600,789 active members*
4,264 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Fanuc > Fanuc OM tool macros, please explain
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    0

    Fanuc OM tool macros, please explain

    I have a Kiwa Excel 510 that I recently purchased, that I am trying to learn how to use. I have done a lot of CNC milling previously with an old Morbidelli wood mill (in aluminium) which had a control system not really using G-code, so I am slowly learning more about this.

    The controller is a Fanuc OM and I have been trying to figure out some things regarding the macros, mainly for the tool changer. I do understand some of it, but not all.

    Mainly I am trying to figure out if there is actually a possibility to use wear compensation, maybe it already does? This is the tool macro being called when I do for example T04 ;

    PROGRAM
    09000 ;
    N10 G91 G30 Z0 M19 ; --- Orients the spindle
    N20 M6 T#149 ; --- Do a M6 with tool in variable #149 (04 in our example)
    N30 G65 H2 P#148 Q#149 R16 ; --- What does this do?
    N40 G65 H2 P#147 Q2000 R#149 ; --- What does this do?
    N50 G49 ; --- Cancel tool offset
    N55 G91 G00 G43 Z-#9147 H#149 ; --- incremental, rapid move, tool compensation on, What do I have in #9147?, tool length offset for tool 04 in our example
    N70 G90 ; ---- Switch to absolute mode
    N75 G65 H2 P#146 Q2000 R#148 ; --- What does this do?
    N80 G10 L91 R#9146 ; --- What does this do?
    N90 M99 ;

    It also has this macro, but I believe from the paramenters that this is not used,

    PROGRAM
    09003 ;
    N10 G91 G30 Z0 ; --- Orient spindle
    N20 G65 H01 P#100 Q10170 ;--- What does this do?
    N30 T#9100 M06 ; --- How do I know what is in #9100?
    N40 M99 ;
    %

    I guess maybe I need to use G41/G42 in the post processor, but how would I load the radius and from what table? I have a 16 position tool changer in my machine, could I just do a H1 for example and D17 and add the radius in offset no 17? So that offset no 1 would be tool length offset and no 17 would be radius?

    Hope somebody could enlighten me on this.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3185

    Re: Fanuc OM tool macros, please explain

    If you are wanting to apply tool radius comp during toolchange .... in one word... DON'T

    Using comp is best done when you wish to be able to control size ie a bore, or a contour.
    You do NOT use comp when facing stock, clearing pockets, or doing operations where size is not yet an issue
    Using comp when moving between one feature to another is very problematic ie rapiding between bore centres, you will not go to the bore centres.

    G65 is calling a routine and uses the HPQR values inside that routine.

    Line N55... this is a forced Z move taking up tool length compensation offset the same as the tool #... hope you set tools correctly before you call them into the spindle.
    Line N80 is calling or setting a parameter, or offset value

    Generally, the tool lenght offset number should be the same as tool number.... but your machine may not have H & D offset fields but may have G & W fields. Geometry & Wear are added together to give total offset ..... so.... you have to use a different field to hold the Dia/Rad offset. I suggest a number greater than your tool caurosel pockets( say 20 pockets) I myself used +30 as the number... so T1 uses H1 and D31 fields.
    You need to setup your procedure, and follow it

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    398

    Re: Fanuc OM tool macros, please explain

    Hi,
    I want you give a good advice, now these O9000 are visable/editable please save them, DON'T change them.
    Normally they are NOT visable and that's for a reason, doesn't matter what they do, sometimes made by a previous owner or used by some Cycles.
    Check parameter 0220 to 0229 for special G-code call, old FANUCs have G13 (G13 I - D - F ) for finishing or chamfering round pockets, circular motion, if you have it you can use D17 and up.
    And yes, you can use D17 plus for G41/G42, it's your (calculated) Radius Compensation after Tool 16, Macro A, ..... Macro B and C have the Geo and Wear table.
    Better set parameter 010 #4 back to 0 and hide those O9000-O9999 progams, check your Parameter Manual for these parameters.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    0

    Re: Fanuc OM tool macros, please explain

    No, not during the tool change.

    It seems like my machine is setup so that its +16, so variable 1-16 is the tool length offset and then 17-33 is the diameter of the tool. With wear comp I really just mean adjusting the D-field for fine adjustments when milling pockets etc.

    Thanks for the explanation, will read about more about it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    0

    Re: Fanuc OM tool macros, please explain

    Quote Originally Posted by Heavy_Metal View Post
    Hi,
    I want you give a good advice, now these O9000 are visable/editable please save them, DON'T change them.
    Normally they are NOT visable and that's for a reason, doesn't matter what they do, sometimes made by a previous owner or used by some Cycles.
    Check parameter 0220 to 0229 for special G-code call, old FANUCs have G13 (G13 I - D - F ) for finishing or chamfering round pockets, circular motion, if you have it you can use D17 and up.
    And yes, you can use D17 plus for G41/G42, it's your (calculated) Radius Compensation after Tool 16, Macro A, ..... Macro B and C have the Geo and Wear table.
    Better set parameter 010 #4 back to 0 and hide those O9000-O9999 progams, check your Parameter Manual for these parameters.
    Hi,

    Yes I have already hidden them again. I had issues with the tool changing so that is why I was checking that there was actually something in those macros. It ended up being that the phase order of the input supply for the machine was wrong. When I changed that then it worked fine.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2024
    Posts
    0
    realise that from the tool 1 to tool 2 manual by hand the A show on the pos 0.800 . When i press the atc to go from one to the second tool the A on the pos show me 0.534 aproximatly.
    How to solve this?
    Thanks

Similar Threads

  1. OKK MCV 410 Fanuc 11 tool change macros (Program O9001and )
    By zvizdic in forum Auto Tool Changer
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-20-2017, 11:04 PM
  2. Machine Tool Builder Macros??????????
    By Rhemenwa in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-16-2012, 05:23 PM
  3. Tool Life management with Macros
    By abrohit in forum Coding
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-29-2011, 12:53 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •