522,050 active members*
2,538 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 25 of 47
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    26

    Mach3 - USB motion card communication problem

    Hello,

    I just bought a Chinese 4 axis CNC mill from SaleCNC. I seem to have a problem with the communication between Mach3 and the USB motion card controller provided by Sale CNC.

    I followed the instructions (www.leafboy77.com) carefully and installed Mach3 (download from ArtSoft) and the USB move.dll plugin (from leafboy77). When opening Mach3 the first time I'm supposed to get a message: 'new motion control hardware sensed' and then I should be able to select the 'Xilifeng Mach3 USB motion card'. Yet this pop up never appears and Mach3 status message reads: External movement not connected. The blue Icon of the USB motion card appears in the bottom right of my screen but with the same message: External movement not connected.

    I have reinstalled everything several times on a Windows XP 32 bit and now also on a Windows 7, 64 bit. Art soft clearly states Mach 3 will only work on 32 bit yet my contact at Sale CNC (giving very cryptic answers to my questions) says 64 bit should be fine.

    When I unplug the USB cable Mach detects this and says: 'Error found Art Code 8877, Attempt recovery , error triggered,
    Recovery doesn't work and new message appears 'Mach 3 Application has stopped working', then Mach closes

    Any advice for a newbie getting rather frustrated?

  2. #2
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    34948

    Re: Mach3 - USB motion card communication problem

    Go to Function Cfg's, and select "Reset Device Sel".
    Then close and restart Mach3 and it should let you select the device.

    With a USB motion controller, a 64 bit OS is fine.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    26

    Re: Mach3 - USB motion card communication problem

    Thanks for your reply!
    I did this (earlier and now again) yet the same problem remains.
    I wonder If my port settings are correct under config? First I had Port 1 (0x378), which s I believe the standard set up? I also selected 'Event driven serial control' since the serial monitor didn't work if the latter was not selected.

    Is there any other way to find out if the problem is in my Mach3 settings, the leafboy plugin or in the physical external USB card (also from leafboy77)?

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    26

    Re: Mach3 - USB motion card communication problem

    My former reply was maybe not so precise: when i 'reset device selection' i get the message:
    'you will be asked on next start up what device to use if plugins are available.'
    Yet after restarting there is no pop up asking for this, which might implies Mach3 doesn't find or recognize the plugin (Leafboy77 - Home) that i downloaded and moved into the Mach3 plugin folder.

  5. #5
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    34948

    Re: Mach3 - USB motion card communication problem

    Did you put the file "USBMove.dll" in the Mach3\plugins\ folder?
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    26

    Re: Mach3 - USB motion card communication problem

    Yes I did and as far as I know there is only one plugin folder?
    Here's an image of the plugin folder
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_8720.jpg 
Views:	59 
Size:	64.8 KB 
ID:	278744

  7. #7
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4555

    Question Re: Mach3 - USB motion card communication problem

    Lama2,

    Are there any yellow flags displayed in your Device manager?

    Jeff...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails DM.jpg  
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    26

    Re: Mach3 - USB motion card communication problem

    Hi Jeff, Gerry,
    Thanx again for your help
    But no flagged devices. (see images)

    I double checked if the USB cable was in the right USBport, and it is in port 1 hub 4 with the message: this device is working properly
    When I unplug it the message 'Error found Error code 8877' appears (see image)

    Question: in Mach3 you can only select port 1 or port2 or Max NC code. Which port do I select for my external USB motion control board (from leafboy77)


    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_8772.jpg   IMG_8771.jpg   IMG_8770.jpg  

  9. #9
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4555

    Lightbulb Re: Mach3 - USB motion card communication problem

    Lama2,


    Lets try this:

    1: Rename the Mach3/Plugins folder to Pluginsold

    2: Make a new Plugins folder named Plugins

    3: Copy only the USBMove.dll to the newly created Plugins folder

    4: Run Mach3

    5: Check Config Plugins for Driver Setup (see attached images for example)

    Jeff...
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    26

    Re: Mach3 - USB motion card communication problem

    Hi Jeff, Thanx again.

    I followed your instructions on making a new folder and the 'Xulifeng motion' does appear under configurations. (see image)
    Yet the message 'External movement not connected' remains, also after restarting Mach3

    I also added an image of the Controller Card itself where you can see I connected a black cable from my emergency stop ending with the red wire to input 10 and blue wire to 5V output. Any stupid mistakes here?


    Attachment 279030
    Attachment 279032

  11. #11
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4555

    Re: Mach3 - USB motion card communication problem

    Lama2,

    What version of the USBMove.dll are you using?

    Jeff...
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    26

    Re: Mach3 - USB motion card communication problem

    Hi Jeff,

    I downloaded the plugin (last week) from the Leadboy77 site (as instructed by SaleCNC, the supplier of the machine and controller)
    see: Leafboy77 - Home

    Scroll down +/- 1 page till you see the link and name of the plugin:

    ver2.0.1.9(UsbMove.ZIP) 2013-3-30 NEW[Zip Archive - 205 KB

    However in the download itself I cannot find a clear version number.

  13. #13
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4555

    Re: Mach3 - USB motion card communication problem

    Lama2,

    USBMove.dll version 2.0.1.9 ok.

    What version of Mach3?

    Jeff...
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    26

    Re: Mach3 - USB motion card communication problem

    Hi Jeff,

    Sorry, seems like your reply only appeared just now, must have overlooked it.
    Anyway: it is Mach 3 Version R3.043.066 Just like in your image.
    I see you are able to recreate the same message : External movement not connected?!
    Which makes me hope you know how to solve this?

    Best
    Lawrence

  15. #15
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4555

    Re: Mach3 - USB motion card communication problem

    Lawrence,

    I believe either the USB cable is defective or the control needs to be RMA'd.

    Jeff...
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

  16. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    26

    Re: Mach3 - USB motion card communication problem

    Hi Jeff,

    Just tried another cable but no luck.
    With RMAd I guess you mean return to sender for replacement? And wait a months or 2!
    No other suggestions?

    Best
    Lawrence

  17. #17
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4555

    Re: Mach3 - USB motion card communication problem

    Lawrence,

    It may be possible that even though you received the controller recently that it is a older model that is not compatible with the later revision driver.

    TryUSBMove.dll version 2.0.1.6 you may get lucky.

    See attached zip file.

    Jeff...

    P.S. make sure you remove the later driver from the plugin folder.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

  18. #18
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    26

    Re: Mach3 - USB motion card communication problem

    Jeff,
    Unfortunately that didn't help neither
    I find the term 'External motion' rather strange though. Is it really about the motion controller?
    And how where you able to provoke the message on your screen?

    Lawrence

  19. #19
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4555

    Re: Mach3 - USB motion card communication problem

    Lawrence,

    The message originates or is generated by the USBMove.dll. Since the developer is Chinese the message is displayed in Chinglish.

    When the controller is not connected the message "External Movement Not Connected..." is displayed.

    Jeff...
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

  20. #20
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    26

    Re: Mach3 - USB motion card communication problem

    Hi Jeff,
    Am I right that you have the same USB controller card?
    Could you send me a screenshot of your port settings?
    Can the problem be caused by in or outputs wrongly connected to the USB card.

    Sale CNC still claims it must be the software but doesn't offer any concrete advice. They offer sending another card with paralel printer port (and on the photo apparently also USB? But no further details sofar. Anyway I only have USB ports on my pc. Hard to find PCs with parallel ports here in Norway.

    Here's their last mail:
    We really test with this card. And the card is the best card in the market now. Anyway, do you want 25 pin parallel port, printer port? Can we send this card to you to try? 25pin parallel port Mach3 card:
    We are still thinking it’s your program.
    Is possible you use this 25pin parallel port and test it? It’s very basic so it should control it.
    If so I can request to send this card to you.
    Attachment 279160

    I agree with your patience and perseverance quote, I just need to train a bit more..
    Thanx
    Lawrence

  21. #21
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4555

    Re: Mach3 - USB motion card communication problem

    Lawrence,

    Unplug all the USB devices attached to the computer, then only attach the control and see if the device is displayed in the task manager and device manager.

    Jeff...
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

  22. #22
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4555

    Re: Mach3 - USB motion card communication problem

    Lawrence,

    The card they are offering to send is a standard breakout board that interfaces with a parallel port. If you installed a PCI Parallel port interface card it will work (as long as the computer has 32 bit Windows), there are tens of thousands of Mach3 users with that configuration.

    See attached link for LPT interface adapter.

    siig pci parallel port card | eBay

    Jeff...
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

  23. #23
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    26

    Re: Mach3 - USB motion card communication problem

    Hi Jeff,
    In Device manager it s clearly there
    In the task manager I'm not sure what I should be looking for.
    Here are some screenshots.

    I was wondering if you could be bothered to log in to my computer via Windows remote assistance or If we could set up a Skype meeting. Maybe we can agree on a fee for that or I can offer you a free stay in a miniflat in a beautiful part of Norway :-)


    Attachment 279190
    Attachment 279192
    Attachment 279194
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_8790.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	53.5 KB 
ID:	279196

  24. #24
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4555

    Re: Mach3 - USB motion card communication problem

    How about using teamviewer instead?


    1: Go to TeamViewer - Free Remote Control, Remote Access & Online Meetings

    2: When installing choose "Personal/Non-commercial Use"

    3: Start Teamviewer

    4: send me a personal message using the CNCZone private messenger with "Your ID" and "Password"

    $: I will remotely connect and see if we can find the issue

    Jeff...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails P.M..jpg   TM.jpg   TM.jpg  
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

  25. #25
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    2

    Re: Mach3 - USB motion card communication problem

    I'm interested in this solution as well. I have the exact same issue with the same card and driver file. I've also tried all of the solutions recommended in the thread (and others) and had no success.

    I am however not convinced that this issue is hardware / USB related. I have other implementations of Mach3 with SmoothStepper boards (both USB and Ethernet) and even if the hardware is not connected at all, these boards still appear as an option in the "Motion Control Detected" popup when you launch - it's only if you select one of the disconnected cards that you get a warning that it's not connected.

    With this chinese card, it's not even making it to that pop up, although it does appear in the list of plugins on the Config Menu. It's only if you force Mach3 to recognise it in this menu that you then get the Movement Warning at the next startup. It's as if Mach3 does not recognise this as a Motion Control plugin? On my other implementations, with SmoothStepper plugins installed, if I don't select them they still appear in the Config Menu, but are not ticked.

    There must be something wrong with how this plugin is being initialised by Mach3 and as I say, I'm not convinced this is down to the hardware. Has anyone had it working with Mach3?

Page 1 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. whb04 and usb motion card mach3 products of xhc
    By chao152 in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-30-2015, 08:34 AM
  2. Mach3 motion card
    By Roctech-Kevin in forum Roctech CNC Routers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-30-2015, 07:52 AM
  3. Mach3 Usb Motion Control Card
    By liron in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-29-2014, 10:40 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •