547,444 active members*
1,698 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Servo Motors / Drives > how to run Yaskawa 3 phase 200V servo using 1 phase 200V?
Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    125

    how to run Yaskawa 3 phase 200V servo using 1 phase 200V?

    as above,
    am i able to use a external capacitor and leg it up to the 3rd power input L3?

    Thanks

  2. #2

    Re: how to run Yaskawa 3 phase 200V servo using 1 phase 200V?

    What is the specific model number you are looking at? SOME of the servos they make can be ran with 1ph power.

    Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    125
    Mine was a SGDM 08ADA 200v

    Quote Originally Posted by jittechnologies View Post
    What is the specific model number you are looking at? SOME of the servos they make can be ran with 1ph power.

    Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

  4. #4

    Re: how to run Yaskawa 3 phase 200V servo using 1 phase 200V?

    Quote Originally Posted by Syphonics View Post
    Mine was a SGDM 08ADA 200v
    I'll have to look more deeply tomorrow. The only links I can find on this model looks like a scam site...yaskaaw? Nope... not gonna bite! Lol

    Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

  5. #5

    Re: how to run Yaskawa 3 phase 200V servo using 1 phase 200V?

    Quote Originally Posted by Syphonics View Post
    Mine was a SGDM 08ADA 200v
    From what I see, you SHOULD be able to run it single phase. You MIGHT have to derate the drive. Looks like a 750w drive, 200v 1/3 ph. Do you have a drive you can hook up on a bench? This is to make sure it's not going to give you a fault for a missing phase.

    Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

  6. #6

    Re: how to run Yaskawa 3 phase 200V servo using 1 phase 200V?

    Quote Originally Posted by Syphonics View Post
    Mine was a SGDM 08ADA 200v
    This is what I found...https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/202...8b2c21b3c9.jpg

    Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

  7. #7

    Re: how to run Yaskawa 3 phase 200V servo using 1 phase 200V?

    Manual link...

    https://mobile.yaskawa.com/downloads...=SIEPS80000015

    Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    125

    Re: how to run Yaskawa 3 phase 200V servo using 1 phase 200V?

    Quote Originally Posted by jittechnologies View Post
    From what I see, you SHOULD be able to run it single phase. You MIGHT have to derate the drive. Looks like a 750w drive, 200v 1/3 ph. Do you have a drive you can hook up on a bench? This is to make sure it's not going to give you a fault for a missing phase.

    Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
    Hi thanks for the fast response, after hooking up with a 1 phase 240v , I got an AF1 error, which refer to a missing phase.
    https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/202...7d0bca5e72.jpg


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    125

    Re: how to run Yaskawa 3 phase 200V servo using 1 phase 200V?

    How do I derate the driver to allow 1 phase usage?

    Thanks


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  10. #10

    Re: how to run Yaskawa 3 phase 200V servo using 1 phase 200V?

    On that drive, it is apparently not possible to run on single phase. The error is telling you there is a missing phase. The derating only applies if your drive will accept 1ph. If it WOULD accept 1ph, derating refers to using a 1kw drive on a 500-750w motor. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.

    Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    125

    Re: how to run Yaskawa 3 phase 200V servo using 1 phase 200V?

    Quote Originally Posted by jittechnologies View Post
    On that drive, it is apparently not possible to run on single phase. The error is telling you there is a missing phase. The derating only applies if your drive will accept 1ph. If it WOULD accept 1ph, derating refers to using a 1kw drive on a 500-750w motor. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.

    Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
    Thanks, for the advise.
    Is there anyway to run the drive ; using a external capacitor will it work; or VFD?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  12. #12

    Re: how to run Yaskawa 3 phase 200V servo using 1 phase 200V?

    What is your application?

    Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12802

    Re: how to run Yaskawa 3 phase 200V servo using 1 phase 200V?

    Quote Originally Posted by jittechnologies View Post
    On that drive, it is apparently not possible to run on single phase. The error is telling you there is a missing phase. The derating only applies if your drive will accept 1ph. If it WOULD accept 1ph, derating refers to using a 1kw drive on a 500-750w motor. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.

    Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
    Any Yaskawa 3Ph Drive can run on Single Phase you just have to wire it correct some of us are experienced some just pretend to know

    There would not be a Derating if the Servo Drive is larger than the Motor so a 1Kw would work well up to 750W motor no derating needed

    If the Drive has the same rating as the motor then you would have to derate it
    Mactec54

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    125

    Re: how to run Yaskawa 3 phase 200V servo using 1 phase 200V?

    Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    Any Yaskawa 3Ph Drive can run on Single Phase you just have to wire it correct some of us are experienced some just pretend to know

    There would not be a Derating if the Servo Drive is larger than the Motor so a 1Kw would work well up to 750W motor no derating needed

    If the Drive has the same rating as the motor then you would have to derate it

    I have heard of that, but currently i am not able to the ways to wire the driver to allow 1ph usage.
    My application is mainly for my automation system.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12802

    Re: how to run Yaskawa 3 phase 200V servo using 1 phase 200V?

    Quote Originally Posted by Syphonics View Post
    I have heard of that, but currently i am not able to the ways to wire the driver to allow 1ph usage.
    My application is mainly for my automation system.
    If you go to where your other post is you will find how to run it on Single Phase Post 31

    https://www.cnczone.com/forums/spind...-output-2.html
    Mactec54

  16. #16

    Re: how to run Yaskawa 3 phase 200V servo using 1 phase 200V?

    Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    If you go to where your other post is you will find how to run it on Single Phase Post 31

    https://www.cnczone.com/forums/spind...-output-2.html
    Yes, he can run it from an inverter, but I thought he was looking to run it straight off the line.

    Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12802

    Re: how to run Yaskawa 3 phase 200V servo using 1 phase 200V?

    Quote Originally Posted by jittechnologies View Post
    Yes, he can run it from an inverter, but I thought he was looking to run it straight off the line.

    Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
    He does not need an inverter and inverters are bad for Servo drives if will give them a much shorter life than normal
    Mactec54

  18. #18
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    332

    Re: how to run Yaskawa 3 phase 200V servo using 1 phase 200V?

    Quote Originally Posted by Syphonics View Post
    as above,
    am i able to use a external capacitor and leg it up to the 3rd power input L3?

    Thanks

    Hello Syphonics !!

    Try calling American Rotary.
    "American Rotary phase converters are perfectly suited for precision metalworking equipment such as wire EDM’s, CNC lathes, CNC mills, and other voltage-sensitive applications"



    https://www.americanrotary.com/application/machining/

    Hope this helps,

    Iron-Man
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails American Rotary Phase Converter 640x551.jpg  

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12802

    Re: how to run Yaskawa 3 phase 200V servo using 1 phase 200V?

    Quote Originally Posted by Iron-Man View Post
    Hello Syphonics !!

    Try calling American Rotary.
    "American Rotary phase converters are perfectly suited for precision metalworking equipment such as wire EDM’s, CNC lathes, CNC mills, and other voltage-sensitive applications"



    https://www.americanrotary.com/application/machining/

    Hope this helps,

    Iron-Man
    As I said he has it running on Single Phase there is no need for a RPC
    Mactec54

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 34
    Last Post: 08-17-2021, 07:16 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-24-2015, 07:04 PM
  3. 200v Three phase motor 4 poles
    By Dmed in forum Maintenance DIY Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-12-2011, 01:03 AM
  4. Connect 200V servo motor to 400V drive
    By interflexo in forum Servo Motors / Drives
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-15-2008, 07:34 PM
  5. Any controllers that can handle 140-200V servo motors out there?
    By mbwittig in forum General CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-28-2006, 08:14 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •