548,590 active members*
2,801 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    6

    Charmilles Robofil 4000

    We have just bought our first wire machine, (obviously 2nd hand because of the model's age, about 1990).
    So far we have successfully transferred programs to and from the machine via floppy. We have the manual, though it was missing all chapter 5 pages which have the G code info, I will have that on Monday morning.
    What I would really like to do is learn how to take skim cuts. We have successfully cut around several shapes with one cut only.
    We don't know how to get it to go back and take a couple more skim cuts.
    Could someone please show me in a short program, what it is in that refers to skim cuts and where it is written in the file for the machine to understand it?
    Thank you very much, John

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    12
    I'm not sure if it's the same in a 4000, I'm used to a 2020.
    Basically you have to make a .tec file with your strategy built in. Usually E3, E7, E17, and E10 for medium accuracy/finish. E3, E7, E17, E17, E10 for better accuracy/finish.

    In your CMD program call your .tec file with the line TEC,1.TEC.
    Then call your first power setting with REX,E501, then run your ISO program, then call REX,E502 for your second power setting and so on.

    See below...

    Code:
    ZCL
    
    AUX,22
    
    CCF,RESET.CMD
    
    TEC,K.TEC
    
    CLE,.0002
    
    GOP,1
    
    REX,E501
    
    DRS,SO.ISO
    
    SPG,SO.ISO
    
    GOP,1
    
    REX,E502
    
    SPG,SO.ISO
    
    GOP,1
    
    REX,E503
    
    SPG,SO.ISO
    
    GOP,1
    
    REX,E504
    
    SPG,SO.ISO
    WEDM:Mitsubishi FA20P, Makino EU64, U53K
    EDM: VX20 (3), Ingersoll 500

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    12
    One more thing, use E3 if you are dropping a slug, E2, if you are roughing without dropping a slug.
    WEDM:Mitsubishi FA20P, Makino EU64, U53K
    EDM: VX20 (3), Ingersoll 500

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    6
    Thank you very much. We will get on to it this morning.
    Do you have to break the wire at the end of the first pass and start again at the beginning? john

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    12
    I depends on what you are doing. If you are cutting a pocket and dropping a slug, you don't need to break the wire. If you are cutting a punch, you can cut the wire and re-thread - or just program a bunch of rapid moves back to your start point. You can also program a reverse wire-path with your CAM software, but then your power changes will be in your ISO program instead of your CMD. You'd have to talk to someone at CT or your CAM rep to know exactly how to do that.
    WEDM:Mitsubishi FA20P, Makino EU64, U53K
    EDM: VX20 (3), Ingersoll 500

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Posts
    2

    Re: Charmilles Robofil 4000

    I need system disks for Charmilles robofil 4020SI.Please help me

Similar Threads

  1. Charmilles Robofil 510 Aux codes
    By tallenttoolroom in forum General Waterjet
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-27-2020, 09:41 AM
  2. Charmilles Robofil Wire Edm
    By sundara in forum General EDM Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-01-2017, 09:56 PM
  3. DNC CHARMILLES ROBOFIL 310
    By tecnomaqq in forum General EDM Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-17-2014, 04:34 AM
  4. charmilles Robofil 190 or charmilles Robofil 290
    By Fontez in forum Post Processors for MC
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-12-2013, 04:48 PM
  5. New software for Charmilles Robofil 510
    By tallenttoolroom in forum General EDM Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-09-2011, 07:26 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •