525,379 active members*
2,677 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Hardinge Lathes > feed rate parameters hardinge conquest 42 OTC
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    10

    feed rate parameters hardinge conquest 42 OTC

    Howdy all,

    I have a feed rate problem that is driving me bonkers. I just powered up and new to me an early 90's model conquest 42 with an OTC control ten station turret with live tooling and subspindle. the machine runs fine except for running the correct feed rate. With the following prep codes G20 G99 G01 mode at 1500rpm with a programed feed rate of 0.004" it moves like I'm feeding 4 microns/rev verses 0.004"/rev. Is there a scaling factor or a Hardinge logic safety that could be causing my problem? When I get to a threading cygle she just stops all together but doesn't alarm out.

    I don't know if its a parameter issue or a safety interlock or just a gremlin...

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    this is the code that im running. I run this code on another OTB and another OTC control with no issues.


    G20
    (TOOL - 2 OFFSET - 2)
    (OD 55 DEG RIGHT INSERT - DNMG-432)
    G0 T0202
    M8
    G97 S1500 M03
    G41 G0 X1.1327 Z-.0845
    G50 S1500
    G96 S450
    G99 G1 X1.1144 F.004


    (TOOL - 8 OFFSET - 8)
    (ID THREAD INSERT - NONE)
    G0 T0808
    M8
    G97 S800 M03
    G0 G41 X.6247 Z.4723
    G76 P030029 Q0 R0
    G76 X.8356 Z-.6593 P571 Q142 R.0283 F.07143
    M9
    G28 U0. W0. M05

  2. #2
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    4378

    Re: feed rate parameters hardinge conquest 42 OTC

    Maybe multiply 0.004 by 25.4?
    I went through my book and could not see a reason your code wouldn't work. Do the jog functions act normal? I don't see any way that it could lock into metric mode unless a parameter is set wrong.

    EDIT: Take a look at parameter 910, bit 7. I think this should be set to 1 This should be thread cutting and synchronous feed option
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  3. #3
    Flies Fast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2787

    Re: feed rate parameters hardinge conquest 42 OTC

    Try & get coding right before diagnosing machine problems...
    G41 / G42 usually forces an additional linear move, depending on which direction the approach is from .... why are they there mixed with a G0 ?
    ....especially when threading...not required... only required when.doing tapers and rads...
    G41 for bores on rear turret & main spindle.
    G42 for OD turning on rear turret & main spindle.

    Only use them IF necessary.... they create the most probs...ever

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    461
    Check on the 1st page of your parameters
    The machine should be in inches
    Is the machine as standard Fanuc A or has it been changed to B

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    10

    Re: feed rate parameters hardinge conquest 42 OTC

    Jim, i think the correct parameter for canned threading is 901-7. i do have that one. I did notice later last night that the actual spindle speed wasn't displaying correctly. When 1500 rpm was programed the rpm only displayed 0-3 flickering. could this be a drive parameter issue?

    Thanks,
    Micheal

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    10

    Re: feed rate parameters hardinge conquest 42 OTC

    Superman,
    Thanks for the info. I will try it out.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    10

    Re: feed rate parameters hardinge conquest 42 OTC

    mbservice,
    I'm not completely sure I understand the "standard Fanuc A or B"

    On the first page that allows me to setup which increments to use metric or inches I have inches selected.

    What I may do to eliminate that variable is to set it to metric and repost program in metric to see if the problem persists. thinking about it now I believe i have a spindle drive/parameter issue or a spindle encoder issue.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    10

    Re: feed rate parameters hardinge conquest 42 OTC

    Well after digging in a little deeper both Fanuc and Hardinge tell me its an encoder issue. I have one headed my way now. I will post if this fixes the problem.

    Thanks,
    Micheal

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    22

    Re: feed rate parameters hardinge conquest 42 OTC

    MVIL, did the encoder fix your problem?
    I am having an issue with my Conquest 42 with OT control. Always threaded beautifully with two line G76. Now it's cutting weird. Seems to be taking more off the trailing edge, the bottom doesn't look right and there's a burr on the minor diameter. At first I thought I was using a external insert, but no, got in some internals and same thing.
    I also checked 910, reads 11010000.

Similar Threads

  1. Hardinge Conquest 42 parameters and diagnostic needed!!!
    By Fabri_Ture in forum Hardinge Lathes
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 05-28-2020, 09:57 PM
  2. Hardinge conquest SP parameters lost!
    By justinzwier in forum Hardinge Lathes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-02-2018, 07:30 PM
  3. Mazak M plus feed rate parameters
    By valleyduramax in forum Mazak, Mitsubishi, Mazatrol
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-09-2017, 08:58 PM
  4. Hardinge Conquest T 42 FANUC 0T optional parameters
    By bobancurug in forum Hardinge Lathes
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-20-2015, 04:17 AM
  5. Hardinge Conquest T-51's Parameters required
    By Manpreet Singh in forum Hardinge Lathes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-08-2012, 08:20 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •