531,647 active members*
2,796 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > General Off Topic Discussions > In search of software for lab volt festo diactic cnc mill or lathe
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    204

    In search of software for lab volt festo diactic cnc mill or lathe

    I have older labvolt 5400 5500 and 5600

    i need software

    i do not want to retrofit unless i cant find software

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    204

    Re: In search of software for lab volt festo diactic cnc mill or lathe

    update i found labvolt level 4 and level 5 software...took me about 1 yr but i did it on my own...seems noone has the software in this forum unfortunately

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    2
    Hi. I found the firmware for download but not the software. I am interested in purchasing a 5500 lathe that has no computer with it and I saw your post about having firmware loading problems that you figured out. So I would need both software and updated firmware to make it operational? I know you have put a lot of time into this and was wondering if you could assist or lead me in the right direction? I don't know anything about replacing controllers and drivers but could probably figure it out in a few years. I would like to purchase it if I can make it work as it was manufactured. Thank you for your time.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    204
    I have the labvolt software for mill not sure i have software for lathe... you need to find out what fitmware version the machine has first. All you need is the labvolt software...an old pc with serial port...and a null modem style serial cable.

    9UOTE=Pmetal25;2356428]Hi. I found the firmware for download but not the software. I am interested in purchasing a 5500 lathe that has no computer with it and I saw your post about having firmware loading problems that you figured out. So I would need both software and updated firmware to make it operational? I know you have put a lot of time into this and was wondering if you could assist or lead me in the right direction? I don't know anything about replacing controllers and drivers but could probably figure it out in a few years. I would like to purchase it if I can make it work as it was manufactured. Thank you for your time.[/QUOTE]

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    204
    You do not have to have updated firmware to make operational...the updated firmware corresponds
    To which labvolt software version you can use. There is labvolt 3 labvolt 4 and labolt 5 software that i know of
    OTE=Shelby5041;2356440]I have the labvolt software for mill not sure i have software for lathe... you need to find out what fitmware version the machine has first. All you need is the labvolt software...an old pc with serial port...and a null modem style serial cable.

    9UOTE=Pmetal25;2356428]Hi. I found the firmware for download but not the software. I am interested in purchasing a 5500 lathe that has no computer with it and I saw your post about having firmware loading problems that you figured out. So I would need both software and updated firmware to make it operational? I know you have put a lot of time into this and was wondering if you could assist or lead me in the right direction? I don't know anything about replacing controllers and drivers but could probably figure it out in a few years. I would like to purchase it if I can make it work as it was manufactured. Thank you for your time.[/QUOTE][/QUOTE]

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    2
    Thank you for the quick response. I saw a photo of the software CD and it stated Lathe/Mill but the part #5660 states it I'd for the Mill only. #5560 for the Lathe. I didn't know if they had combined the two on the disc. So..I think I will take a chance with the purchase and go from there. I have lots of old computers to work from. Thank you again and have a great day.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    204

    Re: In search of software for lab volt festo diactic cnc mill or lathe

    hi where and for how much are you getting the software?
    depending on how old your machine is you may not be able to use the most recent software send me a private message

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    7

    Re: In search of software for lab volt festo diactic cnc mill or lathe

    Quote Originally Posted by Pmetal25 View Post
    Hi. I found the firmware for download but not the software. I am interested in purchasing a 5500 lathe that has no computer with it and I saw your post about having firmware loading problems that you figured out. So I would need both software and updated firmware to make it operational? I know you have put a lot of time into this and was wondering if you could assist or lead me in the right direction? I don't know anything about replacing controllers and drivers but could probably figure it out in a few years. I would like to purchase it if I can make it work as it was manufactured. Thank you for your time.
    I am also interested if it's possible to make such purchase.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    1

    Re: In search of software for lab volt festo diactic cnc mill or lathe

    I'm new to cnc. Are you talking about the post processor software? Or the cam software? Can't you use any cam software so long as you have a post processor for your machine? I think that I am missing something.

Similar Threads

  1. I need Festo Didactic Lab Volt CNC Lathe or Mill software
    By Shelby5041 in forum Want To Buy...Need help!
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-04-2019, 11:57 PM
  2. Help with a Lab-Volt 5600 D&M 6c CNC Milling Machine and software.
    By darkexphos1 in forum Want To Buy...Need help!
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-25-2015, 02:39 AM
  3. Mill to lathe CNC software.
    By Gundawg in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-04-2011, 06:21 PM
  4. Search for CAM software to mill PCB
    By Burnit0017 in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-10-2010, 04:50 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •