545,781 active members*
1,762 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > Commercial CNC Wood Routers > CNC ESD problem? Z axis randomly shifts lower than projected tool paths
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1

    CNC ESD problem? Z axis randomly shifts lower than projected tool paths

    I have a camaster stinger 1 that is about 6 months old that keeps digging into the model portion of the stock. It doesn't do it right away, but eventually a tool path will go too low. What's weird is when I double check the Z the machine still has the same margin it did before, so it doesn't seem to be a persisting issue.

    I am generating the GCode from fusion 360 using the included pp. When I preview it in an external G-Code editor, it looks fine. The simulation in Fusion360 looks good as well.

    I am assuming I have some sort of ESD issue to do with my dust collector that is right next to the machine. I am using a harbor freight dust collector with 4" vinyl hoses that attack to the z axis. I wonder if its somehow disrupting the servo location?

    This issue ONLY happens on the Z axis. Is there a procedure for proper ESD grounding anywhere? I wrapped a wire from the chassis of the dust collector around the hose to the ceiling, but it stops short of contact with the machine.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    16

    Re: CNC ESD problem? Z axis randomly shifts lower than projected tool paths

    Quote Originally Posted by KT88saturate View Post
    I have a camaster stinger 1 that is about 6 months old that keeps digging into the model portion of the stock. It doesn't do it right away, but eventually a tool path will go too low. What's weird is when I double check the Z the machine still has the same margin it did before, so it doesn't seem to be a persisting issue.

    I am generating the GCode from fusion 360 using the included pp. When I preview it in an external G-Code editor, it looks fine. The simulation in Fusion360 looks good as well.

    I am assuming I have some sort of ESD issue to do with my dust collector that is right next to the machine. I am using a harbor freight dust collector with 4" vinyl hoses that attack to the z axis. I wonder if its somehow disrupting the servo location?

    This issue ONLY happens on the Z axis. Is there a procedure for proper ESD grounding anywhere? I wrapped a wire from the chassis of the dust collector around the hose to the ceiling, but it stops short of contact with the machine.
    I went through a similar z-shift down issue over the winter(with a Laguna Swift). After checking alignment multiple times (no issues), checking Gcode (no issues) and running the jobs multiple times, one of the big clues was that downward shift occurred in the same exact place on on multi-pass toolpaths every time.* One commentator ruminated about a math error in the firmware and that headed down the firmware replacement route. It turned out to be a firmware corruption issue. I loaded updated firmware and the problem went away.

    I work in a rural area with not-so-great utility service and we had had a couple of "service interruptions" around that same time. My guess is that one of them toasted the firmware.

    * I should add that I ran multiple multi-pass jobs and by "exact same place" I don't mean that at the same X-Y-Z location on the machine, I mean the same place on each job's tool path, but a differency location on the machine itself.

  3. #3

    Re: CNC ESD problem? Z axis randomly shifts lower than projected tool paths

    Quote Originally Posted by MillAlien View Post
    I went through a similar z-shift down issue over the winter(with a Laguna Swift). After checking alignment multiple times (no issues), checking Gcode (no issues) and running the jobs multiple times, one of the big clues was that downward shift occurred in the same exact place on on multi-pass toolpaths every time.* One commentator ruminated about a math error in the firmware and that headed down the firmware replacement route. It turned out to be a firmware corruption issue. I loaded updated firmware and the problem went away.

    I work in a rural area with not-so-great utility service and we had had a couple of "service interruptions" around that same time. My guess is that one of them toasted the firmware.

    * I should add that I ran multiple multi-pass jobs and by "exact same place" I don't mean that at the same X-Y-Z location on the machine, I mean the same place on each job's tool path, but a differency location on the machine itself.
    Oh buddy that must have been interesting to work out. In this case, the shift only happened on one "arc", but not the rest. I am really hoping its just esd.

Similar Threads

  1. Syntec 6mb tool paths not aligned in y axis
    By Bascil in forum Chinese Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-22-2018, 12:42 AM
  2. 4 axis tool paths not reracting
    By jredbolurne in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-09-2018, 08:18 PM
  3. Controlling Z axis clearance tool paths
    By loddie in forum MadCAM
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-09-2016, 12:22 PM
  4. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-17-2012, 03:21 AM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-24-2008, 01:47 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •