554,328 active members*
3,105 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    49

    Cutting taper with Fanuc Robocut

    having a problem cutting tapers on this machine. New to it all and am learning but... I cut one on a test piece one time but it didn't cut like I wanted. As in it set the taper on the first move which was one I needed the taper to be set before cutting it. I've since learned how to go about that but now the only way I can get it to cut one is on Mode 10 with me programming the U,V. The last one I used Mode 1 and just added a G52 Code and it worked but now I'm getting a Error 40 code which is programming I think.

    Gonna post pictures of my program and the settings and ask if someone will look at it and tell me what I have wrong. I'm sure it is something simple but I'm just not finding it. I've got the books and from what I can see it is written right and the taper info is correct.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 271542338_1544884102561052_2331218244780876228_n.jpg   272156545_503961537721192_1083180572630848351_n.jpg  

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    364

    Re: Cutting taper with Fanuc Robocut

    Quote Originally Posted by tlmkr38 View Post
    having a problem cutting tapers on this machine. New to it all and am learning but... I cut one on a test piece one time but it didn't cut like I wanted. As in it set the taper on the first move which was one I needed the taper to be set before cutting it. I've since learned how to go about that but now the only way I can get it to cut one is on Mode 10 with me programming the U,V. The last one I used Mode 1 and just added a G52 Code and it worked but now I'm getting a Error 40 code which is programming I think.

    Gonna post pictures of my program and the settings and ask if someone will look at it and tell me what I have wrong. I'm sure it is something simple but I'm just not finding it. I've got the books and from what I can see it is written right and the taper info is correct.
    I have an older Fanuc wire .I also have to command a G41 or G42 offset in the program and at the end G40 G50 X0 Y0 ,,,U0 & V0 ...You also have to set your guide position correctly .What wasn't correct the angle ?

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    49

    Re: Cutting taper with Faunc Robocut

    I haven't gotten it to run yet. When I try to run the program I get a error 40 code which the book says is a programming error. Once I get the program to run I'll look at the settings for the guides to get the angle correct. I know I tried it with the offsets in there but maybe I had something wrong. I'll try it again. If you can see something that isn't written right I would appreciate it if you could fix it and post or at least tell me what it is. I can cut straight lines and all using 4 axis programming and setting 10 on the taper settings but I am going to have to cut die clearance tapers on some radius's soon and I'm not real sure how to do that in 4 axis. Have a friend who runs EDM's coming this weekend so maybe he can help. Any help is appreciated Thanks!

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    364

    Re: Cutting taper with Fanuc Robocut

    I checked the code and your end point for the arc is not correct .Bad G-code . I always make sure you can run the the profile first then add the G51 or G52 and you T angle .Your format looks strange also . It should be program number then G92 X0 Y0 Then G90 then g41 or g42 and the goo or go1 move command last line should be g40 g50 xoyou0v0 them m30.Good luck sir.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    49

    Re: Cutting taper with Fanuc Robocut

    Here is a copy of the program I just cut and pasted. It was written in Incremental and with out the taper in it it runs good. I just run it to make sure it would as I couldn't remember. However, when I put the taper offsets and info in it I get a error 40 alarm. It makes a hole that looks like a keyhole with the straight part being 0.150" wide at the bottom. Sorry about the confusion, I should have been more specific

    %
    O8003
    M15
    G91
    G92 X0.0 Y-0.125
    M86
    G1 X0.0 Y.125
    X-0.075
    Y0.208
    G2 X0.15 Y0.0 I0.075 J0.238
    G1 Y-0.208
    X-0.075
    Y-0.125
    G90
    G0 X0.0 Y-0.5 U0.0 V0.0
    M30
    %

    Thanks again for any help.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    364

    Re: Cutting taper with Fanuc Robocut

    O8003
    M15
    G91
    G92 X0.0 Y-0.125
    M86
    G41
    G1 X0.0 Y.125G51T3.0
    X-0.075
    Y0.208
    G2 X0.15 Y0.0 I0.075 J0.238
    G1 Y-0.208
    X-0.075
    Y-0.125
    G90
    G0 X0.0 Y-0.5
    G40G50X0.0Y-.125U0V0
    M30
    %
    TRY SOMETHING LIKE THIS.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    262

    Re: Cutting taper with Fanuc Robocut

    i checked Manual, and error 40 refers to invalid data for taper cutting, to check guides distances, part thickness and ref. plane.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    364

    re: Cutting taper with Fanuc Robocut

    Try making your lower guide height a negative number .

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    49

    Re: Cutting taper with Fanuc Robocut

    Thanks! I'll try it once I get this job out of the machine. I know it''s something I am doing wrong so hopefully something will work.

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    49

    Re: Cutting taper with Fanuc Robocut

    Quote Originally Posted by gabedrummin View Post
    Try making your lower guide height a negative number .
    I'll look at that also. I never changed it on the settings as i measured it and it was where it needed to be however, if it is supposed to be a negative I may have changed it somehow and not realized it.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    364

    Re: Cutting taper with Fanuc Robocut

    DId you get this fixed ?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-20-2019, 02:31 PM
  2. Fanuc robocut not cutting square
    By Meintjes in forum General EDM Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-22-2018, 01:05 PM
  3. Fanuc Wire W1 Taper Cutting
    By Krispee in forum General EDM Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-17-2018, 02:04 PM
  4. EDM Cutting Conditions For FANUC Robocut (alpha)-OC and (alpha)-OiA
    By aaronell in forum General EDM Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-02-2015, 07:01 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •