504,368 active members
4,694 visitors online
Register for free
Login

Thread: Dnc problem

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    34

    Dnc problem

    Hey,

    Trying to drip feed a program - and this is what I get:

    I can not run the whole program, the machine "runs out" of g-code after few dozen lines. Seems to me like the buffer is full, and the control does not receive any more code (I guess that the control is not "asking" external pc for more code, or is asking, but the computer somehow is not delivering). I get "transfer completed sucsessfully" message on my cimco window. Normaly when I dnc my code, my pc sends first portion of code, progress bar on cimco window stops, then I hit green button and the machine is working ok. But now all code seems to be sent to the machine, although the buffer is full.

    Looks to me like Xon Xoff signal is missing.

    Looked at my rs232 9 to 25 cable, everything in place like the times it worked.

    Checked cimco dnc settings - all seems ok, baud rate, parity, Xon Xoff...

    Went to diagnostic mode and ran communication test - it is ok. I haven't had a blind plug for db25 on the machine, so I connected pins 2 and 3 with a bridge, hope its ok (and enough, manual says that's done in the blind plug)

    Connected my rs 232 cable on the machine, and connected by bridge pins 2 and 3 on the db9 side, ran communication test again and its ok.

    Went to my friend and took his pc with com port, tried it - the same thing happens.

    It was all working just fine untill a couple of days ago...

    Anyone has any idea, what to try next? I need dnc, I am making mold tools...

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    177

    Re: Dnc problem

    If you are using a USB-RS232 Converter...don't. They are undependable #1
    Get something else like RS232 to IP https://www.ebay.com/itm/Wifi-Ethern...wqKlHN9aQJ2Xkg
    Double check some things about DNCX and DNC too in the manual
    https://itscnc.com/tech%20docs/rs232_dnc.pdf

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    34
    Quote Originally Posted by machinehop5 View Post
    If you are using a USB-RS232 Converter...don't. They are undependable #1
    Get something else like RS232 to IP https://www.ebay.com/itm/Wifi-Ethern...wqKlHN9aQJ2Xkg
    Double check some things about DNCX and DNC too in the manual
    https://itscnc.com/tech%20docs/rs232_dnc.pdf

    Thanks a lot, man. I am using com port on some old lap top that I use only for dnc... Also I have manual like the one you linked, but it's older. I went through it (troubleshootig

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    34
    Quote Originally Posted by machinehop5 View Post
    If you are using a USB-RS232 Converter...don't. They are undependable #1
    Get something else like RS232 to IP https://www.ebay.com/itm/Wifi-Ethern...wqKlHN9aQJ2Xkg
    Double check some things about DNCX and DNC too in the manual
    https://itscnc.com/tech%20docs/rs232_dnc.pdf

    Thanks a lot, man. I am using com port on some old lap top that I use only for dnc... Also I have manual like the one you linked, but it's older. I went through it ( communications troubleshooting). I will try again today some things... Have no idea what's wrong, I need to fix it...

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    528

    Re: Dnc problem

    I keep an old laptop with serial just for drip feed. but if you are going to run your business with this machine making molds I highly recommend the Calmotion USB adapter so you can run your code off USB sticks. It's worth every penny.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    177

    Re: Dnc problem

    maybe having a timing issue...page 327
    https://itscnc.com/tech%20docs/rs232_dnc.pdf
    DNC - A two-second dwell is required between the DNC command and the first percent symbol (%). If the software being used to transmit the program cannot support this dwell time, remove the DNC, DNCX, or TA,1 command from the file and type the command at the VMC before starting file transmission.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    34
    Quote Originally Posted by machinehop5 View Post
    maybe having a timing issue...page 327
    https://itscnc.com/tech%20docs/rs232_dnc.pdf
    DNC - A two-second dwell is required between the DNC command and the first percent symbol (%). If the software being used to transmit the program cannot support this dwell time, remove the DNC, DNCX, or TA,1 command from the file and type the command at the VMC before starting file transmission.


    Thanks for advice, man. Replaced and rewired my rs232 cable acc to the manual (this time full handshake), got myself a new lap top, and tried to delay next line transmission in cimco software, and handshake timeout. I can run the program, but it is still the same thing... When the control runs out of lines, it stops. Discovered that, if i match that line sending delay in cimco with feed, I can run longer programs, or I can "starve" the machine with g code up to some point, and get the job done (not in desired way).

    I will be back on this problem later today, and I will share the results for someone with the same problem.

    Thanks again, you gave me some ideas, I will try some more...

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    34
    Quote Originally Posted by machinehop5 View Post
    maybe having a timing issue...page 327
    https://itscnc.com/tech%20docs/rs232_dnc.pdf
    DNC - A two-second dwell is required between the DNC command and the first percent symbol (%). If the software being used to transmit the program cannot support this dwell time, remove the DNC, DNCX, or TA,1 command from the file and type the command at the VMC before starting file transmission.


    Thanks for advice, man. Replaced and rewired my rs232 cable acc to the manual (this time full handshake), got myself a new lap top, and tried to delay next line transmission in cimco software, and handshake timeout. I can run the program, but it is still the same thing... When the control runs out of lines, it stops. Discovered that, if i match that line sending delay in cimco with feed, I can run longer programs, or I can "starve" the machine with g code up to some point, and get the job done (not in desired way).

    I will be back on this problem later today, and I will share the results for someone with the same problem.

    Thanks again, you gave me some ideas, I will try some more...

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    34
    Quote Originally Posted by ginner View Post
    Thanks for advice, man. Replaced and rewired my rs232 cable acc to the manual (this time full handshake), got myself a new lap top, and tried to delay next line transmission in cimco software, and handshake timeout. I can run the program, but it is still the same thing... When the control runs out of lines, it stops. Discovered that, if i match that line sending delay in cimco with feed, I can run longer programs, or I can "starve" the machine with g code up to some point, and get the job done (not in desired way).

    I will be back on this problem later today, and I will share the results for someone with the same problem.

    Thanks again, you gave me some ideas, I will try some more...

    I am running programms as I used to. DNC, running the pgm from the control unit... I have no idea what the problem was, I had a friend who came with his computer and we tried and fixed the problem.

    Couple of advices for guys with similar problems:

    1. Run your dnc from a desktop computer, I tried via some crappy lap top computers. Desktop comps are more stable, I think.

    2. DO NOT even try usb to com port converter, it can cause problems you cannot even imagine. I know you already heard this (so have I, but still tried it). It will give you nothing but problems.

    3. Somwhere in manual, in section "communications" you have troubleshooting. One good sentence from it: "In our expirience, 1030 board is rearly faulty. Most of the problems comes from a bad connectors, cables and grounding."

    That is so correct. In my search of rootcause, I found one of the wires was desoldered.

    Regards to all.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-24-2017, 03:56 AM
  2. Fadal Idler problem. Rpm pulse problem
    By complextool in forum Fadal
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-07-2016, 06:28 PM
  3. Tube problem or powersupply problem? Help you to check out
    By Melody-gweike in forum General Laser Engraving / Cutting Machine Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-05-2012, 04:09 AM
  4. daewoo puma 12lb tape format problem/parameter problem
    By robb12877 in forum Daewoo/Doosan
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-25-2011, 06:13 AM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-04-2010, 11:33 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •