584,833 active members*
5,539 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Hobby Projects > Hobby Discussion > A circle, a simple circle. How hard can it be?
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    5

    A circle, a simple circle. How hard can it be?

    I'm new to CNC having built a 2-axis plotter driven by Arduino, CNC-Shield and GRBL 1.1.

    I can draw a square.

    I now want to draw a circle and have failed miserably for days.

    I have googled on and off for about a week now and looked at dozens of examples. Not one of them does a circle. Not on my machine nor in any of about 5 different simulators I've tried. At best a limp arc, at worst straight lines or nothing.

    Come on.

    A circle.

    Could someone post the GCode to do say a circle centered at X=0,Y=0 with radius 5cm?

    Since I now believe it is impossible. Please check your work here:
    GCode Simulator
    or here:
    https://nraynaud.github.io/webgcode/

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538

    Re: A circle, a simple circle. How hard can it be?

    G0 X0 Y5
    G2 X0 Y5 I0 J-5

    Doesn't work in the first simulator you linked, but works in the second one.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    6463

    Re: A circle, a simple circle. How hard can it be?

    Hi, if you took the time to learn G code all will be revealed, but you gotta be in it to win it.
    Ian.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    5

    Re: A circle, a simple circle. How hard can it be?

    Quote Originally Posted by ger21 View Post
    G0 X0 Y5
    G2 X0 Y5 I0 J-5

    Doesn't work in the first simulator you linked, but works in the second one.
    Yeah... doesn't work on my machine (running GRBL).

    The first command works but the circle doesn't and I get:
    error 33 for G2 X0 Y5 I0 J-5

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    5

    Re: A circle, a simple circle. How hard can it be?

    OK, the circle code works in UniversalGCodeSender but not in GrblController 3.6.1

    I thought these programs just send GCodes to the machine so how can they get different results??

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538

    Re: A circle, a simple circle. How hard can it be?

    Different controls read g-codes differently.
    I think that GRBl doesn't allow full circles, only partial arcs.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    5

    Re: A circle, a simple circle. How hard can it be?

    But GRBL is on my Arduino - I'm just switching between different PC software which both send "G2 X0 Y2 I0 J-2"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538

    Re: A circle, a simple circle. How hard can it be?

    I think that Universal G Code Sender breaks the circle up, and sends multiple arcs to GRBL.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    5

    Re: A circle, a simple circle. How hard can it be?

    I think I see what's happening. If you're in relative mode (G91) you can't draw circles.

    FAIL:
    >>> G91
    >>> F100
    >>> G0 X0 Y2
    >>> G2 X0 Y2 I0 J-2
    ok
    ok
    ok
    error:33

    SUCCESS
    >>> F100
    >>> G0 X0 Y2
    >>> G2 X0 Y2 I0 J-2
    ok


    Is there any way to just draw a circle centered from wherever you are?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538

    Re: A circle, a simple circle. How hard can it be?

    I think I see what's happening. If you're in relative mode (G91) you can't draw circles.
    You can, but the code is different.

    G91
    G0 X0 Y2
    G2 X0 Y0 I0 J-2
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    3
    it's really hard for me

  12. #12
    Hello, in this article it is very well explained (it is in Spanish but you can translate it) https://www.geniolandia.com/13120889...-con-codigos-g

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-14-2015, 05:18 PM
  2. Draw line tangent from small circle to large circle
    By WEDDLETON in forum ViaCad / Shark
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-30-2014, 05:53 AM
  3. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 02-05-2014, 08:21 PM
  4. write gcode for circle with 4 small circle inside it
    By Farzaneh_2010 in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-13-2010, 05:24 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •