541,079 active members*
3,064 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Fanuc > Different spindle speed between M3 and M4 Fanuc 0T-B
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Posts
    16

    Different spindle speed between M3 and M4 Fanuc 0T-B

    Dear all,
    I have got an old lathe Fanuc 0T-B controlled. Last days I noticed a strage working on spindle speed rotation . When I command in MDI or Auto mode G97S200M3, spindle starts running correctly at 200rpm; instead when I command G97S200M4, spindle runs at 180rpm.
    At every speed commanded in M4 direction, spindle rotation is lower about 20rpm then commanded speed.
    Do you have some ideas about this trouble?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    901

    Re: Different spindle speed between M3 and M4 Fanuc 0T-B

    Quote Originally Posted by Diri19 View Post
    Dear all,
    I have got an old lathe Fanuc 0T-B controlled. Last days I noticed a strage working on spindle speed rotation . When I command in MDI or Auto mode G97S200M3, spindle starts running correctly at 200rpm; instead when I command G97S200M4, spindle runs at 180rpm.
    At every speed commanded in M4 direction, spindle rotation is lower about 20rpm then commanded speed.
    Do you have some ideas about this trouble?
    ..what happens when trying Spindle speed zero ? does it drift ? If yes, which direction M3 and M4

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    194

    Re: Different spindle speed between M3 and M4 Fanuc 0T-B

    For Spindle direction on the electrical drawing does it have a different relay in the electrical cabinet ? or done through the spindle drive ?
    Old machines have different systems for sure sometimes --------If it has a relay change check for condition

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    738

    Re: Different spindle speed between M3 and M4 Fanuc 0T-B

    I am going to assume that you have a Fanuc spindle amplifier as you didn’t specify otherwise. That being the case then you will have two variable resistors labeled RV9 and RV11. How to adjust is you run your spindle to 1000 rpm’s and adjust RV9 (M03) to achieve 1000 rpm’s. You do the same for M04 but adjust RV11. If you don’t have a Fanuc spindle amplifier then you will have to find the manual for that drive.

Similar Threads

  1. Fanuc AC Spindle Drive speed does not match S-code speed
    By serickson in forum Spindles / VFD
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-13-2014, 01:18 PM
  2. Fanuc Oi-MC Spindle Speed Issues
    By Crashmaster in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-10-2012, 12:12 AM
  3. Fanuc 6T spindle speed
    By Splinky in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-09-2010, 05:16 AM
  4. Fanuc 5T Spindle Drive Speed
    By Dragoon2 in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-25-2009, 03:49 AM
  5. Fanuc 0M Spindle Speed Problem
    By inthezone in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-01-2007, 10:14 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •