501,820 active members
7,012 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    18

    Can UC100 Run At 400Khz So 6040 Spindle Runs 24,000 RPM

    It seems the UC100 will max out at 100Khz which would not allow the 1,500watt spindle to reach it's full RPM of 24,000 on the 6040. Is that correct? please teach me this topic.
    I'm considering a chinese/eBay 6040 which has a parallel port lacking a motion controller so I would buy a motion controller such as the UC100 or the UC400ETH and then buy the full legal license for mach3 (or even UCCNC).

    So my main goal is to be able to run the 1,500 watt spindle at it's full range from minimum up to 24,000 RPM on that chinese 6040.

    thank you kindly

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    336

    Re: Can UC100 Run At 400Khz So 6040 Spindle Runs 24,000 RPM

    No experience with the UC100, but the Spindle is usually controlled via a 0-10VDC signal from the Motion Card.
    I assume the 100 khz you are refering to is the clock frequency of the UC100 and has nothing to do with Spindle Speed.

  3. #3
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    33772

    Re: Can UC100 Run At 400Khz So 6040 Spindle Runs 24,000 RPM

    100Khz is the frequency of the step output, and has nothing to do with the spindle frequency.
    As mentioned, you need an analog speed control board.

    I'd recommend the AXBB-E, instead of the UC100, as it includes the speed control, and other desirable features, for only $25 more.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    18

    Re: Can UC100 Run At 400Khz So 6040 Spindle Runs 24,000 RPM

    Quote Originally Posted by ger21 View Post
    100Khz is the frequency of the step output, and has nothing to do with the spindle frequency.
    As mentioned, you need an analog speed control board.

    I'd recommend the AXBB-E, instead of the UC100, as it includes the speed control, and other desirable features, for only $25 more.
    ger21, I can't thank you enough for your willingness to help me.
    I noticed the AXBB-E is both a "break out board" and a "motion control" combined into one. But the Chinese 6040 from eBay that I'm considering already has a "break out board" with a parallel port and it lacks a "motion control".
    So based on that, how much modificating would be required in order to get the AXBB-E to interface and work well with that 6040?
    For some reason I was under the impression that I would not need to buy anything other than the UC100 so I've not heard of the "speed control". I thought the mach3 (or UCCNC) software controlled the speed, no?

  5. #5
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    33772

    Re: Can UC100 Run At 400Khz So 6040 Spindle Runs 24,000 RPM

    Without knowing exactly what the machine has it's hard to say.
    The VFD, which runs the spindle, typically requires a 0-10V analog signal to control the speed. This is generated by a speed control circuit, which converts a PWM signal from the parallel port.
    I think that a lot of those machine have single boards that contain everything all in one board. In that case, the UC100 will probably work best, and will definitely be the easiest route. To use the AXBB, you'll need to know what you are doing.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Similar Threads

  1. Gecko 540, UC100 upgrade on Chinese 6040
    By Aeolian in forum Chinese Machines
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-27-2017, 02:35 AM
  2. Zen spindle only runs in pulses
    By flaplante in forum Zen Toolworks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-18-2017, 03:40 PM
  3. spindle shuts off... runs for about 3 seconds then nothing
    By williamsmotower in forum Charter Oak Automation Support Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-20-2013, 01:55 PM
  4. Fadal runs and runs and runs awayyyy!
    By pbrokaw in forum Fadal
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 01-16-2012, 03:26 PM
  5. Replies: 25
    Last Post: 06-28-2011, 03:06 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •