531,623 active members*
3,763 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Posts
    13

    KFlop/Kanalog Spindle Control Troubleshooting

    Hi There,

    am having some issues with controlling my spindle. I have a 3 axis (servo) knee mill with a VFD on the spindle. After getting the mill running properly and making parts I decided to figure out how to get rigid tapping working. My spindle works fine when it is set up via bit control for CW, CCW, and OFF with an DAC conversion (on the S command) for speed control. So I read multiple threads on this forum (and dynomotion's forum) and came to the conclusion that I would follow Tom's advice to set it up like a servo since I now have an encoder on it. Now I cant get my spindle to run at all. It works fine using the step response tool and the I can jog CW and CCW using + and - jog values on the console utility. I am guessing I have something incorrectly set up in my C programs for jog and spindle control. I don't seem to be passing a speed value from my "S" command in the g-code to the Speed variable in my C program. I will post my programs below, and any help would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks!!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Spindle Setup Snapshot.jpg  
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3545

    Re: KFlop/Kanalog Spindle Control Troubleshooting

    Hi Evan,

    I think the S VAR should be set to 113. You might set the M3,M4, M5 VARs to -1 as no data is passed for those.

    HTH
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Posts
    13

    Re: KFlop/Kanalog Spindle Control Troubleshooting

    Hey Tom, That did the trick, thank you. Would you be willing to explain the purpose of the VAR entry on the tool setup screen? And why it is needed in this application? I think I understand WHAT is happening, but not WHY we need to define it on the tool setup screen. Correct me if I'm wrong, when the g-code runs an "S" command, the g-code compiler is passing its value to VAR 113 (as pictured below) then runs the program in whatever manor you have selected (i.e. Exec, Exec/Wait, Exec/Wait/Sync, Ect...) What I don't fully understand is why we cant do that in the .c program. Similar to the M3 and M4 commands where we are not passing any data. I just want to fully understand what is happening here because I am doing Kflop retrofits in another mill, a lathe, and an EDM machine in the very near future and i will be using more .c programming on those. Thanks for your time Tom.

    -Evan

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3545

    Re: KFlop/Kanalog Spindle Control Troubleshooting

    Hi Evan,

    The diagram of the KMotion Architecture below may help. The GCode and the GCode Interpreter run on the PC. C Programs run in KFLOP. So for example C Programs don't have direct access to the GCode S word. So the GCode interpreter "puts" the S value into a KFLOP persist variable before executing the C Program. The GCode Interpreter and the C Program must be in sync so any data is placed into the variables that the C Program expects to find the data. M3,M4,M5 don't need any data. Each program inherently knows what it is supposed to do.



    HTH
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

Similar Threads

  1. Spindle Interference on Kanalog DAC ground causing Kflop Step issues?
    By slimneill in forum Dynomotion/Kflop/Kanalog
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-06-2016, 01:41 AM
  2. KFLOP/Kanalog set up
    By cjsamples in forum Dynomotion/Kflop/Kanalog
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 10-30-2015, 12:58 AM
  3. Kflop with Kanalog board Question: Can I also control Steppers?
    By jeffserv in forum Dynomotion/Kflop/Kanalog
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-05-2015, 04:30 PM
  4. KFlop Kanalog and DMM
    By BruceGuest in forum Dynomotion/Kflop/Kanalog
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-26-2014, 10:01 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •