the need for an adaptor for each abrasives tool, to reduce the adaptor cost for each grinding tool.
    I have seen such tool change on the net, but I am not able to find more information on how it works or makers that does that.

    Tool shank: 3.15 or 1/8”
    RPM about 15K to 18K

  2. #2
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    5177

    Re: Auto tool change without adaptor

    Can you provide a link to this being done?
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    129

    Re: Auto tool change without adaptor

    Hi, this is the link
    https://youtu.be/Ppjz26BM1KQ

  4. #4
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    5177

    Re: Auto tool change without adaptor

    Ah, now I have an idea of what you want. Pretty simple, you only need a spindle that is set up for an ATC, and use the correct G and M code commands to accomplish the tool change.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    129

    Re: Auto tool change without adaptor

    Hi Dawson, I do not require the NC codes, I will be using robot to do the grinding process. I am actually looking for such spindle that is able to grip the polishing tools without the need for adapter

  6. #6
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    5177

    Re: Auto tool change without adaptor

    I think what you want is a dental ATC spindle.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    13132

    Re: Auto tool change without adaptor

    Quote Originally Posted by Syphonics View Post
    Hi Dawson, I do not require the NC codes, I will be using robot to do the grinding process. I am actually looking for such spindle that is able to grip the polishing tools without the need for adapter
    Your grinding tools / mandrel would need a pull-stud of some kind on the end, and the spindle would need to pull the grinding mandrel into the taper in the spindle

    Do you have some photos of your grinding mandrels, spindle.
    Mactec54

Similar Threads

  1. auto tool change on axis A
    By vektor_z in forum Dynomotion/Kflop/Kanalog
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-18-2019, 01:30 AM
  2. Heidenhain M101 - Auto Tool Change If Tool Life Expires
    By Scott_1979 in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-21-2018, 03:25 PM
  3. Auto tool change position
    By Tobione in forum Cincinnati CNC
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-24-2018, 11:46 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-04-2011, 01:35 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •