535,443 active members*
2,892 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > EMCO CNC Machines > EMCO Lathe > Emco 320: Supply Power or Servo Amp issue?
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    6

    Emco 320: Supply Power or Servo Amp issue?

    I finally have the RPC hooked up to the EMCO 320. Machine functions. EXCEPT it gets both server errors 414 & 424, with the DC over current bit set (0000100). Alarm on the servo amp gives the DC light. These errors don't happen right away; but w/in 5 mins or so while idling. This is what I know:


    1. Supply Power comes from an RPC (AD20 digital). It's somewhat balanced (digital) however, the input voltage on one leg is 5% too high. e.g. 240/240/253V. Translates to 380/380/394ish. When I have higher voltage (400/400/420), using the 380 outputs of the autotransformer instead of the -5% outputs, the servo amp fails right away. I balanced the RPC (per the manufacturer) w/ RPC of 245/250/250 (don't know why my L1/L2 input power went from 240v->245v; was also another day), but this made the amplifier errors occur much quicker (1-2min).
    2. If running at the lowest voltage configuration (240/240/253)V and -5% autotransformer outputs, AND the spindle is turned ON, thus putting a larger load on the system and RPC, the server amp doesn't fail (we're not cutting anything; just putting a larger load vs just idling).
    3. Gone though the checks on the servo amp; everything is connected correctly, using the INTERNAL dissipation resister.
    4. Servo amp board: A16B-1200-0800/09b, base board might be A06B-6058-H221 (not around the system right now). Fanuc 0T system

    Question: Is the EMCO 320 (or rather the Fanuc servo amp) pretty finicky when it comes to power, or SHOULD you be able to through a varied range of power to it and have it work correctly? The documentation says supply voltage of 380V. The metal sticker on the outside says 400V. When I had a better balance config, the input voltage was around 390V +/-3-5 volts; but the amp failed quicker in idle.
    If it's not that finicky, then I would assume (ya, never assume anything) that it's likely the servo amplifier. Anyone have any experience on this: top board? base board? failing Q1 transistor?

    I would love to drop the power down 5%, but I'm at the limits of the autotransformer (has 230V input, but the RPC output is in the 240+V range).

    I know this might be a special, issue; maybe someone's experienced this before. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    4648

    Re: Emco 320: Supply Power or Servo Amp issue?

    Based on your very good description of the problem, I would say that the drive is very sensitive to over voltage.

    The easiest way to correct this is to add a buck transformer to the 240 V line on the input to the RPC. Drop the incoming voltage to 220V or so.

    Interestingly, I did not experience this problem on my OT equipped lathe (1989 vintage) and the input voltage was 245 - 250 on the input line at the time, the power company has since corrected this. I don't remember what drives were in the machine. All 3 legs of my RPC output were generally within 1 volt of each other, under load, and pretty much mirrored the line input voltage.

    Another way to fix this is to do what I did and rip out everything that said Fanuc on it (except the spindle motor) and replace it with modern hardware. I have a low tolerance for antique controls.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    6

    Re: Emco 320: Supply Power or Servo Amp issue?

    Update: We haven't run it very much to ensure it's 'fixed' (other priorities), but I switched the 3-phase legs around to see if the higher voltage leg might work better on another phase, and lo and behold it seems to have! We have run it for a 2-3 hours straight without it failing. TBD...

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    6

    Re: Emco 320: Supply Power or Servo Amp issue?

    ...Which brings up another question: Do the servo drives (control circuitry, at least) use a single phase? This was my hypothesis and maybe this explains it? I thought the x/y/z servos were still 3 phase but maybe the driver is not? I just don't have that much experience with them. Thanks.

  5. #5
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    4648

    Re: Emco 320: Supply Power or Servo Amp issue?

    Yes, the control side is single phase.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

Similar Threads

  1. New Power supply & Tube now with an issue
    By ozighozt in forum General Laser Engraving / Cutting Machine Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-06-2017, 11:47 AM
  2. power supply issue
    By ss126 in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-07-2017, 05:19 PM
  3. Power Supply issue/question
    By shorton in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-17-2013, 12:02 AM
  4. Power Supply issue
    By ALTAF JANGDA in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-10-2011, 07:46 AM
  5. EMCO Compact 5 Power Supply
    By G8AFC in forum EMCO Lathe
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-28-2011, 03:20 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •