535,633 active members*
2,306 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Autodesk CAM > Fusion 360 CAM: why doesn`t 4mm cutter fit inside 4mm slot?
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    1

    Fusion 360 CAM: why doesn`t 4mm cutter fit inside 4mm slot?

    Hi,

    Fusion 360 seems to require the cutter to be slightly smaller in diameter than the width of the slot. To overcome I have sometimes made the slot slightly wider or the cutter slightly narrower, by 0,01mm. Then it works. Is there any other possibility to overcome this problem?

  2. #2
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35291

    Re: Fusion 360 CAM: why doesn`t 4mm cutter fit inside 4mm slot?

    Sketch some lines for the center of your slots, and use the lines for the toolpaths.

    Most CAM software won't allow a slot the same with as the tool. Always model the slots slightly larger.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    584

    Re: Fusion 360 CAM: why doesn`t 4mm cutter fit inside 4mm slot?

    Double check there is no "stock" offset. Everytime I run toolpaths they default the "leave stock" option for some reason. Other work around is as GER21 says. Draw a slot sketch and drive off the stock. Mathematically there are always tolerances in software that can lead to small issues like this.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    171

    Re: Fusion 360 CAM: why doesn`t 4mm cutter fit inside 4mm slot?

    One other way to do it is to draw a line for the center of your stock in a sketch, and then use the "Trace" strategy to drive the endmill dead-center along your line. (this may actually be what ger21 is referring to above)

    PM


    Additional.... just made a quick test file. I was unable to cut the slot using the slotting strategy, even when following a sketch line.

    I did, however have prefect results using the Trace strategy. (note that the sketch entity needs to be drawn at the bottom of the slot).

    Here you go.... sample file: -----> https://www.dropbox.com/s/2pddbeoc26..._slot.f3d?dl=0


    PM

  5. #5
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1856

    Re: Fusion 360 CAM: why doesn`t 4mm cutter fit inside 4mm slot?

    you can always say it's a 3.99999mm endmill
    http://danielscnc.webs.com/

    being disabled is not a hindrance it gives you attitude
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    249

    Re: Fusion 360 CAM: why doesn`t 4mm cutter fit inside 4mm slot?

    Quote Originally Posted by daniellyall View Post
    you can always say it's a 3.99999mm endmill
    Exactly !!! No redrawing necessary.
    i build the braces that keep american teeth straight......tick tick tick

  7. #7
    *Registered User*
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    10

    Re: Fusion 360 CAM: why doesn`t 4mm cutter fit inside 4mm slot?

    The reason is lead in and lead out. If your drilling a hole, use the bore operation.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    1422

    Re: Fusion 360 CAM: why doesn`t 4mm cutter fit inside 4mm slot?

    Stock left (so you can repeat the operation as a finishing cut easily) will do this, as will the lead-in/lead-out, as will too wide a helix radius if you're ramping in for HSM operations.

  9. #9

    Re: Fusion 360 CAM: why doesn`t 4mm cutter fit inside 4mm slot?

    Hello, i had the same issue. I fixed it to an unlimmited minium by setting the tolerance in nthe toolpath lower than the additional diameter/distance in the slot/hole.
    You can set the tolerance in the toolpath-settings under "passes".
    hope it helps
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Bildschirmfoto 2021-01-05 um 13.22.59.jpg  

Similar Threads

  1. My chinese laser cutter won't work at all, software doesn't see the cutter
    By Sasa1234 in forum General Laser Engraving / Cutting Machine Discussion
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-01-2019, 04:09 AM
  2. PathPilot Preview Doesn't Match Fusion 360 Simulation
    By Spiffy Lab in forum Tormach PathPilot™
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-09-2016, 09:15 PM
  3. T SLOT MILLING CUTTER PACKAGE 5 (ON WALTER CNC CUTTER GRINDER)
    By dharschman in forum Toolgrinding / Toolgrinding Machines
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-13-2010, 06:25 PM
  4. cutting a slot with a t-slot cutter
    By cncuser1 in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-10-2008, 03:02 AM
  5. How do I use a dove tool cutter & slot cutter
    By bobby1 in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-16-2008, 02:06 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •