552,801 active members*
2,110 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Posts
    1

    I/O port pinout on Taig/Microproto

    Hello all. I have a Microproto 2000 HD/LE that I am running with Mach3. I want to add an E-stop and possibly limit switches. Does anybody have a wiring diagram or pinout for the I/O port on the rear panel? I need to be able to connect to one of the input pins on the DB25 that Mach3 uses. Thanks very much.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    1

    Re: I/O port pinout on Taig/Microproto

    Did you find the pinouts? I am going down the same path. TIA

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Posts
    4

    Re: I/O port pinout on Taig/Microproto

    Any updates on this? I'm in a similar position; haven't had any luck in finding these pinouts!

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Posts
    4

    Re: I/O port pinout on Taig/Microproto

    Just posting this here for others, but I found someone who had a physical copy of the manual for the MicroProto. I was able to get them to send me images of the I/O port documentation:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 93231631_10222797251740247_3250387818903502848_n.jpg  

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Posts
    4

    Re: I/O port pinout on Taig/Microproto

    Forgot to add these ones as well, which shows which connection is which on the parallel port. The first image has all the pin mappings excluding the 4th axis and emergency stop. The second image shows that the emergency stop is on pin 10 of the parallel port.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 94261895_10222797260100456_822311861511782400_n.jpg   microproto-pinout.gif   94261895_10222797260100456_822311861511782400_n.jpg  

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Posts
    4

    Re: I/O port pinout on Taig/Microproto

    Apologies for all the replies, I keep forgetting to add important bits of info. This should be the last of it though.

    The 3 limit and 1 EMO/Estop inputs (pins 1-4 on the DIN, and 5 if you want the 4th axis limit) should all be directly shorted to GND (pin 8). No need for a current limiting resistor or anything. In my case using LinuxCNC, I had to set these as the "Maximum <X,Y,Z> + Homing", and then invert the input.

    I'm unfamiliar with Mach3/4 and if you can change if it reads high or low as reaching the limit, but factor this into your design when deciding between NO or NC switches. From my reading, I would also recommend isolating the switches (e.g. using relays or optocouplers), and using a higher voltage (e.g. 24V)/shielded wires to deal with noise and prevent false limit signals.

Similar Threads

  1. Any interest in a Microproto (Taig) 2000 Machine?
    By abeship in forum Taig Mills / Lathes
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-16-2016, 07:50 PM
  2. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-19-2015, 10:45 PM
  3. taig microproto 2019-ER mach 3 configuration
    By pepperwood in forum Taig Mills / Lathes
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-12-2012, 03:44 AM
  4. Taig/MicroProto problem
    By Sweeney in forum Taig Mills / Lathes
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-19-2010, 10:46 PM
  5. MicroProto Taig Mill
    By vayacon in forum Taig Mills / Lathes
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-14-2004, 09:58 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •