544,051 active members*
1,893 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > Commercial CNC Wood Routers > Barcoding with SCM M100(Maestro) ?
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    511

    Barcoding with SCM M100(Maestro) ?

    Trying to reduce human translatio errors by using a barcode scanner on the SCM M100 and Maestro but their is little information on how to do it. Appreciate any help on implementing it as we spend almost as much time reading paperwork and double checking input.:tired:

    I have some programs with as many as 35 parameters with the average human data input error of 1 in 300, theirs the potential average we could make a mistake every 9th time we run the machine.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    511

    Re: Barcoding with SCM M100(Maestro) ?

    I have managed to get the BCR to work with Panel Mac. But it will only import PGM files. Is their a way to configure it to accept CSV files which will direct the machine to the correct PGMX file and insert the parameters?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    511

    Re: Barcoding with SCM M100(Maestro) ?

    Managed to get PGMX loaded via bar code reader. Have to add the following NCI file(located in Xilog Plus-CFG Folder) :-

    $GEN_LOAD_BCR_TYPE
    CSV
    $

    Still would like to know if its possible for the BCR to open a CSV file and open a PGMX overwriting the parameters from CSV?

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    2

    Re: Barcoding with SCM M100(Maestro) ?

    Hi BigZ1,

    Keen to know how you managed to get your barcode reader to work with Panelmac.
    Trying to do the same thing here but no need for the CSV file. N100.
    Any help would be very much appreciated.

    Regards
    Stephen

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    511

    Re: Barcoding with SCM M100(Maestro) ?

    Quote Originally Posted by TheSD View Post
    Hi BigZ1,

    Keen to know how you managed to get your barcode reader to work with Panelmac.
    Trying to do the same thing here but no need for the CSV file. N100.
    Any help would be very much appreciated.

    Regards
    Stephen
    Hi Stephen.

    I will dig something out when am back at work. Panelmac also comes with Xilog. i found the configuration for barcode documentation in Xilog folder.. You will also have to configure prefix and suffix characters on your bar code reader..

    If you follow the instructions you will then be able to load PGMs.

    To get PGMX you have to do the following step:-

    Find and replace the following in NCI file(located in Xilog Plus-CFG Folder) :-

    $GEN_LOAD_BCR_TYPE
    PGM
    $

    to

    $GEN_LOAD_BCR_TYPE
    PGMX
    $

    My son has managed to get CSV's to work with a BCR by using AutoIT to emulate human input. From bar code it will load program enter variables from CSV and leaves the program open so we can assign areas manually and alter Z thickness(or any other variable if desired) as product has thickness variation..

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    511

    Re: Barcoding with SCM M100(Maestro) ?

    Attached is the documentation for configuring the the Bar Code Reader.

    You will have to configure the BCR rules to have a prefix=/ and a suffix=+

    TEST bar code attached(use code 128)

    Information in bar code:-

    TEST AB R2 DX1000 DY500

    BCR will pass information to CNC as:-

    /TEST AB R2 DX1000 DY500+

    TEST=Program name AB=Area R2=Number of repeats DX=Length DY=Width (you can add DZ for thickness). 55 characters are usually the max a BCR can handle.

    I am using a USB Zebra bar code scanner it has to be configured for RS232. To do this scan the code attached after the suffix/prefix has been uploaded(test prefix and suffix work first in notepad as you cant test after using CDC barcode):-

    https://www.zebra.com/us/en/support-...dc-driver.html

    Hope this helps. Pity its so limiting.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    511

    Re: Barcoding with SCM M100(Maestro) ?

    Quote Originally Posted by bigz1 View Post
    Hi Stephen.

    I will dig something out when am back at work. Panelmac also comes with Xilog. i found the configuration for barcode documentation in Xilog folder.. You will also have to configure prefix and suffix characters on your bar code reader..

    If you follow the instructions you will then be able to load PGMs.

    To get PGMX you have to do the following step:-

    Find and replace the following in NCI file(located in Xilog Plus-CFG Folder) :-

    $GEN_LOAD_BCR_TYPE
    PGM
    $

    to

    $GEN_LOAD_BCR_TYPE
    PGMX
    $

    My son has managed to get CSV's to work with a BCR by using AutoIT to emulate human input. From bar code it will load program enter variables from CSV and leaves the program open so we can assign areas manually and alter Z thickness(or any other variable if desired) as product has thickness variation..
    Sorry made a mistake. Find this section of code in NCI file(make a copy of the NCI file first):-

    {--- Gestione file di battute --- }
    $GEN_UNIFY_REF_BAR_FLAGS
    1
    $

    and insert this below it:-

    $GEN_LOAD_BCR_TYPE
    PGMX
    $

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    2

    Re: Barcoding with SCM M100(Maestro) ?

    Quote Originally Posted by bigz1 View Post
    Sorry made a mistake. Find this section of code in NCI file(make a copy of the NCI file first):-

    {--- Gestione file di battute --- }
    $GEN_UNIFY_REF_BAR_FLAGS
    1
    $

    and insert this below it:-

    $GEN_LOAD_BCR_TYPE
    PGMX
    $

    Hi BigZ1. What an awesome reply. Many thanks indeed. I haven't had the time yet to implement it but as soon as I can I'll send you some feedback.
    It's a great day when the kids start teaching you IT skills. Thanks again.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Posts
    1

    Re: Barcoding with SCM M100(Maestro) ?

    hi there guys regarding your posts on here, i have managed to get the bar code reader working and loading in to my m100 but the problem is it automatically executes with no header or par sections being able to be changed, is there any way you guys no of stopping this ??

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    511

    Re: Barcoding with SCM M100(Maestro) ?

    I had the same problem. I could not find a way around it using SCM BCR interface.

    My son made me a program that bypasses the interface and emulates human input with AutoIT. It requires 2 scans:-

    First scan starts the AutoIT program ( Basically a Hotkey)
    Second scan the barcode on product (CSV name)
    AutoIT then opens CSV
    AutoIT opens relevant program in Maestro and enters variables.
    AutoIT checks parameters match CSV/Program(error report generated if a problem)
    AutoIT shuts down(safety reasons(hence the reason to scan twice))
    Program is left open allows changes to Header, Area, Repeats, Parameters etc.

    If you wish to know more give me a PM.

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    511

    Re: Barcoding with SCM M100(Maestro) ?

    Quote Originally Posted by LUKESMITH92 View Post
    hi there guys regarding your posts on here, i have managed to get the bar code reader working and loading in to my m100 but the problem is it automatically executes with no header or par sections being able to be changed, is there any way you guys no of stopping this ??
    Try making a program called TEST and using the barcode called TEST in post #6. This will insert header information. Parameters on the other hand won't work.

Similar Threads

  1. m100/101
    By starsky28 in forum General CNC Plasma / Oxy Fuel Cutting Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-09-2016, 10:27 PM
  2. M100 and above, don't work??
    By jeffserv in forum Dynomotion/Kflop/Kanalog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-19-2014, 06:56 PM
  3. 078 NUMBER NOT FOUND with M100 ON FANUC 18M
    By dung_ninhbinh in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 09-06-2010, 03:21 AM
  4. Barcoding on Polycarbonate by DP Laser
    By alokjhas in forum General Laser Engraving / Cutting Machine Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-11-2010, 02:13 PM
  5. Mini Maestro
    By pascoa in forum Controller & Computer Solutions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-04-2009, 04:01 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •