528,041 active members*
3,417 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Fanuc > fanuc no diameter offset in tool table
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    186

    fanuc no diameter offset in tool table

    hi Im working on stama robodrill and there is no diameter table, only tool length table which we use both for lenghts (H) and diameters (D).
    diameter values are entered after H20 so for tool 1 you'd get
    T1 H1 D21
    for tool 12 youd get
    T12 H12 D32

    etc.
    is there a way to make it to work with T1 H1 D1?

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1770

    Re: fanuc no diameter offset in tool table

    Fanuc controls have introduced three, progressively more advanced, types of memory to store tool length and tool radius offset values on a milling machine. These are known as Memory Type A, Memory Type B and Memory Type C. Type C is the latest and the most convenient to use, It uses each row in the offset table for storing both L and D, which you desire. If it is not available on your machine, you cannot use it.
    I am not sure but there is a possibility that even if type C is available on a machine, one may choose to use type A or B through a parameter. Please check your parameter manual.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    186

    Re: fanuc no diameter offset in tool table

    Finally I've learned about this, I've managed to convert it to "C" type in memory (parameter 5001) and now I see "D" in my running programs:

    But still no Diameter in table, only Length:


    I've tried it both on machines with PMC type RB3/SB3 and Fanuc 16-M control
    and machines with PMC type RB6 and Fanuc 16i-M control.

  4. #4

    Re: fanuc no diameter offset in tool table

    You have not converted your control to C type. You've only changed the original A type to accept D instead of H. They both do the same thing. Unless you have a large tool carousel, the system you have works fine and many have used it successfully for years as is. It just takes a little more thought and diligence. BTW - D does not stand for Diameter. It is a logic address using letter D in the control. Typically you set a radius when using D/H and Cutter Compensation. (G41/G42/G40)

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    186
    Quote Originally Posted by the_gentlegiant View Post
    You have not converted your control to C type. You've only changed the original A type to accept D instead of H. They both do the same thing. Unless you have a large tool carousel, the system you have works fine and many have used it successfully for years as is. It just takes a little more thought and diligence. BTW - D does not stand for Diameter. It is a logic address using letter D in the control. Typically you set a radius when using D/H and Cutter Compensation. (G41/G42/G40)
    But my control accepted D even before this change.

  6. #6

    Re: fanuc no diameter offset in tool table

    Hmmm.. interesting. Still you're not showing an Offset Type C screen. There would be 4 columns per tool. Offset Type C would be a 900 or 9000 series option that you'd have to pay Fanuc for.

    I believe you've likely changed a parameter that does nothing because the option it effects is not available. Even though it did add a "D" to your Check Screen.

Similar Threads

  1. Macro for tool diameter offset
    By allenp in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10-10-2018, 06:38 PM
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-17-2015, 04:14 AM
  3. Fanuc 6m diameter and tool lenght
    By heavydiver in forum General Off Topic Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-05-2015, 11:22 PM
  4. Changing tool diameter in the tool offset screen
    By Vern Smith in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 09-24-2008, 03:54 PM
  5. Hi all, Tool diameter offset question.
    By chad123 in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-14-2008, 08:02 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •