527,938 active members*
2,738 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1230

    How to touch off tools mid program?

    I'm new to PP but have it mostly figured out on the 24R router I just started using last week. Making great parts and very happy. Except with the tool touch off. I hope I'm just being dense and missing something obvious.

    Is there no way to JUMP to N3 or N5 form the main tab?

    Is there a way to have it touch off for me after I change the tool and it's already parked at G30/G37?

    On Haas I touch off everything before hand obviously, but can call a simple code to touch off the tool after/before an op and check it against the stored value and alarm. I don't need anything that fancy, but would like to touch off T2, T3, T4 without going through the insane process I am now:


    Touch off T1.
    Cycle start.
    G30
    Load tool 2
    (Can't touch off without stopping program)
    Stop program, Call T2, Touch off
    Right click 2nd op, start from here, Cycle start
    G30
    Stop....... uh...... it jumps back to T2 instead of staying at T3 so I have to scroll through tons of code, or click File, Edit, Control+F, T3, Up, Up Up, Control+Shift+Home, Shift+Down till I get to T1, Delete, Save, Reload, Main, Cycle start.

    WHAAAAT?! Is there an easier way I am just not finding it on the interwebs? I just want to touch off the tool and keep going. If I 'start from here' it jumps back when I stop at the next op so that only works every other tool then I have to delete a ton of lines.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1907

    Re: How to touch off tools mid program?

    I use an ets combined with the post provided for SprutCAM. It generates the g code for all the tool change and tool height setting using the ets. I load a program and set a tool that I can touch off with easy like 45 chamfer mill. I use offsets page to measure that tool with ets. then I move it to work piece and touch off z height with that tool and also set x,y 0. then I run program. It moves over ets and prompts for tool change. change tool hit run it measures tool. hit run again and it moves to work and starts. when finished it goes back to ets and prompts for next tool. repeat until done. Super simple for me. a copy of some g code example might explain it better. it is different then my mill.
    If you dont have ets then you are going to do a lot of start, stop I guess. PP does the run from here real well but not clear whats going on with your tool numbers.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1230
    Quote Originally Posted by mountaindew View Post
    I use an ets combined with the post provided for SprutCAM. It generates the g code for all the tool change and tool height setting using the ets. I load a program and set a tool that I can touch off with easy like 45 chamfer mill. I use offsets page to measure that tool with ets. then I move it to work piece and touch off z height with that tool and also set x,y 0. then I run program. It moves over ets and prompts for tool change. change tool hit run it measures tool. hit run again and it moves to work and starts. when finished it goes back to ets and prompts for next tool. repeat until done. Super simple for me. a copy of some g code example might explain it better. it is different then my mill.
    If you dont have ets then you are going to do a lot of start, stop I guess. PP does the run from here real well but not clear whats going on with your tool numbers.
    Thank you! I am using the Tormach general post for fusion, but can modify it fairly well most of the time. Can you share a sample code showing end of tool 1 into tool 2 so I can see what i’m missing? It prompt me for the tool but if I hit cycle start it just goes over to start machining and doesn’t try to touch off on the ETS

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1907

    Re: How to touch off tools mid program?

    This is a g code example. It shows the machine state and the first 2 tool changes T4 and T12
    it repeats the first few lines for tool changes for all operations.



    (WoodBox3SC)

    (POSTPROCESSOR: )
    (GENERATED BY SprutCAM)
    (DATE: 8/28/2020)
    (TIME: 11:10:44 AM)

    (T# 4) (Dia 1.) (Fly Cutter) (Roughing waterline surface)
    (T# 12) (Dia 0.25) (0.250 Cylindrical Mill 2 flute Carbide, coated Amana) (Roughing waterline 025 em)
    (T# 12) (Dia 0.25) (0.250 Cylindrical Mill 2 flute Carbide, coated Amana) (Roughing waterline 025 em2)
    (T# 12) (Dia 0.25) (0.250 Cylindrical Mill 2 flute Carbide, coated Amana) (2D contouring 0.25 EM)
    (T# 12) (Dia 0.25) (0.250 Cylindrical Mill 2 flute Carbide, coated Amana) (2D contouring 0.25 EM2)
    (T# 14) (Dia 0.25) (0.250 Chamfer Mill C2 Carbide) (2D contouring chamfer lvl1)
    (T# 14) (Dia 0.25) (0.250 Chamfer Mill C2 Carbide) (2D contouring chamfer lvl2)
    (T# 14) (Dia 0.25) (0.250 Chamfer Mill C2 Carbide) (2D contouring chamfer lvl3)

    N10 G90 G64 G50 G54 G80 G17 G40 G49
    N20 G20 (Inch)
    (Roughing waterline surface)
    N30 G30
    N40 G37.1
    N50 T4 M6
    N60 G37
    N70 G43 H4
    (Fly Cutter)
    N80 S11000 M3
    N90 G0 G94 X2.7157 Y0.8746
    N100 Z0.24
    N110 Z0.02
    N120 G1 Z-0.04 F70.
    N130 X-2.7157
    N140 G0 Z0.24
    N150 X2.7157 Y0.2746
    N160 Z0.02
    N170 G1 Z-0.04
    N180 X-2.7157
    N190 G0 Z0.24
    N200 X2.7157 Y-0.3254
    N210 Z0.02
    N220 G1 Z-0.04
    N230 X-2.7157
    N240 G0 Z0.24
    N250 X2.7157 Y-0.9254
    N260 Z0.02
    N270 G1 Z-0.04
    N280 X-2.7157
    N290 Z-0.07
    N300 X2.7157
    N310 G0 Z0.24
    N320 X-2.7157 Y-0.3254
    N330 Z-0.01
    N340 G1 Z-0.07
    N350 X2.7157
    N360 G0 Z0.24
    N370 X-2.7157 Y0.2746
    N380 Z-0.01
    N390 G1 Z-0.07
    N400 X2.7157
    N410 G0 Z0.24
    N420 X-2.7157 Y0.8746
    N430 Z-0.01
    N440 G1 Z-0.07
    N450 X2.7157
    N460 G0 Z0.24
    N470 M5

    (Roughing waterline 025 em)
    N480 G30
    N490 G37.1
    N500 T12 M6
    N510 G37
    N520 G43 H12
    (0.250 Cylindrical Mill 2 flute Carbide, coated Amana)
    N530 S18000 M3
    N540 G0 X-2.3393 Y0.9947
    .
    .................................................. ..........

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1907

    Re: How to touch off tools mid program?

    I also use what I call a tool jack to set under tool in spindle collet. This keeps the tool in the collet at some height you like while you loosen or tighten them down. I must say one of those expensive razor sharp router bits hit the concrete floor its junk! Also makes for setting the bit at the intended depth in collet per the line etched on some router bits possible Combine the jack and custom spindle collet wrench that stays in place while I change tools. Makes it straight forward to change tools with my limited dexterity. Just need to take it off or it will fly off with spindle start up

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-04-2017, 12:21 AM
  2. Advanced one Touch program ???
    By lili in forum Okuma
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-30-2016, 09:15 AM
  3. Wiring touch probe tools
    By Chiapaprikos in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-17-2012, 09:54 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •