504,350 active members
3,778 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Autodesk CAM > Fusion 360 Cam seems to make me use smaller bits then I would think
Page 1 of 3 123
Results 1 to 12 of 36
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    177

    Fusion 360 Cam seems to make me use smaller bits then I would think

    Ok I am doing a part and have generated the CAM but I am confused. I am milling a T shape. The long part of the T is .13 wide. so I figured a 1/8" endmill would work. Fusion fails to generate a toolpath. I get a big Yellow triangle but no reason why. If I go down to a 2.5MM endmill it will work. I have the tool plunging and not helix. I have messed around with the ramping and still no luck. So maybe some of you experts can explain to why? I was trying to mill a slot but using 2d Adaptive. The slot was .043 and I had to go to a 1/32 " endmil to get the path to generate. Then I tried the slot function and was able to go to .042 and get a toolpath. Just trying to understand this..

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    81

    Fusion 360 Cam seems to make me use smaller bits then I would think

    Are you using a lead-in and lead-out? Is the specified distance too long?
    How about material left for finish pass? If too much is left might cause problems

    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    177

    Re: Fusion 360 Cam seems to make me use smaller bits then I would think

    Quote Originally Posted by ripperj View Post
    Are you using a lead-in and lead-out? Is the specified distance too long?
    How about material left for finish pass? If too much is left might cause problems

    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    I will check.. I know I have made materials to leave 0.
    So lead in lead out is what exactly. Trying to understand what the setting means.
    Thanks

    Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    81

    Re: Fusion 360 Cam seems to make me use smaller bits then I would think

    Lead-in is a setting that makes a gradual “ramp” to the actual tool path. When the tool path is complete , lead-out is a gradual move away from the cut. There are horizontal and vertical check boxes. Lead-in/out helps with a better finish
    These settings are turned on/off with check boxes in the last tab in the CAM work space. There is a place to enter a distance for the lead-in(or out)




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    177

    Re: Fusion 360 Cam seems to make me use smaller bits then I would think

    Quote Originally Posted by ripperj View Post
    Lead-in is a setting that makes a gradual “ramp” to the actual tool path. When the tool path is complete , lead-out is a gradual move away from the cut. There are horizontal and vertical check boxes. Lead-in/out helps with a better finish
    These settings are turned on/off with check boxes in the last tab in the CAM work space. There is a place to enter a distance for the lead-in(or out)




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    So is that all they really do is help the finish? Right now if I get the part to cut I am thrilled..lol

    Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    81

    Re: Fusion 360 Cam seems to make me use smaller bits then I would think

    The lead-in/out just keeps the endmill from leaving a vertical mark if you were to retract the cutter vertically from the finish pass, or plunge in from the beginning
    Can you post screen shots of your CAM set-up (all tabs)
    What’s the machine and material?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    177

    Re: Fusion 360 Cam seems to make me use smaller bits then I would think

    Quote Originally Posted by ripperj View Post
    The lead-in/out just keeps the endmill from leaving a vertical mark if you were to retract the cutter vertically from the finish pass, or plunge in from the beginning
    Can you post screen shots of your CAM set-up (all tabs)
    What’s the machine and material?




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

    I am using an X2 harbor freight mill that I converted to CNC. Using MACH3 and cutting 01 tool steel.
    Thanks

    The Slot in the T is what seems to make me use the smaller bit. If I go about 1/8" the CAM will not make a tool path in the slot.








  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    81

    Fusion 360 Cam seems to make me use smaller bits then I would think

    I’m on my phone, so it’s hard to see, but your leadin looks like .009”?
    .125” endmill plus the .009” lead in is bigger than your slot .130”?? So I see why no valid tool path would generate., just uncheck both the lead-in and lead out boxes and see if a tool path generates.
    I would un-check the “stock to leave” box even though you have 0” in the box too.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    177

    Re: Fusion 360 Cam seems to make me use smaller bits then I would think

    Quote Originally Posted by ripperj View Post
    I’m on my phone, so it’s hard to see, but your leadin looks like .009”?
    .125” endmill plus the .009” lead in is bigger than your slot .130”?? So I see why no valid tool path would generate., just uncheck both the lead-in and lead out boxes and see if a tool path generates.
    I would un-check the “stock to leave” box even though you have 0” in the box too.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    So does the lead in get added to endmill side?

    Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    81

    Re: Fusion 360 Cam seems to make me use smaller bits then I would think

    I guess it depends on where your cut starts, if you start the cut in the narrow part, the .009” is a short travel path 90 degrees to the narrow wall.
    You should be able to hover your mouse over the lead-in box and a picture should pop up showing how it works


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    81

    Re: Fusion 360 Cam seems to make me use smaller bits then I would think

    Also check your endmill diameter and make sure you didn’t edit it to be bigger. You can have the name be 1/8” endmill, but edit the diameter to be bigger


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    177

    Re: Fusion 360 Cam seems to make me use smaller bits then I would think

    Quote Originally Posted by ripperj View Post
    Also check your endmill diameter and make sure you didn’t edit it to be bigger. You can have the name be 1/8” endmill, but edit the diameter to be bigger


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

    Yes The toolpath seemed to work better when i took that out. So how do you guys use the lead in and out if you have to cut with smaller tools is that not an issue.
    Thanks BTW

Page 1 of 3 123

Similar Threads

  1. Help me make a clone of my Fusion 640M Hard Drive
    By camarogod98 in forum Mazak, Mitsubishi, Mazatrol
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-14-2018, 07:55 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-31-2014, 06:38 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-31-2014, 02:19 AM
  4. how to make the drawing smaller
    By cob in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-20-2008, 04:36 AM
  5. You CAN make holes smaller...
    By InspirationTool in forum General Metalwork Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-22-2005, 04:02 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •