535,104 active members*
2,957 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Dmm Technology > DMM 1.8kw Servo Phase Lost
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    5

    Unhappy DMM 1.8kw Servo Phase Lost

    Hi,

    Looking for some guidance, and input i guess. I have a 1.8kw servo motor and matched drive from DMM, For those of you that have the same setup, ive seen a few mention they have this drive running at 2:1 to achieve 6000rpm, have you had any phase fault issues?

    I cannot get past 2600rpm in the DMM software. It just goes to phase fault, while machining any minor load on the motor and it also shuts off. These were cuts my treadmill motor was making with ease at 4300 rpm.

    This is running on a G0704 mill with a 1.7:1 ratio. I guess this is somewhat irrelevant due the motor not being able to reach max rpm even during bench testing.

    I have been in contact with DMM and in turn they are in contact with their development team.

    But id thought id ask here as im sure there are quiet a few people with these motors/drive setup on here that i could compare notes with.

    Cheers Daniel

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    5

    Re: DMM 1.8kw Servo Phase Lost

    I guess i should also mention im using 240v single phase to power the drive. It is all wired up following what is in the manual.

    Regards Daniel

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11897

    Re: DMM 1.8kw Servo Phase Lost

    Quote Originally Posted by Danno11 View Post
    Hi,

    Looking for some guidance, and input i guess. I have a 1.8kw servo motor and matched drive from DMM, For those of you that have the same setup, ive seen a few mention they have this drive running at 2:1 to achieve 6000rpm, have you had any phase fault issues?

    I cannot get past 2600rpm in the DMM software. It just goes to phase fault, while machining any minor load on the motor and it also shuts off. These were cuts my treadmill motor was making with ease at 4300 rpm.

    This is running on a G0704 mill with a 1.7:1 ratio. I guess this is somewhat irrelevant due the motor not being able to reach max rpm even during bench testing.

    I have been in contact with DMM and in turn they are in contact with their development team.

    But id thought id ask here as im sure there are quiet a few people with these motors/drive setup on here that i could compare notes with.

    Cheers Daniel
    Speed is usually related to the power supply the 1.8Kw motor only has a 1500RPM with a max up to 3000RPM I would check with DMM as to what your problem could be
    Mactec54

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    215

    Re: DMM 1.8kw Servo Phase Lost

    I had one like that. They said that the encoder was likely out of alignment and replaced the motor. Once I got it working from the software these are the setting I ended up with. I'm running 1.8:1 gearing and I get 5350 rpm from it.

    Attachment 422822


    When I asked them about setting for use as a spindle motor this is what they said.

    For use as spindle motor, set Integration Gain to "1" and keep it at "1". Then increase Main Gain and Speed Gain until the motion is rigid and suitable. Keep Main Gain and Speed Gain at the same value.

    Make sure to install a regenerative resistor on the drive to help absorb deceleration energy from the motor. Also install a transformer or AC line reactor on the AC power input to smooth and filter the power coming into the drive.



    They were very helpful and responsive to email. Usually replied by next day.

    John

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    5
    I still haven't got this sorted, DMM arnt being very helpful or responsive. I live in Australia so if I do have motor issues I hope they honor their warranty. Atleast two
    Weeks ago I was told that my issues would be escalated to the dev team, but they were away at a conference for a few days. I've heard nothing since, even after sending a follow up email. Tbh I'm not really impressed with their service after I said I am having issues.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Posts
    2

    Re: DMM 1.8kw Servo Phase Lost

    I’m currently in the same situation looking to put a 1.8kw on my g0704 were you able to get the 3000rpm? I suspect it’s going to be be it’s single phase 220 and not 3 phase 220

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11897

    Re: DMM 1.8kw Servo Phase Lost

    Quote Originally Posted by Danno11 View Post
    I still haven't got this sorted, DMM arnt being very helpful or responsive. I live in Australia so if I do have motor issues I hope they honor their warranty. Atleast two
    Weeks ago I was told that my issues would be escalated to the dev team, but they were away at a conference for a few days. I've heard nothing since, even after sending a follow up email. Tbh I'm not really impressed with their service after I said I am having issues.
    Lost phase can be more than one thing as that shows as a fault, it does sound like you have over load which can happen if the Parameters are not set correct, have you used power filters on the inputs to the drives

    How are you driving the motor Step / Dir or +/-10v most that use these for a spindle are using voltage to control them I must do a test and see how or if 0-10v will run them as there is some on YouTube that is this is one but he has the 1Kw DMM motor but yours should be setup the same way
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XbsvOmGWAy0
    Mactec54

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11897

    Re: DMM 1.8kw Servo Phase Lost

    Looked up some old notes I had from there spec's

    If you are running the motor from the DMM software then you will reach a max RPM depending on your power supply Voltage and you will get a Drive fault, this is normal

    Other things that can cause a lost phase is

    Check that the encoder feedback cable is securely plugged from the servo motor to the JP3 port of the servo drive.

    Check for any mechanical irregularities that might be preventing the motors to move freely. the 1.8Kw is a power house so you should not be having any cutting problems you may just have a setup problem
    Mactec54

Similar Threads

  1. 110v VFD, 220v, 1 phase, 3 phases - I'm kind of lost
    By Biggs427 in forum Spindles / VFD
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-16-2017, 02:52 PM
  2. Replies: 25
    Last Post: 07-15-2016, 05:15 PM
  3. DYN3 lost phase fault
    By Windscreen in forum Dmm Technology
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-15-2016, 05:44 AM
  4. could a 3 phase servo run clockwise only???
    By patriciooholegu in forum Servo Motors / Drives
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-27-2010, 10:03 PM
  5. 6 phase sinusoidal servo? Help Mr. Al the Man
    By JasonCampbell in forum Servo Motors / Drives
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-30-2007, 04:54 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •