525,364 active members*
2,456 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    16

    LAN connection problem !!

    HIya
    My guess is one of you bright sparks will know whats going on here ..

    I have a fabric cutting cnc and it was running fine on my old laptop
    The operation was open the CAD drawing in the provided cut software and send directly to the cnc
    control panel over ethernet ..

    I broke the old laptop so set up a new one with the Cut software, open the CAD file and all looks ok
    The Cut software can receive the parameters from the cnc machine so I know it is connected..

    When I try to send the graphic to the machine it stalls, the machine never receives the file ?
    Also in the Cut software there are soft buttons to control the XYZ from the laptop but they do not work.

    It looks to me like the data is only flowing in one direction from the machine to the laptop
    but not from the laptop to the machine ???

    I have changed the LAN cable for a new one..

    please help this is driving me nuts ..

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    325

    Re: LAN connection problem !!

    This may be a firewall issue on the laptop. You did not say what OS you are using, or what software.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    16

    Re: LAN connection problem !!

    hi
    I appreciate the reply, currently running windows 10
    the software is specific to the machine maker I believe, but very simple , the cnc has a conveyor belt so i'm not sure how well a generic software would work.

    I did look at firewall and turned it off but still only have one way data. ?

    thanks

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    16

    Re: LAN connection problem !!

    forgot to mention i am running a static IP for the machine

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    509

    Re: LAN connection problem !!

    A couple of ideas.
    Does your controller require the PC to have a specific LAN port number set open?
    Your PC may need a specific software plugin to communicate with it.
    You may need to set a specific static ip address.
    If cutting machine is oldish it may need a crossover type cable.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    16

    Re: LAN connection problem !!

    thanks for the reply.

    yes it is a specific IP for the machine that is set in the cutting software, I have gone through the set up
    and made sure that is set correctly. It is odd that I can get the machine parameters from the machine but
    not able to send data to the machine. It is a new machine..

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    560

    Re: LAN connection problem !!

    ...lets the fingers do the walking https://www.google.com/search?client...w10+IP+pinging
    Good luck on your mission,
    DJ

    or here
    https://www.howtogeek.com/howto/wind...ista-firewall/

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    531

    Re: LAN connection problem !!

    More info is needed. What type board, (controller and breakout) and what software. Some of the older stuff runs fine on older versions of windows (7 32 bit and earlier) but won't work on 8 or newer. Lots of possible issues with software and settings to look at before you start with troubleshooting hardware or cables.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    509

    Re: LAN connection problem !!

    Quote Originally Posted by coherent View Post
    More info is needed. What type board, (controller and breakout) and what software. Some of the older stuff runs fine on older versions of windows (7 32 bit and earlier) but won't work on 8 or newer. Lots of possible issues with software and settings to look at before you start with troubleshooting hardware or cables.

    Good point. I've got Mach3 on a benchtop machine and WindowsXP is the only OS it's really happy with.

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    16

    Re: LAN connection problem !!

    SOLVED :
    Thanks to everyone who replied.

    Although the data comms worked just fine on win 10 I broke the laptop so tried another win 10 laptop but no joy.
    I messed with firewalls and setting but still nothing..

    Finally I found an old vista Ideapad I had from years ago. connected it up , set the static ip and it's cutting .. YAY

    I will need to upgrade as the screen is a little small at 10" but we are working again,

    It had to be something to do with the firewall or the newer ip protocols ..

    here is the machine 1.6m wide and 2.5m long but has a conveyor so in reality it is infinitely long ..

    .
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_20200121_113802.jpg  

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    509

    Re: LAN connection problem !!

    Quote Originally Posted by fragged View Post
    SOLVED :
    Thanks to everyone who replied.

    Although the data comms worked just fine on win 10 I broke the laptop so tried another win 10 laptop but no joy.
    I messed with firewalls and setting but still nothing..

    Finally I found an old vista Ideapad I had from years ago. connected it up , set the static ip and it's cutting .. YAY

    I will need to upgrade as the screen is a little small at 10" but we are working again,

    It had to be something to do with the firewall or the newer ip protocols ..

    here is the machine 1.6m wide and 2.5m long but has a conveyor so in reality it is infinitely long ..

    .
    Glad to hear about success. I've always hated windows 10 and wouldn't use it for cnc type stuff.
    If it was me personally I would get a copy of windows7 32bit from ebay or something and install it on the new computer.
    Windows 10 is 64bit so that possibly might not help matters either.

  12. #12

    Re: LAN connection problem !!

    It's great that you did it, but I wouldn't stop and try to solve the laptop issue. As long as all the tips from the members of the forum are fresh in your head, you should act so that you don't remember again!

Similar Threads

  1. connection problem
    By emilystatham in forum Multicam Machines
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-12-2012, 03:18 PM
  2. X4 connection problem
    By Edwinrist in forum Syil Products
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-12-2012, 09:15 AM
  3. connection problem
    By snob in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-07-2011, 07:30 PM
  4. Connection problem
    By wsx in forum DNC Problems and Solutions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-31-2011, 09:18 PM
  5. Pc to num connection problem
    By iscal in forum DNC Problems and Solutions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-18-2010, 01:52 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •