544,157 active members*
3,047 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Plasma, EDM / Waterjet Machines > General EDM Discussion > Charmilles Robofil 200 operating process
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 20 of 27
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    35

    Charmilles Robofil 200 operating process

    I have recently purchased a Charmilles Robofil 200 and am trying to wrap my head around the operating process.

    I understand a bit about the files but still have some confusion also.

    Anyone familiar with this machine?

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    48
    Haven't got that exact m/c but we have some old chamrilles machines so i'm familiar with the controls. Has it got Charmilles control or fanuc?

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    35

    Control + Flush

    My machine has the Charmilles control not a Fanuc.

    Another problem I am having is with the flushing, when I hit the button on the control to start the lower flush it comes on and works fine. When I press the button for the upper flush nothing happens. Is there something I need to do in order for it to come on?

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    48
    What exactly is your confusion with the control? Not sure I can help with your flushing problem as i'm not familiar with the machine. It could be a mechanical or electrical fault or the top nozzle could just be blocked. Have you tried executing a flushing command to see if that works?

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    35

    Charmilles tech support

    As always after a call to Charmilles tech support they gave me a quick answer. On this machine when you are using brass wire the upper flush is not used. A switch to stratified wire and loading of the technology file should enable the upper flushing system.

    My confusion on the control is that it is somewhat different from my other machines. So far I think I like it pretty well. Could you walk me through a typical job setup and run? Please be detailed as I am very new to this control and will need to take baby steps to get through.

    Major confusion exists in the area of the .tec files and 'E' settings in the program. How do I know which setting to use? On my other machines, I am familiar with them enough to be able to just make the adjustments to the cutting parameters manually. Or I can look them up in the book and adjust as necessary.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    48
    It sounds like you'd benefit far more from spending a bit of money and having a days on site training with a Charmilles engineer. It's a lot to ask to expain an entire job set up in a clear way to a beginner purely in a text format.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    18
    Ok thanks I might need to do that.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    6
    Hi all, just to ask if anyone has the cutting conditions for a wire machine charmilles robofile200, if I could provide a copy, I need to know the conditions for different types of materials and thicknesses, thanks in advance

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    0
    Hi,
    I think I can help you.. I figured all that allready
    It is simple enough but.. I use user. tec as I do not have the right Tec file for my machine.
    If u are interested give me a PM with your email and I'll try to teach you.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    15

    Purchaced Robofil 200 recently

    Hi
    Just purchaced 1991 make Charmilles Robofil 200 wire edm. Have not powered it on. My question is : what controller is used in this machine. What maybe the speed of cutting for say 10mm steel pllate.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    15

    Help needed for Robofil 200 Wire Edm software

    hi
    I am new to wire edm and also to cnc software. So please help.
    I wanted to know which software you all are using to operate the Robofil 200.
    Dolpin EDM software has Robofil 200 post processor. Is this software good for this perticular machine?

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    35
    Don't expect this machine to be fast by today's standards. It will do a good job everyday. I have come to enjoy and admire the simplicity of operation of this machine, while also using some of the more advanced features. For example the twist feature for making a twisted shape through a part saved me considerable time and money by not requiring a 4 axis program to be written. We have also found the machine to be a capable 4 axis machine. There are a few things annoying also. The machine was really designed around the use of stratified wire, this is a bit more expensive to purchase. Also the battery backup system works great, but not for very long.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    15
    Thanks for the reply. The machine is still not powered on. Will take a weeks time to power it on.
    Thanks yssvaff

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    0
    Dear Lucas,
    If you have still breakdown on your Charmilles,don t hesitate to ask me.
    BR
    Yannick Goering Technical and Sales Manager
    EDMSwiss SARL Used Charmilles specialists

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by yssvaff View Post
    hi
    I am new to wire edm and also to cnc software. So please help.
    I wanted to know which software you all are using to operate the Robofil 200.
    Dolpin EDM software has Robofil 200 post processor. Is this software good for this perticular machine?
    Dear Sir,
    We operate with Goelan or Fikus who works well on Charmilles machines
    BR
    Yannick Goering Technical and Sales Manager
    EDMSwiss SARL Used Charmilles specialists

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    15
    When I started the robofil 200 this morning I pressed the monitor key. The machine displays the following " E05 P07? " All the keys on the cabinet are not functioning. I switched of the machine but on starting the same screen is coming. Please help. How to come out of this loop?

  17. #17
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    0
    Hi,

    Try press the green button while keeping the menu button (blue) pressed (keep it pressed 3 to 4 seconds after the green one).

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    15
    Thanks

    Wasted 3 to 4 hrs in front of a blank screen.

    yssvaff

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    15
    Thanks

    Followed ur instructions and the machine started. Wasted 3 to 4 hrs in front of a blank screen in the morning.

    yssvaff

  20. #20
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    0
    Do you have the tech and comm disks?

Page 1 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. CHARMILLES ROBOFIL ALARM/MANUAL
    By SINUMERIKO in forum General Waterjet
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-26-2021, 01:19 AM
  2. Charmilles Robofil 200 startup
    By Shawn Lucas in forum General EDM Discussion
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 01-26-2021, 01:04 AM
  3. Charmilles Robofil Wire Edm
    By sundara in forum General EDM Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-01-2017, 09:56 PM
  4. Charmilles Robofil 440 Power Settings?
    By Tool Maker 24 in forum General EDM Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-10-2009, 10:50 AM
  5. Charmilles Robofil 300/310 Door Alarm
    By WIRE CUTTER in forum General EDM Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-26-2009, 12:34 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •