543,673 active members*
2,299 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    13

    AXBB-E 6 axis wiring

    Hi all,

    Has anybody successfully wired more than 4x axes to a cncdrive AXBB-E?
    Ive got the first 4x axes (X,Y,Z,A) working perfectly off the non-isolated side of port 1 (pins 09-16) but am having trouble with expansion of B and C axes on the isolated side using pins 5,6,7 and 8.
    I'm using Mach3 and have configured DIR/step pins correctly but feel it's a wiring issue rather than a software one.

    A wiring diagram, photo or any advice would be greatly appreciated!
    Even if you're using UCCNC, I'd love to see your wiring setups.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    698

    Re: AXBB-E 6 axis wiring

    Quote Originally Posted by giffster View Post
    Hi all,

    Has anybody successfully wired more than 4x axes to a cncdrive AXBB-E?
    Ive got the first 4x axes (X,Y,Z,A) working perfectly off the non-isolated side of port 1 (pins 09-16) but am having trouble with expansion of B and C axes on the isolated side using pins 5,6,7 and 8.
    I'm using Mach3 and have configured DIR/step pins correctly but feel it's a wiring issue rather than a software one.

    A wiring diagram, photo or any advice would be greatly appreciated!
    Even if you're using UCCNC, I'd love to see your wiring setups.

    Thanks!
    I have not tried one but.
    If it's an isolation related issue (likely). Port 3 is non isolated. Get an IDC26 to DB25 cable and a cheap bob and connect to there.

    It's based on the UC300eth controller which has 6 ports for various things. It uses ports #2 and #3 as the main basic type LPT ports we use all the time.
    The AXBB-E is a conbination of the 300's port numbers 1,2,4,5 & Analogue.
    The second standard type LPT port will be port #3 on the side of the BBE.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    13

    Re: AXBB-E 6 axis wiring

    Thanks for the advice,
    That will be my next course of action, however the manufacturer does state that the isolated pins do support config of dir/step, so I thought I'd exhaust that avenue first.
    Comments definitely appreciated though. Keep them coming!
    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    698

    Re: AXBB-E 6 axis wiring

    Quote Originally Posted by giffster View Post
    Thanks for the advice,
    That will be my next course of action, however the manufacturer does state that the isolated pins do support config of dir/step, so I thought I'd exhaust that avenue first.
    Comments definitely appreciated though. Keep them coming!
    Thanks!
    This is how I read it.

    'There are 8 non-isolated outputs to be used as step and direction signals.There are 8 isolated outputs to drive relays, solid state relays, laser controller or anythingelse which require isolation'.

    So no step/dir on the isolated.

    'In addition to the breakout signals there is one IDC26 port on the board which has standardLPT port pinout. An IDC26 to DSUB25 cable (not included) can be used to connect an additional standard LPT port compatible breakout board'.

    So more step/dir if needed.


    Unless it's UCCNC itself... A limitation driving rotary axis items perhaps.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    13

    Re: AXBB-E 6 axis wiring

    yes - perhaps.
    An excerpt below from cncdrive admin - presumably someone within the manufacturer themselves.
    Yes - they only state this is possible using UCCNC, however surely this is a hardware capability, not software?... who knows, which is why I'm putting it out there.
    Attachment 463216

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    698

    Re: AXBB-E 6 axis wiring

    Quote Originally Posted by giffster View Post
    Hi all,

    Has anybody successfully wired more than 4x axes to a cncdrive AXBB-E?
    Ive got the first 4x axes (X,Y,Z,A) working perfectly off the non-isolated side of port 1 (pins 09-16) but am having trouble with expansion of B and C axes on the isolated side using pins 5,6,7 and 8.
    I'm using Mach3 and have configured DIR/step pins correctly but feel it's a wiring issue rather than a software one.

    A wiring diagram, photo or any advice would be greatly appreciated!
    Even if you're using UCCNC, I'd love to see your wiring setups.

    Thanks!
    I've just been reading about all this isolation stuff because I'm looking at needing to do some kind of optocoupler thing with my servo encoder to fit to the ucbb board.

    Anyway. If the AXBBE is isolated on those outputs using optocouplers. It is likely it's not going to run an axis on them afaic. Opto's use just a light beam to trigger the designated output/input, there is no physical connection inside it between it's in/out.
    I did not know that

    Use port 3 and be done with it

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    13

    Re: AXBB-E 6 axis wiring

    Thanks Dazp,
    Yeah - Ive been doing a bit of reading over the last couple of days myself.
    I'm heading down the route of a UCSB attached to port 3. I just have to find some free space in the already tight control box.
    Appreciate the help.
    Cheers.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    698

    Re: AXBB-E 6 axis wiring

    Quote Originally Posted by giffster View Post
    Thanks Dazp,
    Yeah - Ive been doing a bit of reading over the last couple of days myself.
    I'm heading down the route of a UCSB attached to port 3. I just have to find some free space in the already tight control box.
    Appreciate the help.
    Cheers.
    Sounds like a plan.
    My 300eth and 2* UCBB boards turned up the other day.
    Didn't quite visualize ther size until I got them out the box.
    Looks like I'll be having to board stack

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    13

    Re: AXBB-E 6 axis wiring

    Yes - I ended up having to stack my UCSB too - even had a few mm to spare...
    I now have it successfully installed and running perfectly. The problem was definitely with the isolated pins.
    For future reference - anybody wondering if you can use an AXBB-E for 6 axes with MACH3? the answer is YES! providing you use a separate BOB on port 3 for the last 2x axes. In my case, the CNCdrive UCSB worked a treat.
    As of April 2021, current version of MACH3 with the current CNCdrive mach3 plugin works well, providing you install the plugin while the AXBB-E is connected to Ethernet port with crossover cable and the PC has a secondary NIC with an internet connection present.
    Cheers.

Similar Threads

  1. UC300ETH + UB1 or AXBB-E which is better?
    By Hellbringer in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-26-2020, 05:44 PM
  2. axbb-e with Huanyang VFD
    By fandtm666 in forum Spindles / VFD
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 10-08-2020, 04:00 PM
  3. Its Aliveeeee my AXBB-E is working
    By curiosity22 in forum Australia, New Zealand Club House
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-31-2020, 01:39 AM
  4. my AXBB-E and UCSB are on the way, small annoyance is anyone using axbb with mach3?
    By curiosity22 in forum Australia, New Zealand Club House
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-17-2019, 03:50 AM
  5. New AXBB controller
    By ger21 in forum UCCNC Control Software
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 03-20-2019, 11:55 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •