521,872 active members*
1,880 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    11

    Measurements Off in Mach3

    I have a USB 6040 Chinese machine. I have cut several things with it and they have turned out ok, but they have all been small. Yesterday, I cut something that was 17.5 inches long. I had a box that was supposed to be centered in the material, but it was off. Then I noticed that although my piece measured 17.5 inches, if I jogged the axis from one end of the material to the other, it measured 20 inches in Mach3. I went back and calibrated my motors again and they were off very slightly. I fixed that, but my measurements are still far off by the same amount. I am telling Mach3 to move the axis one inch. I use my micrometer to measure. I am sure it is not NASA quality measuring, but it is very close. I don't think it could be enough off to cause 2 and 1/2 inches in difference in a 17.5 inch span. Should I go back and tell the machine to move 20 inches and see tell the machine it moved 17.5 and see if it fixes it? Is there some other variable I am unaware of? Any help would be appreciated!

  2. #2
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    34946

    Re: Measurements Off in Mach3

    Should I go back and tell the machine to move 20 inches and see tell the machine it moved 17.5 and see if it fixes it?
    Yes, tell the machine to move 20" and see if it actually moves 20"
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    11

    Re: Measurements Off in Mach3

    That fixed it! Thanks. I wasn't thinking how only a fraction of an inch would add up the bigger the job was. So, I used the 20 inch and it only moved 17.5. I plugged that in to the box and it fixed it. I was using the small measurement because my micrometer only goes so big. I am sure it is not perfect now, but it is close enough for me to keep learning... Thank you again,

    Scott

Similar Threads

  1. A Few Measurements Needed...
    By HimyKabibble in forum Tormach Personal CNC Mill
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-30-2013, 01:15 AM
  2. Need NM-200 Measurements
    By MRM RCModels in forum Novakon
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-06-2012, 06:54 PM
  3. X2 Spindle Measurements
    By michaelthomas in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-21-2011, 04:33 AM
  4. sieg x2 measurements?
    By ihavenofish in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-13-2009, 07:13 PM
  5. Need Help with some Gear Measurements
    By Kain in forum Mechanical Calculations/Engineering Design
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-17-2009, 03:24 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •