548,317 active members*
2,203 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    10

    How to test a vfd

    Can you tell me how to test a vfd? I have an exiting vfd that won't turn the spindle very fast. It's turning like 25 rpms. That's what it looks like. But I don't know if it's the spindle, vfd or the settings that has the problem. Please help......
    I have a 110v 2.2kw HY HUANYANG VFD and spindle. TIA

    Sent from my SM-G781U using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    13119

    Re: How to test a vfd

    Quote Originally Posted by jpmreno View Post
    Can you tell me how to test a vfd? I have an exiting vfd that won't turn the spindle very fast. It's turning like 25 rpms. That's what it looks like. But I don't know if it's the spindle, vfd or the settings that has the problem. Please help......
    I have a 110v 2.2kw HY HUANYANG VFD and spindle. TIA

    Sent from my SM-G781U using Tapatalk
    120v and 2.2Kw is a bad combination to start with, yes it will most likely be a programing problem, but if you have the VFD Drive connected to a 120v outlet then it will not be able to get enough Power / Current to run this 2.2Kw spindle motor

    So need to know what Parameters you have set, and how you are powering it with your 120v supply.
    Mactec54

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    10

    Re: How to test a vfd

    I've had it running by 110v for four years now. I just rebuilt my machine and had to change some settings on the vfd and it started doing this low rpm spinning. I was trying to get mach3 to turn on the spindle and operate the rpms. I should have left it alone. Is there a self diagnostic program I can run?

    - - - Updated - - -

    I've had it running by 110v for four years now. I just rebuilt my machine and had to change some settings on the vfd and it started doing this low rpm spinning. I was trying to get mach3 to turn on the spindle and operate the rpms. I should have left it alone. Is there a self diagnostic program I can run?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    13119

    Re: How to test a vfd

    Quote Originally Posted by jpmreno View Post
    I've had it running by 110v for four years now. I just rebuilt my machine and had to change some settings on the vfd and it started doing this low rpm spinning. I was trying to get mach3 to turn on the spindle and operate the rpms. I should have left it alone. Is there a self diagnostic program I can run?

    - - - Updated - - -

    I've had it running by 110v for four years now. I just rebuilt my machine and had to change some settings on the vfd and it started doing this low rpm spinning. I was trying to get mach3 to turn on the spindle and operate the rpms. I should have left it alone. Is there a self diagnostic program I can run?
    Where do you live that has 110v power supply ???

    No there is no self diagnostic program in these VFD Drives.

    What Parameters did you change ???

    I can give you the correct Parameters but need to know what you changed.

    Do you have a list of what Parameters are set ???
    Mactec54

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    10

    Re: How to test a vfd

    In the US hereare my pd settings.

    Sent from my SM-G781U using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    13119

    Re: How to test a vfd

    Quote Originally Posted by jpmreno View Post
    In the US hereare my pd settings.

    Sent from my SM-G781U using Tapatalk
    IN NA the Power supply is 120v / 240v not 110v / 220

    Can not read the Parameters can you make a PDF file of them, that should fix it.
    Mactec54

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-09-2019, 01:25 AM
  2. Milltronics VM-17 vfd spindle enable, spindle test.
    By plane captain in forum Milltronics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-10-2016, 04:36 PM
  3. test VFD output
    By Mikescnc in forum Gecko Drives
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-01-2015, 07:25 PM
  4. PMDX-107 to WJ200 VFD Cannot get test mode to work for settings.
    By Contract_Pilot in forum Spindles / VFD
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-21-2015, 06:49 AM
  5. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 09-15-2014, 02:09 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •