521,872 active members*
2,212 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > OpenSource CNC Design Center > OpenSource Software > G-Code Ripper Won't run in Windows XP
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    5

    G-Code Ripper Won't run in Windows XP

    Hi,

    I have use G-Code Ripper in Windows 10, but I can't get it to run in Windows XP.

    My CNC is using Mach3 breakout board with a parallel port. I would like to use Ripper on my Windows XP computer, but it won't launch. Keep getting the following message..

    This application has failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect. Restarting the application may fix this problem.

    Restarting does not help.

    My PC is running Windows XP SP-3. Trying to run G-Code Ripper version 17.

    Any suggestions how to correct this problem?

  2. #2
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    4263

    Re: G-Code Ripper Won't run in Windows XP

    Maybe try installing Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable Package (x86)

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/down...ils.aspx?id=29
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  3. #3
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    34946

    Re: G-Code Ripper Won't run in Windows XP

    Upgrade to a new OS.
    You can't expect new software to run on a 15+ year old OS.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    5

    Re: G-Code Ripper Won't run in Windows XP

    I needed a parallel port and the only PC I had with the port had WinXP. Not sure if it would run Windows 7 or 10.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    5

    Re: G-Code Ripper Won't run in Windows XP

    This YouTube video shows this guy is running GCode Ripper on Windows XP Professional.

    Does anyone here know what the minimum system requirements are to run GCode Ripper?

    I have a old PC with a parallel port that has WinXP. Mach3 runs fine on this OS, but not Ripper.

    Any help is appreciated.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    220
    G-Code Ripper will run on Windows XP.

    Did you install Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable Package (x86) as Jim Dawson suggested?
    Scorch
    www.scorchworks.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •