524,330 active members*
3,128 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Dynomotion/Kflop/Kanalog > is the Dynomotion controll as confusing as it seems?
Page 1 of 4 123
Results 1 to 20 of 66
  1. #1

    is the Dynomotion controll as confusing as it seems?

    I've been looking at the dynomotion stuff for a couple weeks and am having a hard time deciding to take the plunge. It seems to me that Kflop is a little over my head, is it in reality as difficult as it seems.

    I am looking to replace the current (removed scrap anilam system) on my Bridgeport V2E3 mill with something more reliable, and program G code with fusion 360 for home use.

    What is used for power to the dynomotion system? I have 240 run through a phase converter to power the mill and will run 110 from a wall outlet for the controller. Does Kflop just connect to the wall outlet or is there something it runs through?

    I understand I need Kflop, but what else, do I need Kanalog, or Kstep. Just going to attempt to run 30 year old original dc servos with attached encoder. I understand I may have to get new servos but for now id like to use my existing servos if possible.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3382

    re: is the Dynomotion controll as confusing as it seems?

    Hi Gunmachinist,

    KFLOP itself only needs a +5V DC regulated supply (2A is normally sufficient).

    You would need specifications for your motors and encoders.

    Are there existing motor drives and power supply? It is usually simplest to keep those if possible.
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by TomKerekes View Post
    Hi Gunmachinist,

    KFLOP itself only needs a +5V DC regulated supply (2A is normally sufficient).

    You would need specifications for your motors and encoders.

    Are there existing motor drives and power supply? It is usually simplest to keep those if possible.
    Yes, thanks I still gave the power supply from the Anilam. So, what about programing it, is it as difficult as it looks?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3382

    re: is the Dynomotion controll as confusing as it seems?

    There shouldn't be much of any programming involved unless you require something special like a special tool change sequence, special probing, custom external panel, etc. A C program is required to configure your settings, enable, and configure the system. In most cases examples exist that can be used with some parameter values changed. You might read this.
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  5. #5

    re: is the Dynomotion controll as confusing as it seems?

    Well, I guess were gonna see if I can get it to run my mill. Should have the parts in hand on monday. Thanks for the input.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    48

    Re: is the Dynomotion controll as confusing as it seems?

    Quote Originally Posted by Gunmachinist View Post
    Well, I guess were gonna see if I can get it to run my mill. Should have the parts in hand on monday. Thanks for the input.
    My biggest issue has been servo tuning but I have weird servos and had never tuned servos before so it was a bit to learn. So far I muddled my way through some custom code for rigid tapping and my machines homing sequence. I am really enjoying the kflop/kmotion part of things. Getting everything moving was pretty simple.

  7. #7

    Re: is the Dynomotion controll as confusing as it seems?

    Quote Originally Posted by cwatson1982 View Post
    My biggest issue has been servo tuning but I have weird servos and had never tuned servos before so it was a bit to learn. So far I muddled my way through some custom code for rigid tapping and my machines homing sequence. I am really enjoying the kflop/kmotion part of things. Getting everything moving was pretty simple.
    That's awesome to know, I just got mine in and have yet to put power to it. I'm still attempting to figure out how I need to wire it up. I'm afraid that the first time I put power to it I'm going to hear a zzzzz pop, and there goes $500.

  8. #8

    Re: is the Dynomotion controll as confusing as it seems?

    Are there any wiring diagrams for the Kanalog similar to this?

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    48

    Re: is the Dynomotion controll as confusing as it seems?

    Quote Originally Posted by Gunmachinist View Post
    Are there any wiring diagrams for the Kanalog similar to this?
    There are some basic ones here: https://www.dynomotion.com/wiki/inde...iring_Diagrams

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by cwatson1982 View Post
    That's what im looking for, thanks

  11. #11

    Re: is the Dynomotion controll as confusing as it seems?

    I can"t get the usb to recognize my board when connected to the PC....even purchased a new usb cord.

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3382

    Re: is the Dynomotion controll as confusing as it seems?

    Hi Gunmachinist,

    Do the two KFLOP LEDs flash then stay on?

    Which boards do you have? USB power is not sufficient for KFLOP + Kanalog you must use external 5V.

    Does anything appear in Windows Device Manager when KFLOP is connected and powered up?
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  13. #13

    Re: is the Dynomotion controll as confusing as it seems?

    Do the two KFLOP LEDs flash then stay on? Yes

    Which boards do you have? USB power is not sufficient for KFLOP + Kanalog you must use external 5V. I have tried it with an external computer power supply.

    Does anything appear in Windows Device Manager when KFLOP is connected and powered up? Nothing

    I have tried uninstalling the software and reinstalling also.

  14. #14

    Re: is the Dynomotion controll as confusing as it seems?

    I just disconnected KFLOP from Kanalog and nowthe led lights on Kflop will not come on. Does anyone have any recommendations?

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3382

    Re: is the Dynomotion controll as confusing as it seems?

    Hi Gunmachinist,

    I just disconnected KFLOP from Kanalog and nowthe led lights on Kflop will not come on. Does anyone have any recommendations?
    How is KFLOP getting +5V?
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  16. #16

    Re: is the Dynomotion controll as confusing as it seems?

    Quote Originally Posted by TomKerekes View Post
    Hi Gunmachinist,

    How is KFLOP getting +5V?
    USB with Kanalog disconnected.

    I cant get the computer power supply to work with the Molex connection, does the power supply have to be a 5v or can i run both boards with a 15v power supply?
    JR1 shows a 12v input prong?

  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3382

    Re: is the Dynomotion controll as confusing as it seems?

    USB with Kanalog disconnected.
    Is Jumper J3 - use USB Power jumper installed?


    I cant get the computer power supply to work with the Molex connection, does the power supply have to be a 5v or can i run both boards with a 15v power supply?
    Both KFLOP and Kanalog only use a 5V supply. Never apply 15V anywhere!


    JR1 shows a 12v input prong?
    The 12V input pin on KFLOP JR1 is not used for either KFLOP or Kanalog. The pin is routed to various connectors as it might be convenient for certain User uses. But it is not used or needed by KFLOP or Kanalog.
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  18. #18
    TomKerekes;2383278]Is Jumper J3 - use USB Power jumper installed? Yes


    Both KFLOP and Kanalog only use a 5V supply. Never apply 15V anywhere! Ok, so I need to order a power 5v supply

    Is the 5v to kaflop enouph to controll my 10v servos?

  19. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3382

    Re: is the Dynomotion controll as confusing as it seems?

    Hi Gunmachinist,

    ]Is Jumper J3 - use USB Power jumper installed? Yes
    If everything is disconnected from KFLOP, J3 installed, and USB is connected, then KFLOP's LEDs should flash. If not then KFLOP has likely been damaged (assuming the PC USB port and USB cable are good).

    If the LEDs do not flash you might check the +5V on KFLOP with a Voltmeter. J9 is one convenient place to check. It should read between 4.75 and 5.25V.
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  20. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by TomKerekes View Post
    Hi Gunmachinist,

    If everything is disconnected from KFLOP, J3 installed, and USB is connected, then KFLOP's LEDs should flash. If not then KFLOP has likely been damaged (assuming the PC USB port and USB cable are good).

    If the LEDs do not flash you might check the +5V on KFLOP with a Voltmeter. J9 is one convenient place to check. It should read between 4.75 and 5.25V.
    J9? Kflop connector pinouts don't show a J9.

Page 1 of 4 123

Similar Threads

  1. Use co2 laser machine controll card to controll 30W fiber source
    By oneeye in forum Laser Control Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-12-2020, 05:23 PM
  2. Confusing breakage
    By tbaker2500 in forum Tormach Personal CNC Mill
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-07-2013, 04:01 AM
  3. Confusing diagram
    By sirevert in forum Stepper Motors / Drives
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-25-2009, 08:57 AM
  4. DATA BIT 8 AND 7 CONFUSING
    By CHANDRU in forum Mazak, Mitsubishi, Mazatrol
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-24-2009, 11:08 AM
  5. BobCad-Cam V21.5 is confusing
    By jessey in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-24-2009, 10:43 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •