540,709 active members*
7,415 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    4

    Fixture offsets ......

    Hi All,

    Could someone post a step by step procedure for setting more than one fixture offset. After picking up one part in a vise and setting zero ( G54 ), what do I do for setting G55 on the next part. Not seeing the necessary steps.

    Thanks in advance !
    Brian

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    895

    Re: Fixture offsets ......

    ...one way to do it is using G10L2P Command
    G Codes

    DJ

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    555

    Re: Fixture offsets ......

    The absolutely simplest way:

    First:
    Code:
    G54
    Move and reference zero for part 1.

    Then:
    Code:
    G55
    Move and reference other zero.

    You could then copy-and-paste the inner part of the program (if the part is the same,) or the second half of the program (if you're doing top/bottom,) making it go to G54 the first time (simply by running G54) and the go to G55 the second time (by running G55.)
    Beware that the "safe line" in the program code you copy may include G54, which you'll have to remove or change go G55 as appropriate.

    Then your program will look like:

    Code:
    G54
    (youre now back in the G54 coordinate space)
    G0 X0 Y0 Z4
    (goes back to starting position in G54)
    
    (then your part code goes here)
    
    G55
    (youre now in the G55 space)
    G0 X0 Y0 Z4
    (goes to starting position in G55)
    
    (then your other part code goes here)

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    998

    Re: Fixture offsets ......

    The easy way is to call G54 then find the point of origin for the part (X0Y0). NOW move to the point of origin of the second part . Look at the X/Y dros that is the fixture offset values . Go to the setting/work offset page and type in the X Y values in the G55 line.

    To test if you got it right. G54 X0Y0 should take you to the first part point of origin . Then G55 X0Y0 will take you to the second part point of origin.

    (;-) TP

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    4

    Re: Fixture offsets ......

    Got it ! Thanks to you both ! Missing the MDI part and understand the second method,too.

    Brian

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-24-2014, 04:17 PM
  2. Fixture Offsets
    By ShovelheadMark in forum Fadal
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-12-2014, 09:14 PM
  3. FIXTURE OFFSETS
    By 1234567 in forum Cincinnati CNC
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-18-2011, 04:15 PM
  4. Z Fixture offsets
    By gbpacker in forum Fadal
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-02-2009, 09:41 PM
  5. FIXTURE OFFSETS
    By BAD DOG in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 05-02-2008, 12:23 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •