584,846 active members*
4,601 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Mach Software (ArtSoft software) > Machine home altered after play with toolpath viewer while cutting
Page 1 of 2 12

Question Machine home altered after play with toolpath viewer while cutting

Hello, i'm new to cnc and software, still playing around.

It was doing a 3d finish operation, near the end of the gcode i wanted to see how many passes/width still left, so i lead to mach3 toolpath preview window and left click and drag, left click, right click, double click, middle click, so basically i tried everything there with the mouse. Then when i got the desired preview i notice the machine not on right Y, i stop machine right away and check stuff. I send a Go To Zero to check home and home was altered in Y, it was some cm lower than expected.
    What caused such problem?

Mach3 with LTP. First time this happen just because i mess arround with preview window.

Here the disaster:
    Attachment 436912

Re: Machine home altered after play with toolpath viewer while cutting

It is generally not a good idea to mess with an LPT-based CNC computer while the program is running. Windows is not exactly a realtime operating system, so playing with the preview may have upset the timing and made the Y axis lose steps.

Hi,
    fiddling with the toolpath viewer while the machine is running is an absolutely sure way of losing steps. Even toolpath regens can cause the machine to stutter or stall.
    With BIG Gcode files the advice is to turn the toolpath viewer off, the large amount of data in the toolpath demands to much CPU time and therefore Machs
    parallel port gets starved of service and stutters or stalls.

Craig

Thank you all. Good to know the culprit.