584,833 active members*
5,491 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Taig Mills / Lathes > Help attaching Lathe Chuck to my Mill Spindle (TAIG)

Help attaching Lathe Chuck to my Mill Spindle (TAIG)

I'm new to machining and just saved enough for the TAIG 5019 CNC Micro Mill (With Ballscrews).

The parts I am buying the machine to make need some turning and some milling so I am going to attempt to mill turn with my TAIG mill.

I haven't seen much online about this but am I able to attach a lathe chuck directly to my Mill Spindle? The parts I need to turn are 80MM in diameter/ Hard wood. Also some smaller pieces of SS.

Here is the chuck I found that seems like this might work with.

https://www.sherline.com/product/3-1...t-chuck-er-16/

Will this work or do I need some kind of adapter?

Thank you guys so much for any and all help.

Myles

Re: Help attaching Lathe Chuck to my Mill Spindle (TAIG)

The lathe chucks aren't compatible with the new ER spindles used on the mills. The threads are different, and an adapter would have to be custom-made; it's not a standard part. If you really want to do this, you'd be better off getting one of the old-style headstocks, with the 3/4" - 16 thread, which are still used for the lathes https://taigtools.com/product/100-00...3-4-16-thread/. But these don't take ER collets, which are superior to the old-style proprietary collets that fit the lathe headstock.