545,580 active members*
7,332 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: CNC Z axis

Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1

    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    2

    CNC Z axis

    I am using a 6040 Cncest CNC cutting letters on a sign at 3mm deep when for no apparent reason the cutter plunges to 7mm deep could it be a software problem as I am using MACH3 and Vcarve10,5 running windows 7 with a parallel port.or maybe a stepper motor problem as it only happens with the Z axis and has happened a few times before. Any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    490

    Re: CNC Z axis

    Software would do the same thing every time. Zero Z above the work and run the program. Look at the Z DRO to see if it’s cutting deep. Measure the Z zero height above the work before and after the cut to see if anything moved.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-04-2013, 05:30 AM
  2. 5-axis, 4-axis, and 3-axis CNC Router manufacturer
    By roctech in forum Roctech CNC Routers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-24-2012, 09:12 AM
  3. 3 axis CNC controller kit 3 NEMA17 78 oz-in stepper motor + 3 axis CNC board
    By Chaparro1973 in forum Stepper Motors / Drives
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-12-2012, 10:26 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •