589,390 active members*
7,564 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Fanuc > Help with some Gcode on fanuc Om ...Please :)
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    152

    Help with some Gcode on fanuc Om ...Please :)

    Hi All,
    need some help
    Just trying to work out how program some Gcode on my fanuc OM VMC with a high speed spindle that attaches to the BT40 tool holder and powered independently.
    Basically i don't want the main spindle to start for obvious reasons.

    I have tried inserting S0 M3 abd doesnt like that. The code stops at that line.
    I have also tried taking that code out and it didnt like that either ...

    Any other ways to do this ?????

    Heres a sample code im using ......


    Thanks in advanced

    %
    :1248
    N20G91G28Z0
    N30G40G17G80G49
    N40T24
    N50G90G54
    N60G43Z20.000H24
    N70G0X0.000Y0.000S0M3
    N80G0X-0.009Y-0.103Z6.000
    N90G1Z-0.010F110.0
    N100G1Y49.897F900.0
    N110X80.871
    N120Y-0.103
    N130X-0.009
    N140G0Z6.000
    N150G28G91Z0
    N160G49H0

    N180M30
    %

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    145

    Re: Help with some Gcode on fanuc Om ...Please :)

    Here´s a response in the German forum:

    https://de.industryarena.com/fanuc/f...m--100744.html

    Translated by deepl.com:

    Hello Jubee,

    not quite sure if I have understood your problem.
    Would suggest:
    Either work with spindle orientation M19 or activate spindle clamping. I think ours was M86 and M87.

    Hope that helps.
    MfG
    unaware
    Community Manager <a href="https://de.industryarena.com/" target="_blank">https://de.industryarena.com/</a>

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3148

    Re: Help with some Gcode on fanuc Om ...Please :)

    What happens if you omit the S0 M3 from the program ?

    Or
    Use M5 or M19 instead of M3

    Note... you should be using feed per minute (G94), not feed per rev (G95)

    An observation of tour code....line 30 should include G90 and G94, as these are usually the default codes for each group

    And a general practice of "if you switch sometime away from default, make sure it gets turned back ASAP", I'm talking about your use of G91 (incremental), N155 G90 is a suggested, as the machine is left in absolute

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    152

    Re: Help with some Gcode on fanuc Om ...Please :)

    Thanks guys for your replies, Will do some more testing today and post later of my findings.
    I really appreciate having a look at the code as well, I need all the help i can get . Thank you

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    152

    Re: Help with some Gcode on fanuc Om ...Please :)

    Hi Burs, thanks for that.

    It doesn't need to lock just needs to not turn. So no spindle rpm at all.
    The code I've tried ie leaving out the M03 and S , doesn't seem work. But will try a few more things today.
    Thanks for your input though

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    152

    Re: Help with some Gcode on fanuc Om ...Please :)

    More testing today , and i couldnt get it to work .....
    Works up until the command to move the x and y axis. Then nothing.

    I have read from another website that i may have to enable one of the Parameters?

    Does anyone know how to change Fanuc parameter 24.2 = 1
    From what i have read that this will stop the controller looking for spindle speed prior to x and y axis moving.

    Any thoughts ????
    anyone

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    152

    Re: Help with some Gcode on fanuc Om ...Please :)

    From the parameters manual it looks like Parameter #24 bit 2 =1 is checking the spindle speed is reached.

    Will try changing this tomorrow and see what happens

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    152

    Re: Help with some Gcode on fanuc Om ...Please :)

    Well it worked., those of you following
    Changed Parameter 24, BIT 2 to a 0 and all is good the machine doesn't look at the spindle status before it executes the X and Y moves.
    Happy days.

    This is what the high speed spindle looks like ......45000 RPM 220 volt Click image for larger version. 

Name:	HSS.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	78.9 KB 
ID:	506770

Similar Threads

  1. Dxf to Fan conversion or gcode laser GE Fanuc 0mc controller.
    By LASERMAN47150 in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-14-2024, 03:16 PM
  2. Fanuc 0M Gcode file size?
    By NitroCH3NO2 in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 78
    Last Post: 08-30-2020, 07:42 PM
  3. newbie Q regarding fanuc 0T lathe Gcode
    By cnc1921 in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-10-2017, 04:23 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-22-2010, 07:57 AM
  5. FANUC GCode from SolidCAM
    By Jixxer in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-04-2009, 07:52 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •