549,843 active members*
2,722 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Bridgeport Machines > Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills > Bridgeport series 1 interact TNC 145 Gross positioning error B
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    2

    Bridgeport series 1 interact TNC 145 Gross positioning error B

    Hi,
    I don't know if there are still any knowledgeable users of this machine out there, but I hope so!

    I bought a Bridgeport series 1 interact with TNC 145 from a technical school, so in pretty good shape. I stored it in a barn for a year and moved it last month in order to get it running. While moving it to its final destination, the chain holding it broke, and it felt down 1 or 2 cm. Apparently no damage...

    The battery was out so I had to enter the parameters from a compilation of MP lists I have found on the forum.

    I managed to home the Z, but once I home the Y or the X it starts a rapid move and the machine stops with a "gross positioning error B" message.

    I found from the Heidenhain website some infos about the possible causes when this occurs on the TNC 155, wrong parameters are one of them. Since the machine was tested working before I bought it, I imagine that the parameters are in cause.

    Anyone out there would know how to fix this ?

    Abon, (France)

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    506

    Re: Bridgeport series 1 interact TNC 145 Gross positioning error B

    Check your speed parameters

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    2

    Re: Bridgeport series 1 interact TNC 145 Gross positioning error B

    Quote Originally Posted by mbservice View Post
    Check your speed parameters
    Thanks for your advice. Could you be more precise on which parameters I should modify? On this TNC 145 I have 54 parameters. Here is the list of those mentioning something about speed with the value I entered:

    MP 0 (rapid traverse X) : 5000
    MP 1 (rapid traverse Y) : 5000
    MP 2 (rapid traverse Z) : 5000

    MP 5 (approach speed) : 1.00
    MP 6 (acceleration) : 0.200

    MP 16 (Speed upon reference mark approach) : 1000

    MP 21 (Speed pre-control) : ON

    MP 38 (Radial acceleration with circular movement) : 0.100

    MP 45 (External feed rate potentiometer) : 2

    All the MP comes from this documents here attached

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    0

    Re: Bridgeport series 1 interact TNC 145 Gross positioning error B

    Hi

    not sure if this is still an issue (as it is 6 months old)

    I had the same issue on a TNC155 because of the same cause (lost parameters and added from a similar machine)
    In my case, the cause was that my XY spindels were reversed from that other machine, so they ran in the wrong direction.

    So in my case, the spindle was mirrored (left instead of right handed thread), but it is also possible that the encoder wires are simply swapped, or the, or the drive polarity is connected the wrong way around.

    I fixed it my changing both "counting direction" and the "drive polarity"
    In your case, if the table is moving in the correct direction, you maybe should not swap MP24/MP24, but you should only swap MP20/MP21. Or alternatively, swap the actual wiring.

    By the way, in my case my spindle was actually reversed (left instead of right handed), but it is also possible that the encoder wires are simply connected the wrong way around, or the drive polarity is connected the wrong way around.

    I drop the other parameters I messed with too, though you probably do not need to change those.

    My notes:

    Code:
    Issue 3) Modify Machine Parameters
    No Machine Parameters were present for this machine. We rebuild them based on Machine (2) parameters
    To enter individual Machine Parameters.
    -	Press MOD (the bottom-right one)
    -	Walk down to Code, and enter code 95148
    -	You can walk up/down, or use GOTO
    -	When done, press ENT and then END
    -	Depending on the parameter changed, the machine may reset
    Spindle Direction Parameters
    It turns out Machine (1) has X and Y spindles turning the opposite direction from Machine (2), whose machine parameters we copied. So we had to change the spindle and position count directions
    	Old	New	
    MP20	1	0	X counting direction
    MP21	1	0	Y counting direction
    MP24	0	1	X drive polarity
    MP25	0	1	Y drive polarity
    
    Changed Calibration Parameters
    Software limits were tuned to avoid running into hardware limit switch
    	Old	 New	
    MP44	+8.500	 +6.600		X+ limit
    MP45	-448.600 +450.500	X- limit
    MP46	+6.500	 +7.200		Y+ limit
    MP47	-298.600 -297.900	Y- limit
    MP48	+8.000			Z+ limit
    MP49	-119.100		Z- limit
    
    Changed Configuration Parameters
    	Old	New	
    MP92	0	3	3=English/Decimal point; 0=Dutch/Comma
    MP217	0 P	0 P	0 = Klartext Dialog; 1=ISO G-codes
    MP222	168	168	V24 RS232 definitions (see manual)
    MP223	0		0=Normal, 1=Blockwise transfer (seems to work with 0 too though??

Similar Threads

  1. Bridgeport Interact Series 1 strange X-axis gross positioning error
    By Handi-andi in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-23-2020, 10:27 PM
  2. Gross positioning error A and D caused by Z axis, Interact 1 mk2 Tnc 151B
    By dickins11 in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-09-2013, 01:45 AM
  3. Bridgeport Interact 1 MkII "Gross Positioning Error D"
    By tomcannon in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-11-2011, 02:15 PM
  4. Bridgeport Gross positioning error
    By Ogre4x4 in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-26-2011, 11:45 PM
  5. Bridgeport Interact 4-Gross Positioning Error
    By foolmaker in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-15-2009, 10:13 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •