504,510 active members
3,272 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    6

    Losing Steps Somehow

    Hi guys, This is my first post because im getting desperate to find a fix for my machine. So here's where im at.
    I bought an older Techno Isel CNC that i believe used to use MSDOS
    I rewired it to run Mach3
    Mean Well 350-36 power supply (bought from Mouser)
    x3 TB6600 ST 4045 A1 drivers (bought from Sainsmart)
    5 axis 5v BOB with 25pin parallel (previous owner bought from Zen Tools)
    2mm pitch lead screws
    older japanese steppers with kinda low torque 0.97nm or so
    i can provide pics, specs, video if needed

    overall the machine moves at around 80ipm with my settings but when i do text or vcarving i lose steps in all axis. ive tried slowing it down alot, making my dual core pc set to Standard PC. Im getting Excellent setting when i run mach3 pulse test. i got my dir and step at 5us. mostly copied alot of youtube guys settings
    please help

  2. #2
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    34509

    Re: Losing Steps Somehow

    What are your acceleration settings? Try reducing them by 50%.
    I would think 80ipm is about the max you could expect out of that setup. Try setting the Velocity to 50-60, along with reduced accel.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by ger21 View Post
    What are your acceleration settings? Try reducing them by 50%.
    I would think 80ipm is about the max you could expect out of that setup. Try setting the Velocity to 50-60, along with reduced accel.
    Wow that was a quick response. I'm not next to the machine right now but will be soon. Yes, 80ipm are about the safe max. I cut much slower around 20-30ipm. The area of cut is only 9x17 inches. I was really dumbing it down last night. At the moment velocity is 20 and accel is 2.5

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by kjking View Post
    Wow that was a quick response. I'm not next to the machine right now but will be soon. Yes, 80ipm are about the safe max. I cut much slower around 20-30ipm. The area of cut is only 9x17 inches. I was really dumbing it down last night. At the moment velocity is 20 and accel is 2.5
    Also I am ×2 microstepping if that helps. 5080 steps per. 25kfor kernel

Similar Threads

  1. Losing Steps
    By antennas4u in forum Australia, New Zealand Club House
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-28-2015, 05:53 AM
  2. NEED HELP!!! LOSING STEPS
    By lukas0001 in forum Stepper Motors / Drives
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 03-09-2015, 11:12 PM
  3. Losing Steps?
    By finishlinewrx in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-16-2009, 12:21 AM
  4. Im LOSING steps?!
    By Starleper1 in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-03-2009, 02:59 AM
  5. Help with CNC losing steps
    By Scramjet in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-30-2008, 01:24 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •